We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful charming great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

my husband and I just got back from our great stay at the Bourbon Orleans . The staff was wonderful and very helpful for our first time to New Orleans. We could not have found a better location. Charming, beautiful, and seconds away from the action. Charles at the from desk was a great help, and the beautiful tall thin hostess at the breakfast buffet was so fun to talk to!! Also very friendly and interesting was Lynn at the bar!! I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzards214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us here at the Bourbon Orleans. I appreciate your nice comments regarding our associates Charles at the Front Desk, Che in our restaurant, Roux on Orleans, and Lynn our mixologist at the Bourbon O Bar. I have shared your review with all of our staff and we are all ready to welcome you back! Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,854 - 4,860 of 6,129 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you want to be at the centre of all the action in the French quarter then you can't do much better than this hotel. Located right behind Jackson square it's harder to be more perfectly located and the hotel has as much character as the buildings that surround it. The staff were very friendly and after a long night of partying the bed is very comfortable. It can be a little noises if you've an outward facing room, but then don't book a hotel in the French quarter if you want peace and quiet.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the USA. We appreciate your nice comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. We are always working to ensure an authentic French Quarter experience. Please let all your friends in London know about New Orleans and the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Excellent service, amenities and accommodations. We booked through hotel tonight and everything was as expected and beyond. We were treated to a complimentary drink at the hotel bar. The room was delightful and had a view of their lighted pool and mezzanine area. The service was impeccable. We had a delightful time. I would highly recommend the hotel, and we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Every room is a bit different. Let them know what you are looking for. The staff is excellent about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. In room dining can be relaxing and I have shared with our executive chef your nice comments regarding your dish. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This Hotel has it all, Great Price & Great Location, Very Clean and the staff is friendly. We couldn't say anything bad at all about this excellent hotel. The hotel has a wonderful bar with live entertainment. The lobby has free fresh cold fruit flavor water at all times. The Lobby also has on Sundays the "Best "Bloody Marie" cocktail in town. The restaurant was very clean and food was good. Next time we visit Bourbon Street we will definitely stay here again,

Room Tip: If you don't want the noise of bourbon street at night ask for a room facing the pool area,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coach-B-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the friendliness and cleanliness of our hotel. These are important areas for us as we welcome visitors from around the world. The Bloody Mary bar on Sunday’s tends to help our Saturday revelers “recover”. Come back and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is in nice shape overall and in a great location in the French quarter. The staff is friendly and professional and everything goes well as long as there are no issues. We had our room wifi service not work for about 24 hours, as well as an item go missing from our room. In each instance after we reported the problem, we were told the manager would get back with us. In reality we had to call back 3 to 4 times for each issue to finally get a resolution, were never pro-actively called back. Regarding the internet, were eventually told to call the service provider, where I had to wait over 30 minutes on hold before it was resolved. The hotel eventually credited our bill for the missing item, calling it an "over cleaning" issue but the overall lack of responsiveness to our initial report as well as having to pursue a resolution with the hotel left something to be desired.

The hotel restaurant looked nice however never saw more than one or two tables full at dinner. The bar is nice but you need to order at the bar and get your own drinks which is not real convenient. The pool area looks like it would be really nice when it is warm enough to use.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I really enjoyed the room, which was rather on the small side by American standards, but very well appointed--there was a place for everything. I had a nice view out my window, which had lovely plantation shutters. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room service food was excellent! I'm not much for shellfish, so I went for the roasted chicken which was cooked to perfection. Delicious. Good coffee in the room. I usually drink it black, but recommend the cream and sugar version. Perfect. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It would have been hard to imagine a more central hotel for a visit to the French Quarter. Practically step in any direction and out the door and you are in right on a major attraction. The lobby was beautiful as well as comfortable, and the staff was great. Forgot your toothbrush? No problem. Need more towels? No problem.

Being where it is, though, expect if you have a room above Bourbon Street to get a lot of noise almost the entire night. Also, depending on the crowd staying there at the same time, expect some noise INSIDE at night. Lots of people coming and going at odd hours. Then again, that might be fine unless you're there for business (in which case, poor you).

But the rooms are clean, the hotel is kept up well, they don't nickel and dime you (free internet! free bottles of water!), and the pool courtyard was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when you book. Be aware that they may not give it to you, especially if you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PitaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your staying with us at the Bourbon Orleans. We always strive to ensure all details are addressed consistently and I appreciate your note. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,789 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,253 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $176 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing