We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Located in the center of the French Quarter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Located in the center of the French Quarter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

First of all, the location couldn't be better. The valet and door staff are excellent. The front desk staff were likewise very good. They helped in the selection of one of the swamp tours and the selection was perfect.

You are right in the center of the French Quarter and shopping as well as Bourbon Street are just out the door.

The room we had was well appointed. If there is any problem it is with getting the room properly cleaned and the bed sheets properly fitted to the bed.

There is free internet which is always appreciated.

We did not eat at the restaurant so I can have no comment on that aspect of the hotel

When we come to New Orleans again, I would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,345
    1,309
    292
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,000
2,191
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The Bourbon Orleans is a fantastic hotel. The location is perfect. When we arrived we were greeted by Louis the bell hop manager. He was great. Gave us great suggestions for places to go and eat. The front desk was personable, we arrived early and was able to store our luggage and they called us when our room was ready. The rooms are gorgeous. We were upgraded to a loft ( no balcony) and it was perfect! The walls are thin so you will hear people in the hallway but that did not bother us or take away from our experience. Again, a great place to stay in the French Quarter!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B-and-D13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just returned from 10 days in New Orleans for Mardi Gras 2013. I can not say enough about the Bourbon Orleans. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. We required a room move, at the hotels request due to a leak in our bathroom, and they were more than apologetic and helpful in getting us relocated quickly and with little disruption to our vacation. The location is prime for any French Quarter experience, one block off Bourbon, one block off Royal and just behind the cathedral. Its a very easy walk to Canal Street for the parades.The rooms facing the pool were amazingly quiet with all of the chaos of Bourbon Street just steps away. The security for the weekend before Mardi Gras until Fat Tuesday was superior, wrist bands were issued and checked upon every return to the hotel. Our first room, a queen, was small, but fine for two of us, with a balcony facing the pool and very quiet considering the ballroom and service for the Bourbon Street private rental balcony rooms was being done up and down our hall. Our second room, a king, was very large and spacious. Without a doubt, we would only stay at the Bourbon Orleans when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool were quiet. Queens were small but fine for two. Kings were very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cskr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our visit to Mardi Gras in February of 2012. Although a bit expensive for a two bed room with balcony facing one of the side streets it was a last minute thing and the fact that walking out the door is bourbon st we took at shot at it. The hotel was very antique and nice. Room was nice and comfortable. No complaints about the hotel itself. We did have one night when we got back to the room around 5am and the fire alarms went off for almost an hour making us leave our room and didn't get hardly any sleep. The hotel Manager made it up to us by reimbursing our breakfast from another hotel but, after getting this I heard other customers complain and get their money back kind of shady but, I blame myself for not fighting for more. We didn't experience any ghosts which you can say was a good thing but, while walking down the hall near the ballroom around 4am we heard what sounded like someone in boots marching behind us. Not sure if it was a ghost but we all heard it. Great location, great hotel, bit pricy but that's Mardi Gras.

Room Tip: Rent early and get a room facing Bourbon St it wasn't really worth a balcony room facing the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Generro_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This gorgeous, historic hotel is snuggled on a little side street that is literally steps from the craziness of the main area of Bourbon street and yet feels half a city away. Warm gaslamps line the entrance and the lobby welcomes visitors with an ornate yet homey feel. The rooms are very spacious, especially given the excellent location, and all of the amenities are new and fully functional. As many have mentioned, the staff at Bourbon Orleans really top off the great experience - they were incredibly accommodating, even helping me with a travel issue by sending a few faxes on my behalf (most of the larger chains would have sent me straight to the business center to pay $5 per page I'm sure!). Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeni221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is great. I stayed here during the 2013 Super Bowl and it was great. The Service always on point and very helpful. I was assigned the task of collecting signatures for my bosses daughters class. I headed down to the concierge and a gentleman by name of Shane. He included a message for the kids of my bosses daughters class.. on the way back to my room I bumped into Tracy Morgan and got him to sign the book as well. Great place even better service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garciaem25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Bourbon Orleans is located in the heart of everything the French Quarter has to offer. Between Bourbon and Royal and behind Jackson Square. Steps away from the charming shops, art galleries and restaurant on Royal and music and endless bars on Bourbon. Best of both worlds. Stroll through the bar and music scene on Bourbon and escape to solace on Royal. Walk 2 minutes to Jackson Square lined with street artists and the famous Cafe Dumond for pipping hot beignets moulded with powder sugar. Pat O'Briens and Preservation Hall are around the corner along with many legendary places.

Even though Bourbon Orleans is in the midst of everything rooms are extremely quiet! Pleasantly surprised. If you want to enjoy the scene on Bourbon Street, opt for the upgraded balcony room overlooking the action. There are less desirable streets on Bourbon and these balconies do not look over this section.

Rooms are newly renovated, with large showers, extremely comfortable beds and pillows, large LCD TVs and free wi-fi. The staff is just wonderful. Their pleasant personalities are a testament to a good working environment.....in hotels that translates to happy guests.

I would highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans and look forward to visiting again soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDylanSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,826 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing