We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mildred H. It was just great. Loved my stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mildred H. It was just great. Loved my stay.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

From the minute I walked into your establishment I was amazed. Not only was the hotel in a great location, it was just perfect for the activities that I wanted to do. Convenient to everything. Room was clean, and comfortable, quiet at night, and staff very helpful. Right at Bourbon
Street where I wanted to be. We walked to most of our activities which was great. Glad the travel agency booked us there. We also enjoyed the pool area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Mildred H,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will tell all your friends and family that we are ready to welcome them to the French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,570
    1,375
    306
    88
    49
See reviews for
1,071
2,320
159
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice and some of the staff was friendly. (We had a rather rude house keeper.) The room was clean, but even the TV and my rather rambunctious 3 year old couldn't drown out the noise from Bourbon St.
When I booked the room I requested a room on an upper floor. When we got to the hotel we were informed the room we reserved was on the third floor. At one point we got off the elevator on our floor and the hallway smelled as if we had just missed a greatfull dead concert. This was brought to the staffs attention who notified management. This was a recurring smell that day. Which also might explain why the fire alarm went of several times throughout night and early morning hours. (BTW when I asked the front desk guy about the alarms he said he nothing)
For breakfast we did room service from the hotel restaurant. Not as good as I expected and definitely not grandma's pancakes.
So if your going for the party this is probably a good place, but not very family friendly. If I stay here again it will be because someone else is paying. Not worth the money could have stayed at a LA Quinta and had the same experience for a third of the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigboggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear CraigBoggs,

Thank you for staying with us this month. Certainly noise and fire alarms can be very disruptive. We are working very hard to minimize noise throughout the hotel, especially on Bourbon Street. Please contact me directly when planning a future visit and I will ensure you a perfect room with an interior courtyard view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect. I saw the reviews and everyone was right. Staff are amazing, room is lovely, hotel is steeped in history, right in the middle on French quarter and you sleep so well in the quiet rooms. From the second you arrive the staff are there for you. Made our holiday coming here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JONATHAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jonathan H,

Thank you for sharing your nice comments regarding our Hotel. Yes, we are an historic hotel and our ballroom and lobby areas date back to 1817!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Thanks so much to James Jay for accommodating us and helping make our trip so enjoyable. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Everyone from the front receptionists, to the concierge, to the housekeeping staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms are immaculate and the hotel has everything you need. Thank you Bourbon Orleans Hotel, we had a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Latasha S,

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff. I will be certain to let James Jay, Director of our reservations department know of your kind words. Please let all your friends and family in Cleveland know we are here for them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This truly is an amazing hotel. Even though our stay was very short, we had a great time. The room is very nice and overlooked the pool. We didn't go in, but saw a few couples enjoying a little break from the crowds on Bourbon St. The bartender, Steven Lemley, makes a killer cocktail and is a lot of fun to talk to.

I highly recommend staying at this hotel, you will not have a bad night.

Room Tip: The rooms with a courtyard view are very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Dano,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans! I will be certain to share your comments with Steven, our mixologist in the Bourbon O Bar. Wish you were still here………I am ready for a Tiki Drink!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay, but was disappointed with non complimentary breakfast. Also, the shower drainage was not good and the toilet didn't flush adequately. my wife and I waited for over an hour to get our car at check out. A personal suggestion would be to place "quiet please" signs in the hallways until at least 11am. All in all the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved the location and turn down service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Carlos,

Thank you for staying with us this month. We are very proud of our friendly staff. We work hard to ensure everything is in working order in all guestrooms. I will be certain to follow up on your comments with engineering. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The Bourbon Orleans Hotel is simply amazing. I haven't even been home a week and I miss it already! From its friendly staff to its beautiful and clean rooms. It definitely is a must stay for anyone looking for a clean and comfortable hotel in the French Quarter. It's location is a plus as well. My daughter and I got up each morning and walked to our destination for the day.

The price was right too.

Thank for a fabulous time! We already are working on coming back real soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Tiffany W,

We miss you too! Our passion at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel is to “Provide the best in personal service for our guests who will always enjoy a fun, friendly, and authentic French Quarter experience”. Please let all your friends and family in Chicago know we are ready to welcome them to NOLA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,117 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing