We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stay in NOLA quite a bit and this is the first time to stay in this hotel. We had a balcony suite and really enjoyed all the spaciousness in the room. We could see Bourbon St from our balcony, but didn't have all the noise associated with being right on Bourbon (and this was Halloween). The staff was great and we will stay here again. I think it may be time to replace some sheets. They were so scratchy, we bought our own sheets for the second night. Also, with only one elevator working (sometimes both elevators were down and we had to take the freight elevator) we had some long waits to get to our room. All in all, really nice visit.

Room Tip: The balcony room with a loft gives you plenty of space to do things while the other person sleeps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,348
    1,312
    292
    83
    47
See reviews for
1,002
2,194
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Located smack bang in the middle of the French Quarter, we weren't sure what to expect from Bourbon Orleans. The anxiety continued when we were shown to a goods lift as the best way to get to our sixth floor room....but thankfully all turned out well! We had booked a room overlooking the pool and not the street on advice of other Trip Advisor users and this was a great tip as we had no noise at all - quite a feat in a hotel of this size in an area where the bars stay open until 6am. The room wasn't the most spacious but it was newly decorated and very comfortable. The hotel is a busy one and as such lacks any real personal touch. It's also a popular wedding venue so over the weekend, the outside pool area was frequently out of bounds but with so many other things to do in New Orleans, this didn't feel like a big miss. It isn't cheap and the valet charges are high but it wins for convenience and comfort.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room overlooking the pool and not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had never been to NOLA before and chose this hotel because of it's central location and it's history. We were celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary and so decided to 'splash out'. The staff were super friendly and accommodated my Husband's request for champagne and fruit in the room as a surprise for me without any fuss or fanfare!
They also provided us with one of the few rooms which a balcony which opens out into the pool courtyard which was a lovely surprise. The room was nice and clean, not particularly spacious but we didn't spend long in there so that wasn't a problem.
Couple of criticisms - firstly, we were on the 3rd floor close to the ballroom and when we arrived from the UK on the Saturday night a large party (probably the wedding mentioned in a previous review) was in full swing. The sound of the band was deafening! Luckily, by that time we had been awake for over 24 hours travelling and had also enjoyed a couple of cocktails in our stroll around the French Quarter before going to bed, so nothing kept us awake that night!
Secondly, we didn't find the courtyard pool area very quiet due to the large air-conditioning units on the roof. There was a constant loud droning noise.
Having said all this, everyone was so friendly (I especially enjoyed wandering through the front door and one of the doormen saying 'welcome back' each time we returned to the hotel) I would most definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEY WEST
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We go to New Orleans a lot and decided to try the Bourbon Orleans this time because of their two level suite. The suite is perfect for the small reception we had for my birthday and the catering staff was wonderful. The set up and take down were done flawlessly and I didn't have to do a thing. The food was perfect and enjoyed by all of my guests. I asked for a suite overlooking Orleans St. because I did not want to be near Bourbon St. and they accommodated my request. Even though we were the furthest suite from Bourbon, the noise was so loud, I did not sleep the first night. The next morning I went to the front desk to ask where I could purchase earplugs and I was given two pair right there. My friends stayed in a room overlooking the pool and did not hear any noise. If you want to sleep, get earplugs or a pool/courtyard view!!!! My only concern about the hotel was the staff. While each and every member of the staff dutifully said "hello" at every encounter, it didn't always feel personable. I expected a little more. One of the reasons I love the city is because of the people and I just didn't get that New Orleans vibe from the employees at the Bourbon Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

First time visitors to NOLA and following some other travelers advice on-line, we booked the Bourbon Orleans! What a wonderfully lucky happenstance for us. Great location, super staff, great king bed room overlooking the courtyard (quite after a day and night of busy, busy). We truly fell in love with so many of the staff we came in contact with. Starting with the fellows in front, to the front desk staff who greeted us warmly after a day of air travel (Geo-"our guy", the lovey young woman who was the morning "go-to" gal, Launa who was our after hours bud), and of course Caleb (Mr. Superman) and a great young man from New Jersey (sorry I'm blanking on his name). These were all our superstars but there was not a grouchy person in the mix. We were there a full week and while we encountered a couple of minor glitches the staff went above and beyond to remedy those minor happenings. Good job to whomever sets the bar high on customer service as it is very evident in every way. Having said all that I do have to lament the fact that the management did not provide a ghostly appearance in spite of the "haunted" reputation-bummer!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quite nights sleep or are a light sleeper make sure you choose a room that overlooks t...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stroll Bourbon Street during the madness that is Halloween on Bourbon. After walking past all of the drinking establishments filled with "tourist" 20 somethings I stumbled on the Bourbon O' Bar. Fun people without the over the top behavior. I wanted to give a special "shout out" to my cocktail waitress Nita. She had the perfect personality for a bar in New Orleans. An intimate knowledge of the city - and more importantly - the music scene. Not only did she recommend the perfect libation, but she also helped me set my itinerary for the rest of the evening and the next few days. She could work for the visitor's bureau . . . thanks Nita!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect, a half block from Bourbon Street. The staff is friendly and the rooms are beautiful! I work at a luxury hotel and am not easily impressed. A little disappointed I didn't hear or see any ghosts though!

Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,834 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing