We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a group getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a group getaway”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A large group of us (17) spent the weekend in New Orleans. We wanted a hotel in the French quarter that offered both great location and a bit of a retreat from the madness of bourbon street. The Bourbon Orleans offered both in spades. Great and friendly staff, who were always extremely helpful. Clean, modern and comfortable rooms. And a location that can't be beat - literally in the middle of it all. I highly recommend this hotel for groups or couples looking to have a memorable weekend in NOLA.

Room Tip: If you have a large group you should consider a bilevel suite. The downstairs level offers a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,808
    1,435
    317
    93
    52
See reviews for
1,163
2,442
177
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is one of the best experiences I have had at a hotel. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome and taken care of. It is located in the perfect spot in the city, right on Bourbon Street but the Hotel was very quite and I was not disturbed at all by the busy street down below. It is within walking distance of many amazing places to visit in the city and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDH0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We could not have selected a better hotel in the "Quarter" from which to explore the wonderful sites and sounds of the "Big Easy". If you want to park your car and be in easy walking distance of great eateries, street cars, and the ambiance of old New Orleans; this hotel is only a couple of blocks from Jackson Square, the French Market and street parties (not just at Mardi Gras). The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and well appointed, and the lounge makes great drinks.
The partying on Bourbon Street on Friday and Saturday nights may keep you awake if your room faces that street, but what is New Orleans about if not giving you permission to stay up all night roaming the streets with drink in hand? When we return to New Orleans, we'll return to the Bourbon Orleans.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, stay away from the Bourbon St. side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a group gathering at the Bourbon Orleans in late March 2014. To say that we were spoiled is an understatement. They worked hard with us before the event, during the event, and even followed up with us after the event. The staff was gracious and timely and the management checked with us daily to ensure that we were happy (which we were!). The hotel is located towards one end of Bourbon Street, so you get the vibe without the craziness. You can walk down to see the insanity but not have it ruin your relaxation. The food, btw, is amazing and it is easy walking distance to all the great food places.

Room Tip: You probably want to request one on upper floors and off Bourbon Street as sometimes, like March Mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I just recently stayed at the Bourbon Orleans during Mardi Gras and had a great experience! Every member of the staff who I encountered was super nice and seemed to genuinely love their job (this was a trend throughout Nola though, where I think the best service industry people in the world live and work!!)

Despite the "middle of it all" location of the Bourbon Orleans, we couldn't hear a peep when we retired to our room, which was a definite plus. The room was great and the bed was unbelievably comfortable! Extremely hard to get out of the next day! I also thought that the room service menu was of surprising value.. I normally pass up room service because I don't want an arm and a leg charge added, but we couldn't resist breakfast (with bloody Marys!) in that super comfy bed!

Unfortunately, I only found out about the ghost stories when we were checking out (framed and posted in the swanky lobby).. I'd suggest you read about them as you check in and really freak yourself out! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Liked the ratings on Trip Advisor so booked for our first New Orleans visit and could not beige pleased. Location-great! Room-spacious, courtyard side and very quiet and nicely appointed! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Such a friendly staff and warm welcome when I was checking in. The lobby is gorgeous, elegant, and very comfortable. I really appreciated the PCs and printer adjacent the front desk -- quick and easy to print out my boarding pass. I was there for meetings, and the grand ballroom was an elegant and roomy space that served our group well. Also, the location was great for getting out and walking the French Quarter during breaks -- just a couple blocks from Jackson Square and the river walk along the Mississippi. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. My only complaint there was the mattress protector must have been plastic because it made my back sweat -- if they're going to use a protector they really should use a higher quality type. Also, do know that this hotel is adjacent Bourbon street, and there is partying into the wee hours -- but the noise wasn't too bad; I do consider this part of the French Quarter experience, but if you need quiet, ask for a room on the inner courtyard/pool area. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you want a view out over the roof tops of the French Quarter, get a room on the 5th or 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,105 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,550 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,156 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing