We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Weekend at the Hyatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Weekend at the Hyatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff are truly warm and friendly and the room product is very nice and comfortable. It's very loud on the Canal side. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite and the room(s) were very nice. We weren't in the room alot so the noise wasn't really a factor and we had enough alcohol in us in the evenings to make sleeping not a problem :) But if you are wanting quiet - I would avoid these rooms. Great location and easy to get around to anything. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanacmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    552
    123
    37
    20
See reviews for
262
749
57
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is in a great location to visit anywhere in the French Quarter. It's located at the corner of Bourbon and Iberville Streets. So it's an easy walk to Jackson Square and super easy for Bourbbon Street.

I visited here for a conference. The hotel staff were super friendly. The room I stayed in on the 4th floor was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The only down side is although the room had a couch and a coffee table, there was not a business table to use for your computer. So not business friendly from that sense. There's also a charge for the wi-fi.

My room faced the inner courtyard, so there was no outside noise. Others at the conference who had rooms facing the street commented they were woken up a couple of times by the noise.

There's a lot of construction going on in New Orleans. And the hotel property is no exception. A Hard Rock Cafe and Howlin at the Moon are being built on the same property and there was a lot of construction noise during the day. But that will go away in time.

The bar in the hotel was good for a night cap, or as a starting point for the evening. Service was very friendly and good.

Over all, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, be sure to ask for a room that faces the inner courtyard. If you want to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnwlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel was very contemporary and clean. The location was fantastic as we could walk anywhere in the French Quarter. We enjoyed a complimentary breakfast which was tasty. Staff was overall good, but some did not go out of the way to be helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The2ofUStogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pre-paid for a room at this hotel through American Express. Arrived at 1am and was told that "they found themselves in an oversold situation." In other words, they had given away the room we had already paid for. They then asked us to walk 12 blocks to another hotel (now 2am in the morning through downtown New Orleans) where they expected us to still pay for a room. Only after calling Amex did they agree to pay a cab to take us to the other hotel. We spent the next morning of our vacation checking out of the temporary hotel and paying for a cab back to the Hyatt French Quarter. When we got there our room still wasn't ready, and there were no apologies. They hotel itself is decent, not great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXRanger75243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoletravels
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's clean, close to the action but is also a nice grown-up retreat from the crazy world outside the hotel. There was some confusion checking in and the manager sent us wine and cheese in our room: greatly appreciated and enough to make us forget :)
The restaurant in the lobby has delicious coffee. The fitness center was immaculate and empty: just the way I like it. My bed was cozy and luxurious. All that and an ideal location: I'd stay here again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were only in town for 2 days so this will be short. Location is fabulous and everyone that works in the hotel from the front desk to the maids to the bartenders are the nicest and friendliest people ever. I feel like the hospitality was really outstanding. Our room was spacious and comfortable, couldn't be better. We ate at Red Fish, located in the bottom floor, the first night and it was packed, lively and excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggsneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Perfect location and close to everything in the French Quarter. Hotel is recently renovated but still has that boutique charm while still being a Hyatt. Red Fish Grill connected to the hotel is a GREAT restaurant as well. I was staying here as part of a conference. The conference staff is very attentive and does a great job. The food from banquet services however was only ok. Nothing to write about. Batch, the in hotel bar, was charming and had decent food for what it is. Better than the banquet food. All things considered, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,815 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,230 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,143 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing