We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Time Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best Time Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My significant other had never been to New Orleans & I was really nervous about overwhelming him with a balcony suite on Bourbon St., but thanks to this great hotel, not only is he a big fan of N.O., but after 12 yrs. we're engaged. I apologize I've lost my notes & can't give specific names. When we pulled up, they took our luggage & our car. All we had to do was walk into one of the most beautiful lobbies. Check-in was a breeze, the pool area inviting, & our suite was awesome. As I suspected, he thought I was crazy & the whole thing was awful. Fortunately by the next morning, I could barely get him off the balcony & we had a ball going out at night. Breakfast was only made better by the gentlemen that served them (1/22 & 1/23). He is still talking about the great breakfast. I had a discusssion with the manager who will provide us with next year's mardi gras schedule so we can make our reservation right away. The gentlemen at the door were helpful & accurate with their information. Can't say enough about the gentleman who helped us checkout the morning of 1/23. The DiSylvestros will be back again & again. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,604
    1,051
    233
    58
    37
See reviews for
759
1,729
114
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with a nice view of the pool. You couldn't ask for a better location! Just close enough to be in the action but far enough away you didn't hear it.

Cons: The maintenance personnel are not called after hours for a/c issues. The bar downstairs is dark and a little creepy.

We would highly recommend this hotel. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JnJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great hotel. Staff was very efficient & courteous. The breakfast was absolutely the best and the prices were very reasonable. The location of the hotel is close to everything so visiting all the night spots & attractions was easy. We will stay there again & recommend the Bourbon Orleans to anyone visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the BEST place to stay if the French Quarter figures highly in your visit. The staff and accomodations are excellent, the location can't be beat. You are steps away from Jackson Square, right on Burbon Street and Royal Street...central to all the action. It is the only place I'd consider when in NO. EZ walk to cable cars for access to other parts of town as well.
This is my fourth stay here and other places pale to this one.

I would also like to compliment the staff particulary for their friendliness and willingness to please. Shane in the bar was considerate enough to offer his laptop so I could check my emails quickly and the desk clerk helped me set my iPhone so I could use the wi-fi. Everyone was most accomodating.

Room Tip: The single queen room was small but pleasant and worked for our purposes. If I planned more time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The Bourbon Orleans Hotel is where we ended up after Le Marais sold the room I prepaid for two months before my arrival to New Orleans. While not exactly comparable to Le Marais, the Bourbon Orleans is nicely situated near Jackson Park.

The hotel is old New Orleans but the rooms have been updated with large LG flat screen tv's and contemporary bathrooms. Our room was on the first floor by the courtyard pool. It was very quiet and the courtyard is lovely. While it was not the hotel that I booked, the Bourbon Orleans was a comfortable alternative and I would definitely avoid Le Marais Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bluffs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a board meeting at another downtown hotel. We love the french quarter because of its' architecture and uniqueness and this hotel does not disappoint. Be sure to bring a sound machine because of the late night revelers on Bourbon Street, but other than that, our stay was perfect. Great location. Great Staff. Loved it and will be back. Heated pool but didnt' have our bathing suits. Darn. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluffsresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was my fourth visit to the B-O. The rooms are simple but very comfortable especially the beds. As can happen anywhere at ant time, excrement occurs. The cable broke in one of the two elevators during my stay but the staff opened the staff elevator up for use. It turned out to be a very minor inconvenience.
I am not one who generally believes in Ghosts but the 6th floor (where my room was) allegedly is inhabited my a couple Ghost Nuns. Having some quiet time in my room the toilet flushed. It did it again later. Also when i approached the elevator on the sixth floor, I never had to push the button to summon the elevator.
If you are looking for peace and quiet, you need to be on an upper floor. It is Bourbon St. after all.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
I hope to stay there again, next year.

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMT431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,752 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,159 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,460 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,485 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing