We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Wiggins, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer in the City”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Bourbon Orleans is one of the Gem's in the French Quarter. Centrally located for ease of foot exploration and professionally staffed to accommodate any need. Having frequented the Bourbon Orleans prior to its renovations I was amazed to see the investment this French Quarter beauty has undergone. I would highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans to anyone.

Room Tip: All King Rooms have marble walk in showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdapaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a great review of our hotel! As you mentioned, we are located in the "heart" of the French Quarter which makes us the perfect location to walk to all the area has to offer. Having been a guest of the hotel prior to our recent renovations, I am happy you are pleased with the "new look" and modern amenities we provide while keeping the Historic Charm of our French Quarter Treasure. I look forward to having you back as our guest the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,570
    1,375
    306
    88
    49
See reviews for
1,071
2,320
159
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Bourbon Orleans. It was central to our ventures out into the French Quarter. We were able to walk to nearly all of our destinations. Very nice hotel. Friendly staff, and the breakfast was very filling.

Room Tip: We did not opt for the balcony view overlooking Bourbon Street, but it is available for those that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW1ArlingtonTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay at our hotel. Located in the Heart of the French Quarter, we are indeed the ideal location making us walkable to all the shopping, dining and nightlife that makes this area of the city special. I'm happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you back as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

At one point I was caught off guard by the front desk greetings even while waiting on other guest....Nice touch. From the bell person to house keeping everyone made me smile. Perfect location, perfect rooms, perfect service. If you need a king size bed and like the use of the pool, try for room 120. The room has french doors that open up to the pool! A+

Although this hotel is on the busiest street in the french quarters, once inside is like being far away. Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Room 120 inside away from Bourbon st, and opens up to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alad222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am so happy to hear your stay at our hotel was "Perfect"! Thanks so much for the great compliments about our hotel and our staff, which I will certainly pass on to each of them. We look forward to having you back as our guest when your travels return you to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I went to New Orleans to check out the haunted locations and take in the historic attractions. The Bourbon Orleans was in close walking distance of the major cemeteries, historic places, shops and more than a handful of the haunted buildings. To make it even better, Bourbon Orleans has some haunting legends with it and we were able to explore and stay in the area of the haunting. The room was quiet-we were not awakened by slamming doors or outside sources. The pool was great and the accommodations luxurious. The staff went out of their way to make our visit effortless. The rooms were clean and the bed extremely comfortable. I was able to connect to the internet at a high speed. While we were in the vicinity, we looked at several other hotels and were so happy we booked Bourbon Orleans. We got a great deal for the money. I was very happy with the included breakfast. They were able to accommodate a very strict no oil diet that I am on and it was large and absolutely delicious. This hotel is a fantastic location, accommodating and they had historical information with their ghost stories that made them so much more credible than the other hotels that seemed afraid to let folks know they had some sort of haunting. Definitely recommend this to history buffs and ghost hunters.

Room Tip: Check for specials that they offer like free valet parking and included breakfast. Their breakfast i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannetteq2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the GREAT review about your recent stay at our hotel! As you mentioned, we are located in the heart of the French Quarter making us walkable to everything that makes this area of New Orleans so special. I am happy you enjoyed your visit to our "Haunted" Hotel and found our History and Legends both exciting and informative. We would appreciate having you back as our guest the next time you are in New Orleans. Who knows...you just might have a visit from one of our "nocturnal residents"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the moment of arrival at the Bourbon Orleans, to the time of departure, our trip was perfect. The hotel was easy to find.Perfect location! We had the valet parking which couldnt have been easier. Walking in to the hotel we knew right away that we had decided on a hotel that would make sure our trip was perfect. The lobby was beautiful. The people at the desk at check in were really on spot! Our rooms were not quite ready due to it being before check in time, so we had a voucher for a free coctail at the Bourbon O hotel bar. We enjoyed the cocktail and soon after the roooms were ready. We had a total of 4 rooms and all of them were perfect. Clean, appointed well and quiet. Our balcony served as a lot of fun watching the street life below. Our complimentary breakfasts in the hotel restaurant were delicious. The service was great. We hated leaving. We are planning another trip in May of 2014. Well worth the money, for sure!!

Room Tip: We had rooms facing Orleans St.on the 5th floor with a petite balcony. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am so happy to hear you had a GREAT Birthday Trip and you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our hotel!! Located in the Heart of the French Quarter, you are in the perfect location to enjoy all the area has to offer. From the best in Dining, Shopping, Attractions and Nightlife, you are literally steps away for all the action and excitement. Our recent renovations, provides our guests with the latest in modern amenities while keeping the beauty and charm of our Historic Hotel. Of course, there is nothing better than enjoying the “sights and sounds” of the streets below while sipping a refreshing cocktail from our bar on your private balcony with good friends. We look forward to your return next May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I recently took our first trip to New Orleans. The Bourbon Orleans Hotel was like heaven on earth! The staff went out of their way to make our stay as wonderful as possible. Very clean. Beautiful balcony views. Wow! I can't say enough about the valet staff... Ricky, Louis, and Mario were so helpful and friendly! We plan on returning to this hotel as often as possible!

Room Tip: You can't pick a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review and for selecting our hotel for your first trip to New Orleans. With so many hotel choices available in the French Quarter, I am so happy you chose us for your lodging needs. Our balcony rooms offer fantastic views of the area where you can enjoy the sights, sounds and excitement of the streets below. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our Valet Staff. We look forward to having you back as our guest the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

By the looks of it, it's tough to beat this classic hotel's location. Rooms, amenities, public spaces, service and value are also great. My only complaint was their $34 a day valet parking charge which I didn't find out about until check out time. Also, the Bourbon Orleans Hotel might want to think about upgrading their very noisy elevator...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfcowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for your great comments about your recent stay at our hotel and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. I am pleased to inform you that we are scheduled to begin renovations on our guest elevators September 15th and this project will provide our guests with brand new state of the art elevator service. Please be sure to visit us again the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,116 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing