We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place In Walking Distance Of Most Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place In Walking Distance Of Most Everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Booked Bourbon Orleans for the Jazz Fest. First time in NOLA so no idea what to expect regarding the city and accommodations. We thought the hotel was very nice overall. My only complaints would be small, but worth mentioning. First, the elevator is in a spot where if you have a room on the courtyard side, you have to walk completely around the hotel to get your room. Check in advised us of this upon arrival, but told us to take the service elevator, which was a very nasty first impression. (Staying on the 3rd floor, I later found out the grand staircase took us right to our room, without dealing with the smell and the nastiness of the service elevator.)
The restaurant was hardly ever open, and when it was, it was overpriced. ($19 breakfast buffet.)
The bar was fair, we went there the first night, but never returned. No late night food service, arrogant bartenders but a decent piano show. I had to print a document from email, only to be directed to a credit card paid slow internet with a pay to print service. $10 to print an email. The room itself was tiny, the balcony would have rescued it, but our room (854) was facing a wall in the courtyard, and the balcony collected so much rain that it was nasty from stagnant rainwater collected and not worth going out there. Don't let the pictures fool you, the rooms are very very small, but nice enough. The bathroom was very nice, especially the shower. After being there for a week, and walking to a lot of other places in the city, unless the craziness of Bourbon St. around the corner is your thing, you can do a lot better toward Riverwalk, St. Charles etc. and not pay premium rates for the Quarter and get probably a nicer place. I definitely think the top 10 ranking in very misleading.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet. Try for a room close to the elevator unless you want to travel a na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 133BrianB133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,479
    1,341
    298
    84
    49
See reviews for
1,050
2,263
155
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location right on Bourbon Street which is ideal for exploring the area but valet parking at considerable distance from the hotel cost over $30 per day. We stayed for 3 nights and there were 2 couples sharing the cost but beware if you just roll up and hand over your car key without checking the cost. The hotel itself is lovely - traditional and reputedly haunted. We visited the ballroom to look for the ghost but without success! Our room was to the side and on the 5th floor so we hardly heard any late night sound but I think it might be noisy in some of the rooms as Bourbon Street revelry goes on into the night. The restaurant looked nice but was a bit pricey and we preferred to stroll out and eat as there was so much choice around us. Staff were courteous and our stay was thoroughly pleasant. We enjoyed a complimentary drink in the hotel bar on arrival but the bar itself lacked the atmosphere of many others round about and we didn't choose it as a favourite place to have a drink in the evenings. The hotel pool area was ideal for a quiet read and a drink. We had booked way in advance and paid with avios points so for us it was an extremely good value short break except for the parking charge.

Room Tip: We were in 529 and heard a little bit of street noise but it didn't bother us. The room itself w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claremonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Loved our stay! Bellmen & front desk staff are the finest example of "Southern Charm"! Derek, Caleb & the boys are always happy to greet you & open the doors. Our room was smallish, beds were small, but it was so clean and super charming! There were 3 of us there for 4 nights & it worked out perfectly. Make sure and request maid service at the front desk on your way out for the day.....or it might not get spruced-up while you're out. The pool is beautiful, warm & a great spot to have your morning coffee while your friends sleep-in. I loved sauntering over to "Royal Coffee" each morning for my latte & Tomcat watching......very European, quaint & old. Opt to take cabs to & from the airport ($14.oo per person). Shuttle is about $19.oo each way & the B.O. is the last stop! Bar is sorta blah (sorry Terry!), so order your drinks & sip them in the beautiful great room under the chandeliers. We met many groups that remarked that they stay here every year, now I know why! See you next year B.O.!!!!!!! xo the 3 Cali Girls

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazerac_zatarains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

First, when making the reservations, the reservation agent was wonderful, helped us out in making the reservations and suggesting that we take a taxi instead of bus. The taxi was the best choice, quick and the cab driver was friendly and knowledgeable of the area, (our own tour guide) We checked in late Sunday night and the hotel was quiet. check in was quick and the desk clerk was friendly. Got to the room and I was amazed, we told the clerk that we here for our anniversary and it was our first time in Orleans, so they upgraded up, the room was 2 levels and had its own balcony. room was very clean, lots of room. In the morning the lobby was busy, and the staff was super friendly, door men all smiles and very helpful. Location, Location Location....just steps from Bourbon Street and a block from Royal. I am definitely coming back to New Orleans and the Bourbon Orleans will always be first and only choice hotel. Thank you to the staff and management for making my first time to New Orleans a vacation to remember.

Room Tip: If you are a lite sleeper ask for a courtyard room. Rooms facing the street are noisy in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janesvillecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
551 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. Fantastic service, great lobby to hang out or have a quick meeting, nice little restaurant, great bar (ok service there). The room was perfect, awesome balcony. Great pool area. If you are coming to NOLA and want to stay in the heart of everything, this is the place. I'll be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My Husband and I had a confirmed reservation at this hotel during French Quarter Festival. Travelled from Canada, arrived at hotel in the evening and were denied accommodation. We were put out on the street at midnight in a thunder and lightening rainstorm to search for other accommodations. We had to drive in zero visibility for over a hundred miles to find alternate lodging over bayou bridges with gators waiting in the event that we were unsuccessful in navigating in the middle of the night. I called the hotel manager and left three messages after returning home and Scott Campbell did not return my call. I guess the Bourbon Orleans wasn't anymore concerned about us after we left than they were when we were standing before them begging for a place to stay. If you are worried about being stranded, don't book this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I truly apologize for the situation you were faced with upon arriving to our hotel. We certainly do care and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your experience. My contact email is Mark.Wilson@bourbonorleans.com or you may contact me at 504-571-4600.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for the first weekend of Jazz Fest. We used the valet parking and didn't have to drive during our 4 day stay. Everything was walkable e en for old folks aged 62, 66 and 75. The staff was professional and friendly. The cost for daily parking seemed high but you pay for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txyoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,012 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,909 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing