We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You are paying to be in the French Quarter--but its worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You are paying to be in the French Quarter--but its worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have not returned to New Orleans since Katrina-but pleasantly surprised at all the reconstruction in most areas. The Quarter seems not to have been affected much and quickly recovered. Remeber this is The Big Easy so pace oneself!
As for the hotel, the location could noy be more perfect!. The rooms are small, adequate amenities, clean. Not much more to say--you don't spend much time in the room in NO.
One problem-noise-why is it that people have to fight at 3 am, them crying kids at 8am. The crying kids was an issue: I sound really horrible but all of us have cried as children-however this hotel has thin walls so take notice! And no one does not call and complain about children---with that said I would go back--if one is single or w/o family ask for a room w/minimal noise ( remember my room eas on an inside corridor) but the internal noise was the problem--can't speak about Bourbon st. itself
So in summary--good hotel, in my opinion expensive for amenities but one seems to be paying for Location and to me in New Orleans that is more important. Note other people complained about the front desk--I thought they did a good job, NO complaints on that issue from me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,459
    1,018
    227
    54
    34
See reviews for
698
1,654
106
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I checked in on 30 December and stayed through New Years. There is no better location to stay and still be in the heart of EVERYTHING. The main NYE stage was on the river, which was a short walk past St Louis cathedral. The center of Bourbon is less than 100 yards from the front door of the hotel. One huge advantage to staying here is the proximity to Bourbon without being affected buy it. New Years and the bowl game brought thousands to Bourbon and the party never stopped. You don't miss a wink of sleep being bothered by the sounds.

The staff was extremely friendly as always.

I booked a standard King room and was pleasantly surprised when I opened my door to what I considered a suite. A huge king 4 poster bed, the biggest bathroom I've ever seen complete with two sinks, a two person jacuzzi tub and a separate shower.

I will mention there was no fridge in the room but ice was available just down the hall.

I valet parked my car with the hotel. It was $37 per day and required (according to the valet) at least 45 minutes advance notice to get my car. I was told the vehicles were not parked on site but several miles away. I didn't drive during my stay. The morning I checked out, I called down an hour before I needed my car. It wasn't ready when I came down and it took another 44 minutes for them to bring it around. I was not happy with this. That was the only hiccup in an otherwise exceptional stay.

I will not stay anywhere else when I'm in New Orleans though.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is by-and-far the best location in the heart of the French Quarter. The hotel is beautiful and quickly will get you into the "spirits" of the area. We arrived a little early, but there was no problem checking bags (Thanks, Caleb) and promptly received a call when our room was ready. Bellmen, concierge, and front desk were very friendly.
I would suggest getting the king size bed, we stayed in the AAA rate room which was $10 less, but a little cramped. We also had an issue when I added a night's stay on-line. My rate went up about $50/night for the first two nights. It took about 3 weeks and several phone calls to clear this up. My friends just called them about an hour after checkout and told the front desk they were staying. No problem.
The staff definitely made the stay wonderful. I would recommend this hotel and look forward to returning here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fffrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for 3 nights for the Sugar Bowl. While the location was fantastic and the beds incredibly comfortable, the property left me flat. There were virtually no amenities. The hotel did not have a gift shop and the only place to get coffee in the morning was the restaurant. Also, the hotel did not have a full time concierge or a bar inside the hotel itself. A bar on Bourbon Street doubled as the "hotel bar". There were no vending machines on our floor either. Some of the Bellman at the entrance were very friendly while others didn't even acknowledge your presence. In my opinion, if it weren't for the great location this would be a 3 star property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the time we arrived we were very impressed by the hotel location and the layout. The check in process was very smooth and we checked in around 12pm. The room was fantastic and the staff were very professional and helpful throughout the stay. The location of the hotel could not have been any better, just off Bourbon Street and only a block from Jackson Square.

If we come back to New Orleans again we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: We got a double room on the ground floor due to availability over New Years. Would have liked a King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for four nights, just after Christmas. The staff was wonderful, room was exceptional and very clean!! Had tons of charm but updated in every way, which was what we were going for. Loved the large closet and the room was plenty big to move around in. We had a room on the backside of the hotel, facing a street. It was a bit loud as the noise carried over from Bourbon street. It didn't keep me up though. A room facing the courtyard might have fixed this issue. GREAT location, close to Jackson square. It was close to everything we wanted to do and places we wanted to eat. Without a doubt, will return here for my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. If not available, don't let it be a dealbreaker. The noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica4272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in the Bourbon Orleans and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, locsation was convenient, and the overall experience wonderful. I have stayed in many hotels in the French Quarter and would highly recommend this one. It's on the quiet end of Bourbon Street so it's a quick escape from the madness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,691 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#23 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,386 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,426 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing