We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel a half block from Bourbon St.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wilmington, de
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel a half block from Bourbon St.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights the week between the Superbowl and Mardi Gras for a conference. Bourbon St is right around the corner but the hotel felt peaceful.
The rooms are very large with high ceilings. The bathroom was nice and big but not necessarily luxurious.
Overall, really happy with the stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    640
    160
    56
    29
See reviews for
335
903
73
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heathcote NSW Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We only stayed one night but I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is easily within walking distance of everything you'd want to see in the French Quarter, which was exactly what we wanted having so little time to look around. We walked to Decatur Street, along to and around Jackson Square, down to the river, back along Royal Street and finished in Bourbon Street for dinner.

The hotel has free WIFI in the public areas which came in handy for Facebook updates and checking emails etc.

Our room overlooked an inner courtyard and had a lovely balcony that we could sit on and we found it very pleasant after wearing ourselves out trying to see everything in one afternoon.

We had beignets at Powered Sugar cafe in the hotel and they were divine. We also had the breakfast buffet there and it was great value for money and saved us going out to look elsewhere.

The staff were helpful and I'd certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firequeen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location could not be better, on the corner of Bourbon but with its back to the madness and noise. We had a 3rd floor courtyard room which was restful and quiet. The rooms in this are far larger than you would expect, with a couch and table area and a closet-lined corridor to the bathroom which gave it a suite-like feel. The decor is very restful if a little bland, all muted greys, even in the art. The service was great, room cleaning to an extremely high standard although a couple of times the self-service coffee wasn't replaced. The front desk staff were really friendly, lovely service, and arranged for a bottle of wine to be sent to our room when they heard we were on our honeymoon. Overall, a highly recommended hotel and I would definitely go back.

A few tips : We found the Hyatt's breakfast cafe, Powdered Sugar, quite overpriced, but there is a very wide variety of restaurants just a stone's throw away from the hotel if you want an alternative.

We paid $38 a day for the full valet parking option in the Hyatt with unlimited access, but should have taken the cheaper option because everywhere is within walking distance and the NOLA bus sightseeing tours are just around the corner so we didn't take the car out once before we left.

Also we stumbled across the restaurant SoBou on Chartes St, part of the W Hotel, and it was our best meal by far in the city - highly recommended for modern cuisine with a local flavour in stunning decor - really eclectic and cool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PillowHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter for 3 nights.

The positives were:
- Fantastic location. We walked to nearly everything we needed and you in amongst all the action and many great restaurants.
- Clean modern rooms which were large.

Negatives
- I wont say that the service was bad because there wasn't really any. It just does not compare to all the other hotels we have stayed at. The staff were a bit abrupt, didn't offer any assistance - it is hard to explain but something was just 'missing' compared to service offered at other hotels (Hyatt's and other chains).
- The room was very noisy - hard to sleep. Not from outside noise but from rooms nearby and a constant humming/vibrating noise. The first night we thought it was just because they were polishing the floors in the foyer below us but the noise continued the whole stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights the weekend of 1/19/13. It was my first time to New Orleans. I was in town for a bachelor party so I didn't spend much time in the room. That being said, please don't let that deter you from continuing to read. Being in the hospitality business, it was a very enjoyable stay. I knew that Hyatt had recently taken over and it seemed as though they were still doing some very minor renovations to the property (I saw some painting of the doors in the lobby).

Rooms were very beautiful, a very modern look to them. I'm assuming for the most part things were updated quite a bit from perhaps a more historic feel from before. I had seen in a previous review about there not really being a desk or sufficient chairs. The room I stayed in had two beds and had a bench and small circular table. For the purposes of this trip, this really didn't concern me, but perhaps could be an issue for a family with two or more children. Our view was of the courtyard w/o the pool, so it was quiet.

Location was great, half a block from Bourbon Street. It was easy to walk to restaurants and bars. I even walked down to Harrah's Casino several blocks away with ease.

Staff was good. Housekeepers did a great job servicing the room. We weren't bothered super early to see if we wanted service. Front desk, check-in and check-out were good and efficient. Bellman and valet were very nice. If they weren't tended to other guests they would always open the door to enter or exit.

Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and I would definitely consider staying here again if I am ever back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hospitali-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in rooms 315, 316 and 317. These rooms face Canal and are fairly quiet considering we were there at the beginning of Mardi Gras. Could not ask for a better property. The front desk staff is very patient and tolerant of everyone. This hotel is across from the Ritz Carlton. I thought for sure this hotel could not compare to that, but the rooms are fantastic. Will definitely stay here again. Perfect, perfect location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Canal are fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALSinCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect. Close enough to walk everywhere but far enough away from noise at night. The breakfast at powder sugar was made to order and delicious. The staff was so helpful and polite. The rooms were large and comfy. Best hotel I've ever stayed in

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lbianchi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing