We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located right on Bourbon St, at the corner of Orleans, which is a GREAT jumping off point for all there is to see in this part of the city, and it's far enough down Bourbon that the vomiting frat boys are not quite as prevalent. The hotel itself is nicely appointed, though in need of some repairs. One of the elevators was broken, and our shower leaked terribly. The service was great, and the room quite nice, though our particular room only had a view of a brick wall. They say the hotel is haunted, but we saw nothing supernatural during our stay. I would certainly stay here again!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank prfssrpeacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,425 - 5,431 of 6,106 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Comfortable rooms, and right in the heart of all the action. Walking distance to everything. My husband and I had a great time. We stayed during the week and it saved us $$$, and we still had a fantastic time. Would stay here again in a second!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cannoli1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel previously (November 2012) and loved the hotel, especially the location (in the middle of the French Quarter). We were treated great upon check-in and had a balcony room on the 3rd floor in the corner. The room was very nice; however, even though we were not facing Bourbon, we still had a lot of road noise, etc. The room had french doors onto the balcony and they did not appear to be very insulated. Maybe a higher floor balcony would be more quiet? In any event, we asked to be moved to a courtyard room the second night and we ended up in a beautiful room overlooking the pool. We slept so much better the second night. Additionally, the staff went out of their way as to not inconvenience us; we left our bags with the bell man and the manager called when the new room was ready. We were also given extra free drink coupons for the Bourbon O Bar, part of the hotel. Our rooms came with breakfast and we had several choices. We went with the buffet each morning and it was wonderful. The waiters were very attentive and eager to make sure the experience was pleasant. We had a late flight out on Sunday so we left our bags with the bell man again; they always had a smile and greeted us by name. The only negative comment I have is that Sunday morning many people were checking out so the housekeeping staff congregated in the hall to clean rooms as people left. They had a tendency to talk and you could hear them on occasion. I have been to New Orleans in excess of 40 times (business, personal, weddings, parties, etc.) and this is by far the best hotel in the French Quarter as far as location, staff, amenities, and so forth. I am very picky about cleanliness, comfy beds, customer service, etc. and this hotel goes above and beyond. I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPAscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Its a truly beautiful hotel in a central location in the French Quarter. This hotel should be a 4 or 5 but unfortunately I only ranked it a 3 due to our reservations. I booked a room with a King Bed. I knew we wouldn't be in until 11 pm. I made the note when I booked the reservation, and then called the day before to remind them so they wouldn't give away the room. Sure enough. They gave away the room and placed us on the ground floor by the street which was the last room left. We had two double beds which was OK but not what we reserved. The first staff woman we worked with was very surly. It was clear they only had one room left when we arrived. The second staff person in the morning was lovely and easy to work with but there was not much she could do. Still she moved us to a nice room on the 6th floor. It is a lovely hotel, and the location can't be beat, but I only gave it 3 stars because I feel I was very clear about the room. If you can arrive earlier in the day then the hotel would be worth a 5.

Room Tip: Don't arrive late in the evening! We lost our room because we didn't arrive until 11 pm. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyson360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Okay I booked a standard queen room, but that does mean you should have no view and be located just two doors down from the banquet hall and freight elevator? I was awaken daily at 6am by the clanking of dishes and glasses and moving of tables and chairs by employees. Additonally, a wedding party was planned in the banquest hall just steps away from my room. The manager made little effort to move us for our last night so we had to endure a wedding party and then teardown until 1am! Hardly worth the $800 I dropped for three (3) nights at the Bourbon Orleans. PS - the food was average.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 374garyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Bourbon Orleans!! The staff was very friendly and always had a smile. The hotel was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do. Will definitely stay again. Thank you for making our trip such a joy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

After poring over countless hotels, weekly rentals, amenities, etc, we decided on the Bourbon Orleans Hotel because of it's price and location, but also because of the excellent reviews. We were NOT disappointed. From the second we pulled up, the concierge greeted us with a friendliness that is so lacking these days! Throughout our trip, Derrick also became our "go-to" guy for the best restaurants and bars. We couldn't have been happier with our welcome!
We stayed in room 449 - an awesome two story loft that had just the right amount of character and modern amenities. It was totally quiet unless someone was talking right outside of our room. My ONLY regret is that the weather wasn't nice enough to enjoy the courtyard pool - it looked completely relaxing! This hotel is also situated off Bourbon Street, but only a half block from the intersection... again the perfect location.
All in all, awesome hotel, awesome staff, awesome trip and we can't WAIT to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,238 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,251 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $176 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing