We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in the Big Easy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I chose the Bourbon Orleans because we were looking for a hotel in close proximity to a vacation rental our friends were in for the weekend.
Here are the highlights:
1) Beautiful entry and lobby.
2) Clean room with updated bathroom.
3) Friendly and professional staff.
4) GREAT location! I can't stress this enough...GREAT LOCATION. especially if you want to be in the heart of Bourbon St. (When I'm out drinking I often have to take potty breaks and it was so convenient to walk back to the hotel. Maybe TMI but I think some of you reading this might appreciate the situation.)
5) At the Bourbon Orleans, you're right in front of the beautiful Cathedral St. Louis, 1 block from Jackson Square where you can find great local artists hard at work, and just 2 blocks from Café du Monde. My husband and I walked all around the French Quarter and it was so lovely. Great food, great art, great street performers.
6) VERY comfy bed.
7) We were right around the corner from the Krewe du Vieux parade route. What a great experience (for the adult traveler).
The reasons why I gave 4 stars instead of 5
1) Our room was, in my opinion, tiny. My husband and I would have to get out of each others way just to walk from one side of the room to the other SERIOUSLY and, no, we are not big people.
2) We stayed on the second floor and our windows faced a wall. It was great at night because we couldn't hear street noise but at about 7 am were awakened by staff talking and moving about.
3) No mini-frig or microwave.
4) I was unable to connect to their WiFi and the broadband cable in our room didn't work, either.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and if we had to stay in a hotel (vs a vacation rental) we would definitely stay at the Bourbon Orleans, again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livin_Lovin_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,703 - 5,709 of 6,278 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first stay at the Bourbon Orleans, and we would stay again. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted warmly and served with efficiency and professionalism. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were impressed the moment we entered the beautifully decorated and pleasantly scented lobby. The hotel posseses an air of elegance though also warm an inviting. We surprised by the modern, spacious black-marbled bathroom with trendy walk-in shower in our room. The room was spacious, clean and elegant. We purchased the Bed and Breakfast package and enjoyed a full, made-to-order breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Only one elevator is working, but that never presented a problem for us. I am a bit claustrophobic in elevators anyway and took the stairs when possible. We did not have to wait due to a full elevator. My only complaint is that our room was a little too warm at times for our comfort. I believe it was due to the outside temperatures, and we did not complain to the staff.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our quiet courtyard-view room. In the winter, it is a good, sunny place to sit outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is my 4th time staying at this Hotel. It is older and in good condition (except for the elevator) We had a double bed w/balcony room overlooking Orleans St. near corner of Bourbon St. so there was a lot of noise and activity at night. (expected) Room was spacious and clean. Be aware -No mini fridge or Microwaves in any rooms and just a shower/no tub. (Will bring up a fridge if available but at an extra cost ) No dresser. Few small drawers under TV.
No table in room had to use desk and small mini bar area to eat at. The beds were soooo comfortable and the bedding was EXCELLENT. A warm fluffy white comforter acts as the bedspread over clean, soft blankets. Lots of pillows. Wish I had this bed at home.
Pass on the food unless it's for convenience. It was always just "okay" and way over-priced for the value. Room service did however deliver very fast and were very friendly. Fast and free WiFi . Recommend .....Stay here.....if you can afford it!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms facing the street are great but will be noisy and more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skip5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is been our "home" every time we stay in New Orleans!!! The rooms are awesome and very clean. The staff remembers us from year to year!!! The location is PERFECT...right on Bourbon Street and right in the heart of it all!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Even though those are not available on Bourbon St., they allow you an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callmesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a loft room with balcony facing Orleans St., so it was loud at night - earplugs required. For quieter times, get a room facing the courtyard. Aside from that, everything was pretty great. The hotel restuarant is great for breakfast, and although a little expensive, it was quick and delicious, good quality food and we enjoyed our daily chats with our waiter, Tim. He became part of the fabric of our trip and we looked forward to seeing him each day. Great guy. All the staff of this hotel are excellent. The doormen are friendly and useful, front desk great. Another excellent resource the hotel provides is their concierge, Ron. He is super friendly, extremely informative and will book all your reservations for tours, restaurants, etc. I've never been somewhere where the concierge was so useful and really tells you what is good and what isn't, unlike many who will just send you wherever.
The lobby is very pleasant and comfortable -- this is a historic building and it shows (in a good way). The rooms are clean and comfortable, beds are comfortable, big screen tiv's. The location is perfect - you won't need to cab it anywhere except back to the airport.

Room Tip: poolside rooms quieter, bring earplugs if you have a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is extremely clean and the guest rooms are very quiet. We upgraded to the bed and breakfast package and the breakfasts were very good. The only drawback from our stay was there are only 2 very small guest elevators. One was down for our entire stay and the maids spent a fair portion of the mornings using the one remaining elevator. That being said we will defiantely be staying here next time we are visiting the French Quarter. The staff was excellent and though expensive, the valet parking can't be beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in 529 which is far away from the elevator and very quiet EXCEPT it's right across fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband I loved the Bourbon Orleans the minute we walked in the door! Super helpful staff and a beautiful building greet you. And you can't beat the location!!!!!! Our room had a King bed and lots of space. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean. The only downside was our view that overlooked the courtyard pool. This wouldn't have been so bad if the shutters over our windows closed properly to keep the pool lights out. The pool lights remained on all night long and shone right into our room making it virtually impossible to sleep. But, we loved the hotel so much that we would definitely stay there again and just request a room that didn't overlook the pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that doesn't overlook the pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,322 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,876 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,294 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $166 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing