We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bourbon Orleans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Bourbon Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staying at this hotel was mostly a good experience with one minor irritation. The location of the hotel was ideal, a very short walk from most things you would want to see or do in the French Quarter. The room was clean and the staff was always nice and helpful. This however was also the irritation. Although the room was large and had plenty of room it had only one desk chair in it and that was the the sum total of places to seat down. Since I was with my wife, this meant that one of us had to seat on the bed the entire time we were in the room. When I finally went to the front desk and ask for a extra chair, they delivered a small conference room chair which was not exactly comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryH1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,348
    1,312
    292
    83
    47
See reviews for
1,002
2,194
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My BFF and I stayed at the Bourbon Orleans from May 9 - 15, 2013 to celebrate our 40th birthdays. The hotel is located in the French Quarter on the corner of Bourbon Street and Orleans Street. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly greeting by the bellman, who always opened the doors for us throughout our stay. The lobby area is beautiful and well kept - very striking décor. Check in was quick and the front desk staff were very friendly.

We reserved a Vieux Carre room, located on the 2nd floor and overlooking the courtyard. We had the option of a room facing either Bourbon or Orleans street, or the courtyard/pool. As the noise level increases at night, we felt that choosing a courtyard view room would be better for a good night's sleep! This room consisted of two queen beds (extremely comfy), a sitting area with two large wing chairs placed in front of the window, and an adequately sized desk and chair. The room also had a wet bar area at the back of the room. The bathroom was huge; nice long vanity and mirror and a large walk in shower. This was obviously recently renovated. We were very pleased with our room choice; lots of room for two gals with too many clothes! There was also a large double sized closet and locking safe.

The location of this hotel couldn't get any better! Minutes from Jackson Square and steps from Bourbon Street (but at the quieter end). Having walked all through the F.Q., we both agreed that this hotel was an excellent choice as far as location. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant as we felt there were too many other restaurants and cafes in the French Quarter that we wanted to try. Nor did we go into the bar, even though we were given two free drinks from there. It was always pretty quiet in that bar, except for Saturday night, which seemed to liven up a bit. There's a great jazz club called Fritzel's right across the street that we frequently a lot.

There are only a few minor things that the hotel could improve on in order to make it just that much better. We felt our room was poorly lit; adding one or two floor lamps would make a world of difference. There were some mornings where it took a few minutes to get hot water in the shower. I had to leave it run for a while before hopping in, but it eventually came and was plenty hot! The housekeeping tidied the room daily; made the beds and wiped the counter in the bathroom, but that appeared to be all. Although the room was fairly clean, it would have been nice if they would have vacuumed during our stay. These are just minor things; they won't make or break your stay!

My friend and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to stay here again if we were ever returning to New Orleans. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank changr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Right in the middle of the French Quarter.
The rooms were not as noisy as other reviews have stated.
The rooms were very clean. And I am very picky.
The pillows on the bed were like bricks...this is my only negative about the hotel. I now understand why people travel with their own pillows.
All of our traveling friends said they would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard/pool. Did not hear any sounds of Bourbon ST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bert424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I liked the location the best of all. It's at the heart of New Orleans' French quarter/bourbon street area. The attention to detail in room service items could be improved on such as condiments and extra specific items requested. Staying in New Orleans is a room service kind of stay. But other than that one particular issue everything else was magnificent. The rooms were clean and so was the entire hotel. You got to go out on the town by walk everywhere except to the fairgrounds and back. The Hotel staff is very upbeat when you need something and they leave you alone when you want them to. We have been to 6 Jazz Fests so far and this one this year was yet another to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilltuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Always stay at this property when in New Orleans to visit family. The location is great, the hotel and pool is always clean and the staff is very friendly. If you want a quieter room ask for court view otherwise you will hear Bourbon street music. It usually got quiet around midnight and the noise does not bother me. Beds are very comfortable also. We always get the package that includes parking, breakfast and free drink nightly from the bar. All rooms include free bottled water and internet, great values too.

Room Tip: ask for a court view room for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This boutique hotel was in an excellent location in the French Quarter: right off Royal St for shopping and Bourbon St for partying. It's also a comfortable walk to Louis Armstrong Park, St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, and Jackson Square. Surprisingly, given it's proximity to Bourbon, it was quiet. There was plenty of party-goers and bars nearby but you couldn't really tell once by the hotel (probably helps that the strip and dance clubs are quite a few blocks away leaving the drunken idiots at the other end of Bourbon).

The room itself was pretty small but we were only there to shower and sleep so no biggie. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed comfortable, and we had a view of the pool.

The front desk staff was friendly enough but one woman was not very helpful in giving us recommendations on the best place to hear music. If you want a good recommendation or good conversation, talk with Caleb the Bell Captain.

We did have an issue with housekeeping: without knocking or announcing themselves, they came into the room. I had just gotten out of the shower and was not dressed so whoever it was that came in saw me in all my glory. The hotel was able to properly rectify the situation to our satisfaction so we tried not to make a huge deal out of it. That was our only problem during our stay, but, again, the hotel made it right so no big deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George West, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The on-line booking was so easy! Check in and check out was easy. The stafff in all areas (front desk, valet, storing luggage, restaurant) were very friendly! The location is absolutely perfect. We love this place! It is by far the best place to stay in New Orleans! And...there are many great places! It's the best of the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,834 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing