We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay when you go to New Orleans!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“THE place to stay when you go to New Orleans!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times now. They are so friendly and courteous there. The breakfast menu that they offer in their hotel is top notch, the pool area is great and enjoyable, and the rooms are very good and spacious. Special thank you to the catering services group, especially Judy and Megan, for helping me surprise my friend who was staying at the hotel for a bachelor party. They were able to have bottles delivered to his room on time before he walked in to see the surprise! thank you so much to the staff over at the Bourbon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Michael L:

We appreciate you and your friends returning to the Bourbon Orleans Hotel for a 3rd time. I have recognized Megan and Judy for arranging details to ensure your friend was surprised. We have a Memory Maker monthly award and they have been nominated! Please tell everyone in NY, NY about our property……….the pool awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,798
    1,433
    317
    93
    52
See reviews for
1,160
2,436
177
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at the Bourbon Orleans a few days ago. The lobby in the hotel is big, bold, and beautiful. Was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room with two very comfortable queen size beds facing the courtyard - didn't hear any noise from Bourbon Street. Every single hotel staff member, whether they worked the door, the front desk, the bar, concierge, or room maintenance, was friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. I spent a lot of time researching hotels in the French Quarter and was a little bit concerned about this hotel's location right on Bourbon Street, but I'm already planning a repeat visit, since this hotel offers the options to either face Bourbon for those who want to enjoy the party, or face the courtyard, for a quiet stay in the center of everything. I can't wait to return :)!

Room Tip: Room on third floor facing courtyard was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIjen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Lljen,

Thank you for staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I truly appreciate your nice comments regarding our friendly hospitality and service. Our lobby will get bolder with new furnishings this spring! All of look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

when there the 15-23 february 2014 starting week of mardi gras. Room 325 is ok very nice its a street balcony suite . They give us some ear plugs and we really need them. Next time we are gonna try to have the corner suite for the w-e there's a lot more action on the corner and you can see from your balcony the parade on royal street and will stay the rest somewhere else than bourbon street. The noise been loud till 8am on w-e and 2-3 am on week. The bed was hard (not god for me) and the 4 pillows very tiny and flat, always want to ask for more but didn't. Brunch look very nice but we never heat there.

Room Tip: bourbon street suite great for w-e party not for sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Nathlav,

We are delighted you enjoyed our pre Mardi Gras Celebrations! Our balcony rooms are always a unique experience. We look forward to welcoming you and all your friends in Montreal back to the Bourbon Orleans soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel to our family and friends. Great staff, excellent service and looking forward to a return visit. The location is perfect and we were within walking distance of everything!!!

Room Tip: My husband and I chose a room with a king size bed. The quality of the bed was excellent and the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Gale 35,

Thank you for staying with us in February. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and distinctive location. Please bring all your friends and family from Colorado to visit us here in the French Quarter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding which was also held at the hotel. The service staff for the wedding, Gregg G. and Kelvin A. were wonderful. They made not worrying about whether the guests were getting what they needed very easy for the bride and groom. The courtyard and reception room were wonderfully done. We were very pleased with our room / bedroom and they have done a very nice job with renovations HOWEVER the sound barriers were horrid. Here, during Mardi Gras, across from the ice.............well, it did not lend itself to sleep when people are coming off the street up to the hour you would otherwise be awakening. So, that really is my only complaint. Stephen, in the bar, also bright and great at his job. Overall, I would give it a second chance and make sure I had a better choice of room. We actually had a good view though and the ambient temperature of the room was better than almost any hotel I have stayed at!

Room Tip: Don't stay by the ice machines:) We had a street view of St. Ann but understand the pool views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belzob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Belzob,

Thank you for your nice comment regarding our restoration. I have shared your positive feedback with Kelvin and Greg in our banquet department, as well as Stephen in the Bourbon O Bar. Weddings are a big part of what we offer here and I am happy all went well. I will work on the ice machine noise……….hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

1st trip to New Orleans. Stayed in #124 for 3 nights last week. Hotel is in a perfect location. Rooms are cozy, bathrooms are well appointed-even if the shower heads are placed for those under 6' tall. Lobby was quaint. Staff was more than helpful. Doormen everywhere. Last Thursday night my phone went into alert mode "TORNADO WARNING". We took one look at each other and said lets check it out. When we got to the front door a nice young man who was standing at the podium outside says, "Aint no thing" so off we went for a 3 hour stroll. 11pm, it started raining...No tornadic activity in our area. Kevin had chocolate covered strawberries and champagne brought to our room on our anniversary date-thanks big guy! Wife was happy so I'm happy. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Stephen F,

I was delighted to read that your 20th anniversary was special here at the Bourbon Orleans. I have shared your comments with Kevin and am delighted that he made your stay special. Hope to see you and all of your friends from Arizona again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Bourbon Orleans hotel is grand and gorgious. Staff was friendly and professional. Awesome breakfast buffet. Best location in New Orleans. Bourbon St. to the right, St. Louis Cathedral to the left. Hotel bar ambience is perfect and staff so welcoming. Would love to make this a anual stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psychonurse6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed our property and the friendliness of our staff. In January we restored our historic lobby and are continuously enhancing our property. We look forward to welcoming you back for an annual stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,544 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,100 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,153 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing