We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was my first stay here. The staff was friendly and informative and the room was very nice and a good value. This is definitely on my list of places to stay in New Orleans. The location could not be better.

Room Tip: Fortunately, we had a room facing the courtyard. It was wonderful so I recommend trying to get one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doxnmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,699
    1,408
    313
    90
    52
See reviews for
1,118
2,387
172
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

As a 10th generation local I know "where it's at" in NOLA. A few steps one way, Bourbon Street. A few steps the other way, Royal Street shopping and galleries. A few more steps: Jackson Square. So nice to wake up early, stroll over to the square before others arrive, and soak in the history and the beauty of the place. Follow that by cafe au lait and beignets at Cafe du Monde. Forget the high rise hotels a mile away. Stay in a place with personality and history, in the middle of it all. Thank you Bourbon Orleans. Didn't see the notorious ghosts. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sketchbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The location of hotel is excellent for the French Quarter. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are not large but adequate. Bathroom is very nice. Try to get an even numbered room as they face the courtyard. Odd numbered on one side is dark and has noise from a/c equipment. TV channels are very weak, needs to be updated. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: See comment above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. Everything was great, very clean rooms, excellent customer service, incredible location, beautiful hotel, very good sunday brunch. I was very happy with everything. We had 6 rooms reserved for family and friends to join me in celebrating my 50th! We all had a great time. My husband and I upgraded to a loft suite with a balcony the rest of our group had 6th floor pool view rooms. Our loft suite was really fun because we had our own balcony. It was fun to gather before dinner for a few drinks on our balcony. (be advised that late at night it could be noisy outside on the street below you) - we enjoyed it! That is part of the New Orleans experience! The pool view rooms are - king size beds and very nice and quiet. Overall excellent!! I can't wait to book again soon!

Room Tip: For lots of fun choose a balcony suite, for nice and quiet request high floor pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viaje12301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Hotel itself is great. I would have given it 5 stars except for the TV Cable coverage, or lack thereof.
The cable service is 20 years behind any other hotel chain or otherwise.
It only gets a few local channels and a few hand picked channels.
None of the major channels one would expect from such a fine hotel.
No A&E, Animal Planet, History channel, Fox News, Weather channel etc., etc.,
Staff was beyond great and went beyond their way to accommodate us.
Would only stay there again if the cable lineup is updated and in line with what most people expect.

Room Tip: Read above review. Our room faced the courtyard and pool. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grady r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our 5th trip this year, and it outdid itself this year! The room was perfect, everything was clean and in perfect working condition. The beds are amazingly comfortable and bathroom was very clean with a fantastic shower. We had a room on the first floor and loved the convenience.The location is absolutely perfect to enjoy the French Quarter. The service at the hotel is outstanding- everyone is always smiling and happy and willing to go the extra mile. Make sure you have breakfast at Roux, that is a must for us every year. I wanted Eggs Benedict, and even though it wasn't on th menu, the waitress asked the chef and he made some especially for me. The bar staff are now OUTSTANDING, which was the icing on the cake. The bar was always not quite as good, but it is so much better with the new staff. There is absolutely no reason to stay anywhere else in Nola. This place is perfect- home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LedbetterLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here right around Christmas and the lobby was beautifully decorated with Christmas trees and lights and poinsettias. The valet was nice and staff helpful. After a long day of shopping with our kids, we came back to the hotel to freshen up for dinner, and there was fruit flavored water and hot chocolate in the lobby, which I thought was a very a nice touch. Shower was very nice, bed was comfy. Location was just right...I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommabird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,459 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,119 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,105 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing