We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another amazing jazz fest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet another amazing jazz fest”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I liked the location the best of all. It's at the heart of New Orleans' French quarter/bourbon street area. The attention to detail in room service items could be improved on such as condiments and extra specific items requested. Staying in New Orleans is a room service kind of stay. But other than that one particular issue everything else was magnificent. The rooms were clean and so was the entire hotel. You got to go out on the town by walk everywhere except to the fairgrounds and back. The Hotel staff is very upbeat when you need something and they leave you alone when you want them to. We have been to 6 Jazz Fests so far and this one this year was yet another to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilltuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,697
    1,407
    313
    90
    52
See reviews for
1,118
2,385
172
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Always stay at this property when in New Orleans to visit family. The location is great, the hotel and pool is always clean and the staff is very friendly. If you want a quieter room ask for court view otherwise you will hear Bourbon street music. It usually got quiet around midnight and the noise does not bother me. Beds are very comfortable also. We always get the package that includes parking, breakfast and free drink nightly from the bar. All rooms include free bottled water and internet, great values too.

Room Tip: ask for a court view room for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This boutique hotel was in an excellent location in the French Quarter: right off Royal St for shopping and Bourbon St for partying. It's also a comfortable walk to Louis Armstrong Park, St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, and Jackson Square. Surprisingly, given it's proximity to Bourbon, it was quiet. There was plenty of party-goers and bars nearby but you couldn't really tell once by the hotel (probably helps that the strip and dance clubs are quite a few blocks away leaving the drunken idiots at the other end of Bourbon).

The room itself was pretty small but we were only there to shower and sleep so no biggie. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed comfortable, and we had a view of the pool.

The front desk staff was friendly enough but one woman was not very helpful in giving us recommendations on the best place to hear music. If you want a good recommendation or good conversation, talk with Caleb the Bell Captain.

We did have an issue with housekeeping: without knocking or announcing themselves, they came into the room. I had just gotten out of the shower and was not dressed so whoever it was that came in saw me in all my glory. The hotel was able to properly rectify the situation to our satisfaction so we tried not to make a huge deal out of it. That was our only problem during our stay, but, again, the hotel made it right so no big deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George West, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The on-line booking was so easy! Check in and check out was easy. The stafff in all areas (front desk, valet, storing luggage, restaurant) were very friendly! The location is absolutely perfect. We love this place! It is by far the best place to stay in New Orleans! And...there are many great places! It's the best of the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbury, Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Bourbon Orleans on every trip we've made to New Orleans. There just can't be anything better! The location is awesome - in the middle of the Quarter right on Bourbon street and just a block from Jackson Square. The staff at the B.O. can't be any more gracious and helpful and the rooms are beautiful (especially since the renovation).

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bourbon Street can be a little loud sometimes. Rooms facing Orleans or St. Ann streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location as other people have stated. We had a room that overlooked the lovely pool area so it was away from the noise of Bourbon street. The bed was very comfy and had good quality sheets. There was the usual fridge, safe, ironing board, hair dryer etc in the room. The front desk staff were generally friendly and the guys on the door were always very cheerful. They take your car and park it 15 blocks away (apparently) so make sure you have everything from your car that you need. If you have never been to New Orleans before, don't let that worry you as You don't need a car if exploring the French Quarter and there really is no where to park. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many fab places to eat out plus it was uncomfortably cold in the main hotel due to the air conditioning being too low for us, especially when just sitting. We did a cemetery and voodoo tour and Gwen, our guide was very entertaining! We also went on a paddle steamer up the Mississippi , which was fab! A real 'must' is having beignets for brekki- yummy. We also found a real treasure if you want some where to eat for lunch or dinner in Cafe Amelie, 912 Royal street, beautiful courtyard restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a great room and experience at the Bourbon Orleans, thanks in part to Jeannette who got us the best rooms with the best views. People there were all great and helpful. Will stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,463 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,121 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,103 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing