We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A very nice hotel indeed.

Situated just one block from the alive and bustling Bourbon Street area and a comfortable walking distance from the waterfront area.

From the outset the Registration procedure was smooth and efficient. The rooms were large, contained King bed, table, chairs etc and overlooked a peaceful courtyard.

Price of $150 was great value. Breakfast is not included but is available on the ground. A wide range was available and at a very reasonable cost.

There was nothing about this hotel not to like with the minor exception that Wifi was not available in the rooms unless incur a cost of $10 pd, but it was available in the lobby for free.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dencal1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,024 - 2,030 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hyatt was a brilliant choice for our stay in New Orleans as part of our honeymoon. It was central to everything and within walking distance of most things. The staff were extremely helpful with all our requests and organising excursions for us.

The food at the lobby cafe was a bit expensive but very nice and handy for a quick snack. The room was very spacious with a separate dressing area. We were told you had to pay for wi-fi but we managed to log on for free! The only downside was the noise - it can get a little loud on Bourbon Street so ask for a room away from that side if you want a quiet night!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location. Hyatt was walking distance from most attractions. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The security guard even tried to track down bubble wrap for us to package some artwork we had bought. The food at the hotel was expensive but tasty. There is a cafe in the lobby that serves a wide selection of beverages, snacks and meals which was handy if you wanted to grab something on the go. Room was spacious and clean. A downside was that you had to pay for internet in your room (approximately $10/day) but if you went to the lobby the internet was free and there was free cold water available while you relaxed in the lobby. There is also a pool available in the courtyard and a small gym for those who want to burn off any calories!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Was there the last week in July for wedding anniversary, both of us had never been to New Orleans. My husband looked at the maps of the area for days in search of a hotel with the best location in the French Quarter & I am proud to say this was a perfect choice. They also threw in comp breakfast and it was not no-frill continental breakfast at all. On the weekends there was a full buffet and on the weekdays you choose from the menu, excellent. Rooms were spacious enough and there were extras such as slippers. One issue, however, rooms near the pool have to deal with extra noise. It's like the pool area was built wrong & sound is amplified. If you have an issue with noise and Saturday afternoon was terribly noisy than do not get a room that is near the pool no matter what floor you are on. The night manager was a sweetheart, he sent a wine & cheese basket to our room for our anniversary.

Room Tip: rooms near pool have to deal with extra, extra, noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel that I would NEVER recommend to anyone. Most of the staff was friendly, with the exception of Kent who was very rude to us. They told us they do not allow ice chests in the room, although we saw many others taking ice chests up to the rooms. When we left for the day, the staff went in our room, and snooped through our belongings. Then they did a security lock-out on us. They said we had too much beer in the room, and that was not allowed. Upon return to the hotel that evening, we were escorted to our room by security, and had to get rid of our "excess" beer. We had to leave it at the bell desk until after we checked out. They stayed with us in our room, and actually counted each beer in front of us. We were told they only allow 12 beers per room, and people should not drink more than that (it was just more than a case of beer, by the way). When we approached the management, they said it was all our fault and they would not disclose this "excessive beer" policy to new guests. When we said we would never stay there again, we were met with dismissive shoulder shrugs. Horrible guest services throughout the entire stay. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hyatt's location on the border between the French Quarter and Canal Street (the main road that divides the French Quarter from the CBD) made all of the sites of New Orleans easily accessible via foot or streetcar. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who mapped out directions and assisted with booking tours. The room was clean and spacious, with contemporary accents and decor. The free, in-room mini fridge was a great amenity. Although on the small side, the outdoor pool was a relaxing way to cool off at the end of the day. One of the hotel's restaurants, Powered Sugar, was a decent cafe to grab breakfast or a snack on the go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at this Hyatt for fourth of July weekend for a music festival I have attended since 2001. Like the Hyatt standard it did not disappoint. This hotel has balcony rooms over Bourbon but I opted for one without and chose not to be on that side of hotel. The rooms are rather spacious, with a nice sitting area. Modern chic decor, I believe this Hyatt is fairly new and they put millions into renovated what used to be another hotel brand. Rooms are very clean, bed was super comfortable! This hotel is right at Canal, Iberville and Bourbon streets. The Hardrock cafe is located adjacent along with another restaurant, I think it's called Redfish Grill?? Even though it's at noisy and busy Bourbon street, it has a quiet and laid back feel. The doors are locked at night so you do need a room key to gain access, which I liked. Hotel has a great staff, from the Manager on down to the staff that cleans the rooms. The hotel has a nice pool area with a bar for snacks and drinks but I think it's open seasonally only. I know it closed at 7 p.m, the bar that is but I did go out late night to sit pool side. There are also rooms that open to the pool if that's your preference. Overall, Hyatt did not disappoint and it's a brand that you can always trust. Just remembered there is a cafe in the lobby area, a bit on the expensive side but it's what I expect while on vacation. Breakfast cost me about $20 one morning. I ordered eggs, bacon, potatoes, and a croissant. I know they do a breakfast buffet but I am not sure if it was free or not. I never made it down there early enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcia0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
3,021 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,519 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $177 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing