We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jazz Fest Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jazz Fest Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Excellent location, newly renovated gem in the middle of the action. Rooms left nothing to be desired. Clean, modern and well-maintained. Even though I stayed at street-level the windows did more than plenty to block out the noise from outside. The pool and the gym were also a treat and the adjoining bar is perfect to begin, or end, your night out in the town. Definitely worth the price.

One of only a few complaints was the quality of the breakfast buffet, which I felt left some things to be desired. The breakfast sausage was just ok, An omelette station would have been welcomed. Another complaint was that the in-room radio was I-phone four and not i-phone 5 compatible, so i needed and AUX cable to connect. I did not bring one. After calling the front desk they also indicated that they did not have one. AUX cables are a buck or two on ebay. They could easily buy a bunch and rent them out for a buck and make it expense-neutral, but have not thought of doing so.

All, in all however, this hotel is great luxury and worth your consideration.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,345
    1,309
    292
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,000
2,191
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Located in the heart of the French Quarter it is a true gem, close to many activities and restaurants. The service was over and above our expectations. Every staff member in all departments went out of their way to assist us and to make us feel very " at home" in their hotel. From the moment we got out of our cab we felt very well taken care of and always greeted with friendly smiles and positive conversation. Our room was a corner room facing the pool and it was very quiet, we slept like babies. The room was clean and always well supplied. Although we did not take a lot of meals in the hotel, we did enjoy the large breakfast buffet, although perhaps a bit over priced. The front desk staff were most helpful when we asked for popular restaurants or directions to specific places we wished to visit. Jasmyn and Giovanni were two of our favorites but all were very helpful. We were very impressed to find hotel made Pralines waiting for us at the front desk on the weekends. So yummy and so special to be treated. We were given complimentary drinks at the bar on our arrival which I thought was particularly nice. Introduced us to very competent mixologists and amazing drink selections. Again we found the bar quite expensive. We like the ambiance and the entertainers were very talented. The pool was always clean and well supplied with towels and even bar service. Over all this was an amazing place to stay. We actually do not have a negative thing to say about this great hotel and we would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor, corner room overlooking the pool. It was very quiet and I think may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned from a very successful (and enjoyable) meeting at the Bourbon Orleans! Our international group of elite orthodontists (from the US, Japan, Korea, Guatemala, and Mexico) experienced some of the best southern hospitality around! The planning process with the Bourbon Orleans' sales and catering managers was effortless. I cannot say enough regarding the excellent service we received from the moment we arrived! Everyone was friendly, kind, polite and very helpful throughout our stay! The hotel is beautiful, perfectly located in the French Quarter and very representative of New Orleans with all of it's beauty and southern charm. I will not hesitate to host another event at this facility or to return for a personal visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

An absolutely beautiful Hotel! Came to New Orleans for a photo trip and decided to stay at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. It was located in the center of the French Quarter so all my points of interest was a short walk away. Staff was very helpful and very courteous. A very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORBS_inv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, FL
Level Contributor
264 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed in this hotel and the room was massive and clean and right on Bourbon in the quarter. We didn't hear much of the street noise, but it was there. The maid staff was amazing and tipped them accordingly. You have to use your card key to get into the elevator or stairwell so don't forget it. The hallways are extremely long and reminded us of the movie The Shinning. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

Our friends were staying in a different hotel so we went to the downstairs bar with them after an dinner. We were pleasantly surprised, it was quiet and quaint with an amazing woman singing on a Thursday night. The bartender was helpful and informative. She knew her drinks.

About 3 nights later we were so over "the street" and needed a quiet place. As we were walking for some time looking, my friend said... "Let's go in there, it looks quiet." And there it was, it was our hotel bar! That just said it us how nice and quiet it really was, even for the madness going on just outside the window.

This bar is definitely an adult, quiet place. Not for the party reveled on the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T2Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was our third time staying at this hotel and we have never had a problem with professional customer service or cleanliness. We stayed in a balcony suite facing Bourbon Street and the view was awesome, all of the live action right under your feet. We will be coming back for Jazz Fest again and will be staying at this hotel every time we come back to NOLA.

Room Tip: If you don't mind street noise, stay in a balcony room, inner hotel rooms are much quieter that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drewcifer427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were greeted by the sweet valet guy as soon as the cab door opened! Check In was quick and the young lady was very friendly!
The young man who brought our luggage up to our room was almost faster than us, lol, again so friendly! Our hotel room was clean and super cute! Housekeeping was very accommodating and did a great job! The STAR of this hotel is definitely The Bourbon O (the bar)! My husband was a fan day one, I didn't join him but he went on and on how great a bar it was. So, I did join him and was so glad I did. I love bloody Mary's and I've had some great ones and of course some not so good. They have a Bloody Mary out of this world, Yummo, best I've ever had! The bartender is a award winning mixologist and his personality creates a good time. The bar manager also created the Bloody Mary mix herself! All and all we had a great visit to NOLA and The Bourbon Orleans and staff are First Class :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,826 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing