We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We checked in at 1am after a 29 hour transit and the ladies at the front desk could not have been nicer. They even printed out a menu for the takeaway food shop down the road so we could get a snack. The rooms were beautiful (a double and a king) and the. Beds were comfortable. Location was perfect. Over the next four days we were impressed with how friendly all the staff were. The concierge was also most helpful in booking a tour for us. We did find a mouldy breadstick under the bed, when retrieving a pen that had rolled under, although I am not sure I get right under the middle of the bed when vacuuming at home, so I could live with that. All in all a great hotel and I would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,480
    1,341
    298
    84
    49
See reviews for
1,050
2,263
155
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Booked the Bourbon Orleans for an early 25th anniversary trip because of work issues. Found out we were arriving during French Quarter Festival, bu were still upgraded to a townhouse suite with a private balcony on St. Ann's at no additional charge. Valet and front desk personnel were absolutely the best. Recommendations for restaurants, etc., spot on and everybody always so pleasant! Didn't need housekeeping service and just advised the folks when we saw them; they gave us new waters, extra coffee packets, etc., so we never wanted for anything.

LOVE this hotel and hope we won't have to wait 25 more years to come visit here!

Room Tip: upper levels are better -- it's French Quarter and the bar crowd can be loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laureltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a pleasant stay at the Boubon Orleans...location was terrific; right off Bourbon St. (but not in the heart of craziness) and 3 blocks from Cafe du Monde! The only negative was the group of partygoers running down the halls yelling to eachother until the wee hours of the morning, but I can't fault the hotel for that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connecticut_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

For the past 5 years or so, my family has rented a room in the Quarter to enjoy the French Quarter Festival. The Bourbon Orleans was by far the most convenient, had the friendliest and most responsive staff, and offered excellent amenities and rooms. It was the first hotel we had been to in ages that actually let us check in early. The hotel and rooms were very clean and well kept. It's a great combination of old hotel with modern amenities. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the St. Ann St. side of the hotel and it was a bit loud on Bourbon St. at night. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NShoreian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first trip to the French Quarter, 4/1/13-4/5/13. We could not have been more pleased, the whole experience was great! Staff was super, room was very clean, and it was only steps to Bourbon Street. We went with the two story suite on the back side of the hotel to help eliminate street noise and provide us with some quiet time in the evenings. I would go back to this hotel anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was our 15th anniversary, and we could not have made a better choice. The hotel location, in my opinion, is the best in the French Quarter. It's very close to Jackson Square, the cathedral, historic buildings/museums, the market, St Louis #1, Louis Armstrong Park, and riverwalk to name a few. It's on the "less" crazy end of Bourbon Street so you still get the experience without being overwhelmed by it. We had a room on the 5th floor, and the balconies are smaller but more private because they arent connected (mind you none of them are completely private). Balconies on lower floors are only separated by railing which is the norm in the French Quarter. Our room overlooked Orleans Street which is on the lobby/entrance side of building. The cathedral is at the end of the street, and the statue in front casts a huge shadow on the building at night. The sight draws attention, and it was a blast to people watch from our balcony.

Room Tip: 5th floor balconies are smaller and not connected so they are a little more private. Most balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We loved the lobby - it is straight out of a novel. Gorgeous marble, rugs, and a piano. Tea, water, and coffee on a self service cart and the valet and bell hop were very friendly.

Check in was a breeze and while very very old, the hotel is in great shape. The hallways are clean and well kept. The room was incredibly bigger than I expected. Two double beds easily fit, with a lot of room between them and the other wall. There was a desk, huge closet, and nice furnishings. The beds were very comfy, linens soft, pillows plentiful. What we really loved was the modern bathroom. It was black marble with a very fun shower with two shower heads.

The location to Bourbon Street and Jackson Park were perfect. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sommerlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,012 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,910 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing