We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Bourbon despite reading reviews about the renovation. We are very happy we took the chance for the Jazz Fest. The location was ideal, we were able to venture on our own. The staff could not be more accommodating and friendly- southern hospitality at its best. Our modern room was more to the interior so we did not hear Bourbon St or outside noise. We ended up having the best time at the pool which has a bar. ****We were able to comfortably walk to the main attractions including a dinner cruise on the Natchez. That was the only information I could not tell on the boards. We walked to dinner at both Brennans and Galatoire but rode the trolley to the Fest. We plan to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artistwriter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    552
    122
    37
    20
See reviews for
262
747
57
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter Sept. 7-9th. The hotel is sleek and modern on the inside. It is a very large building so you you have exits on Canal and Burbon St. We had a balcony King on Iberville facing the Ritz. The room did not have a bathtub but did offer a double shower. The beds were very comfortable. The TV was small for the larger room size but we did not come to NOLA to watch tv in our bedroom. Yes, the parking is overpriced. There is a garage around the block that is more reasonable. Overall it was a great stay and the hotel made me feel fancy.

Room Tip: The pool closes at 10pm so there isn't much noise coming from the courtyard too late. I would g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saraeob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt French Quarter for a long weekend and we couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The entire hotel is beautiful and all of the staff were incredibly helpful and gracious. It is a great location and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelloChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

we stayed from august 23rd till the 26th....from the moment we got there the staff was very friendly!!! they were very helpful if we needed anything.....they were there from the moment we pulled up to the front door....valet parked our car for us....it was a little pricey to park but it was worth it....left car in parking the whole trip...the hotel was close to everything we wanted to do....the room was very nice,we had a balcony. the water pressure left a little to be desired in the shower.... overall our trip was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: if you want the burbon street experience get a room with a balcony on burbon st. nice to people wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very nice renovation of former Wyndam includes great public spaces. Beds are great, water pressure good, expected room amenities. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Flat screen television was a bit small but no one should be watching TV in the French Quarter. Excellent exercise room.

Room Tip: Many rooms have courtyard or pool access. Others have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Checked in for a girls weekend and ended up staying a week courtesy of Hurricane Isaac. I usually stay at the Omni because I love their pool... but was tempted away by friend / Hyatt Sales Manager extraordinaire Molly Hannen. And boy oh boy was I glad I was.... Entering the room, I was blown away by the size. I've stayed at several hotels in the quarter and our room was twice the size of any other. The beds were great, the bathroom was nice... incredibly comfortable accommodations overall. What sets this hotel apart from the rest.... The fantastic pool and poolside bar. The excellent breakfast cafe that has super strong coffee. The hotel bar with its creative cocktails. All of these things make the Hyatt great, but what makes it even better is the incredible staff and service. They truly went above and beyond in every way to take excellent care of the guests throughout the storm. They served food when it seemed like the entire Quarter was closed. They served drinks when one couldn't even be found on Bourbon Street. The cafe was open every morning with hot coffee. And the staff members who you would see in the middle of the night, would still be smiling when you saw them in the middle of the next day. I wish I had gotten names... Everyone at the front desk was fantastic. The young woman at the cafe was awesome. The bartender was a serious trouper. And the GM Larry was always there to make sure everything was clicking right along and checking to see how we were doing. Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AriOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Initially intended on staying for 2 nights for a birthday/work-getaway. Nearly booked our trip at Omni because we were looking for a great pool and didn't see photos of Hyatt's on their site. Awesome sales manager, Molly Hannen convinced us to switch from Omni to Hyatt, enticed us with a lovely poolside room. So glad we made the switch! Super spacious, clean and calming room poolside with hip decor was a pleasure to retreat to after a long day. Valet service was top-notch. We expected to fly out Tuesday but Over-cautious-MSY closed 1 day before Tropical storm/Category 1 Isaac schlepped through. Our trip was extended by 3 nights due to 2 flight cancellations. Thankfully, the Sliver By the River did not lose power. Fortunately, the Hyatt kept their cafe (Powdered Sugar) and bar (Batch) up and running as few FQ places remained open. Vast majority of staff remained sincerely upbeat and always available. General Manager - Mr. Larry Daniels, was very friendly, helpful and hands-on.

Room Tip: Love the poolside rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbantraveler504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,815 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,139 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing