We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Bourbon Orleans right after Katrina. When I learned it was one of the hotels for the conference I was attending in 2013 I immediately called to make my reservation. The location is great, the staff exceptional, and the rooms comfortable. I've stayed in hotels all over the country and the Bourbon Orleans has great character. One other plus is that it is right across the street from the Grapevine, a wine bar and resaurant with amazing food and a fabulous staff. And of course the food at the hotel is tasty, too. If I have the good fortune to return to New Orleans, I will stay at the Bourbon Orleans.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReaderKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,604 - 5,610 of 6,272 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just returned from a business/personal couples weekend with friends. I had stayed in another hotel a few months past and it was off Bourbon closer to Canal street. While we loved our stay there- this hotel is by far the better choice. The location could not be more perfect, close to almost everything you would want to see or do in the French Quarter. Some of our party have walking difficulties and this location puts you close enough that you can see and do almost everything without a lot of extra walking.
Our room was very large, the bed very comfortable. The room was clean and well appointed, the cleaning service attentive. The staff were all wonderful- and after a few days we felt the doormen in particular knew us and anticipated our needs.
What surprised us was how quiet the hotel was at night. Standing between popular Bourbon street and Jackson Square I expected to have trouble sleeping. Our room did face the inner pool though our friends were directly on Bourbon street and they had no problems with noise at night either.
We did eat a couple breakfasts at the hotel- there was plenty to choose from and the prices were not horrible. You can, however, get a much more reasonable breakfast if you're willing to walk just a couple blocks to the Coffee Pot or our one of our other favorites: Mena's Cafe or Cafe Begniet.
For dinner we did visit a couple higher end restaurants but if you are in the mood for one of the best burgers you can get in New Orleans at the best price imaginable- hop one street over to St. Peter's and stop in at Yo Mama's.

Room Tip: We found the inside rooms (facing the poor courtyard) to be quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyoming_traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

perfect location... within walking distance to everything in the french quarter. Booked an exterior balcony facing st. ann. the views were awesome... the noise from the bars underneath was LOUD... into 2,3, o clock in the morning. maybe a room facing orleans or the pool may have been less noisy?... but the views were awesome, definatly get a balcony. staff's lack of knowledge on restaurants and sites = worthess advise. i never saw consierge present. i would rely on own research if your looking for a great restaurant. go to "revolution" execellent!. don't go to deanie's as the staff recommended...it's basically a red lobster. if your visiting plantations go in this order: nottoway (furthest), oak alley and then to houmas house which closes at 7pm on wednesday. if on another day, i suggest only 2... oak alley and houmas house. parking is only valet parking $35 per day. beware that it can take 45m - hour to get car! awesome location...enjoy!

Room Tip: get balcony... be aware that it's noisy if your facing st ann
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just got back from a girls' weekend at the Bourbon Orleans. We arrived late evening on Friday night and were greeted by a very friendly front desk. Check in was quick and smooth and were directed to use the service elevator since it was closes to our room. Elevator was closer but a bit yucky since it's the service elevator. The room was lovely; beautifully decorated with very comfy beds and a view of the pool. Note that the room has a safe and an Ipod dock (yay!) but just a small wardrobe instead of a closet (not a problem for us). We must have been given the handicap accessible room because the shower was outfitted for handicap accessibility and a roll-in shower (which is great, but every time we took a shower, the whole bathroom floor got wet). We had plenty of towels and were given even more amenities (soap, shower gel, mouth wash, etc) the next day and the vanity was large enough to accommodate all the accoutrements that a girls' weekend requires. You can't hear any noise from the street since the room faced the quiet pool area, however the walls are a bit thin and we had a noisy group staying on our floor. We could hear every discussion and question they had... they might as well have been sitting on my bed. This isn't necessarily the hotel's problem that people aren't considerate, but a bit more sound proofing would have been awesome! Although clean, I noticed that if you looked a little closer, you could tell that the last housekeeper wasn't as detailed oriented as I would have liked since I found discarded tags under the lamp and hair in the shower under the shower seat. We were given 2 tickets for a complimentary drinks at their bar but the bar was never open- we went by at least twice a day. On one morning I ordered coffee from room service. After 45 minutes I called back when I still hadn't gotten my pot of coffee. Immediately following my second call the coffee was delivered and we were not charged for it. The complimentary bottled water was fantastic! We saw several tours stop out front of the hotel which I thought was very cool to be staying in such a historical property. The location is fantastic- close enough to FQ adventures but on a safe and quieter side street right behind the Cathedral. Perfect location! the Bellhops are super friendly and the front desk helped with dinner reservations (without being asked to). The lobby is beautiful and comfortable, there's always a doorman at the door and an ATM in the lobby. All in all, a great stay and I would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D.C.Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stopped in to have a few drinks and watch a basketball game at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel Bar. The whole experience was very enjoyable, it was a nice bar and wasn't very crowded. The service we received from the bartender-Bill Shupe-was Outstanding! Would absolutely go back if I ever go back to New Orleans and has made us consider staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank suzimac65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans hotel from Tues to Sat. The hotel is amazing. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the heart of everything. It is right on Bourbon Street where all the action is for the bars and bands and only a few blocks away from Jackson Square and the market.
We had a King room facing the pool. This made our room very quiet. We did not hear anything going on outside. Our room was really big and our bed was Extremely comfortable.
I have a severe shell fish allergy and the concierge was extremely helpful in finding me restaurants to eat at while I was there.
I would recommend that people stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the pool. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our experience at bourbon orleans hotel was one of a kind. This was our first time to new orleans so we did not know what to expect. The location was the best as it is located between bourbon and royal street in the center of the french quarter.

We booked our hotel before finding out that this hotel is considered to be one of the most haunted hotel in new orleans. We had read that the 3rd and 6th floor were the "haunted" floors. We specifically requested the 5th floor because we were not in the business of being ghost busters. We just wanted to party it up during st patricks day and not be cuddle up with little children at night as the story goes. Maybe it was the booze but we do not have a ghost story. We chose a room facing the pool to avoid the loud noise from the street. We were not disappointed.

I was most impressed with the hospitality of the hotel staff heck most of new orleans locals are just down right nice, too nice for three girls from los angeles. We were welcomed to hotel with a complimentary drink, we had an Abita beer. Just so you know it was not all good, my friend had a negative experience as her luggage was brought up to the room with a broken handle. However, the hotel manager responded and helped my friend resolve the situation. We could not have picked a better hotel in new orleans.

Room Tip: Dare to stay in the 3rd or 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,871 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,287 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $167 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing