We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and as usual, I had a great stay this time. The only problem I had was that our room was on the second floor facing Bourbon street. The lack of curtains and the design of the beautiful shutters did nothing to muffle the music and noise which did not stop until 4:00 in the morning. Previous visits rooms were always on the other sides of the hotel. I know next time to ask for a room not facing Bourbon street. With the exception of the noise,'we had a perfect stay. The room was spotless and well furnished. The hotel staff were always efficient and very courteous. Location could not be better!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduman4260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,348
    1,312
    292
    83
    47
See reviews for
1,002
2,194
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is very beautiful and nice and located in excellent area, near to the Bourbon and Royal Streets, where everythig happens. It has a good bistrô bar, with good songs. Even I have not used because of the cold wheather, it got a excellent swiminpool.

The building is very beautiful with an old archteture.

Some kindness like tea and hot chocolate is served free. Welcome drinks also.
The breakfast was included. It was not so many varieties of food but the ones chose was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Cristina Le... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We found an wonderful venue for our small, family-only wedding (with about 25 people in total). The Bourbon Orleans, and most importantly, Megan, the wedding coordinator were simply the best choice. The hotel is a lovely place to stay, especially for a multi-generational family. More specific to the wedding, the hotel's "St. Anne's Cottage" venue is perfect for the ceremony, as well as for the reception, and the hotel's food and service were spectacular. Moreover, as it was a destination wedding for us, the hotel's list of preferred vendors was incredibly valuable, including Megan's ability to work with them to fit us into their sometimes busy schedules. On the wedding day, Megan was perfect as the coordinator of services and more importantly as the troubleshooter as small things were forgotten or overtaken by events. The hotel and Megan helped to make it one of the best days of our life!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we had were wonderul, but, if sound bothers you during the night, then we suggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a perfectly situated hotel to meet old friends and revisit old haunts in the city we've visited since childhood. The Bourbon Orleans was fantabulous! Great location, perfect accommodations, wonderful staff, and you must try a Sazerac as a nightcap! Wonderful weekend thanks to this great hotel and the caring people who work there!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Good place to stay, roomy, great location to Jackson Square and Bourbon Street. Location is in walking distance to everything. Rooms could be a little more quieter, we could hear the couple next door, but over all stay was great. Rooms have a very nice size to them. So our money was well spent. The hotel bar was great with specialty drinks. We were there for the Sugarbowl.

Room Tip: Get inside rooms if you want to rest during the winter stays. Otherwise you will hear noise from Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSokarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for the Sugar Bowl. The location in the French Quarter was great as it sits between Bourbon and Royal St. We loved being able to walk out to the shops on Royal Street. Café du Monde is very close by for coffee and beignets. Many excellent restaurants in easy walking distance. Our room was clean and comfortable - nice linens, comfortable beds, very accommodating and friendly staff. The concierge, Ron, was very helpful in getting us a last minute dinner reservation for New Year's Eve. As other reviewers mentioned, we could hear street noise in our room which faced the outside, but its nothing worse than you would hear traveling to New York or any other busy city. We would definitely book this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, book a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here two nights following Christmas. The location can't be beat, sandwiched between Bourbon Street and the cathedral. Our room was quite large, and best of all, we asked for a courtyard location and got it - very quiet. Just around the corner is Preservation Hall and our favorite dueling piano bar, Pat O'Brians. Our only complaint was the breakfast buffet, which isn't in lauded in the room rate. The price was quite hefty at $19.95, and the quality was subpar. However, there are plenty of other good restaurants nearby. It was raining on our last morning and we took the easy way out, which was a disappointment. This was our only negative in an otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioTravelers9663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,834 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing