We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bourbon Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Marksville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My friends and I stayed here recently while in town for a concert. I visit New Orleans often, and usually stay on or near Bourbon Street when it is a "girl getaway". I booked this hotel only because the one I usually choose to stay at was booked. The Bourbon Orleans was cheaper for it's location which made me a little skeptical! Much to my surprise, this hotel surpassed my expectations! It is beautiful, historic, and offers the hospitality that you expect when in New Orleans!!! All of the employees we encountered were so warm and friendly, especially Derek, the bellman and Alex at the front desk. We were upgraded to a suite with a balcony overlooking Bourbon St.!!! Check out was effortless, and the vallet team was always available and offered service with a smile!!! My only problem was a $50 pending charge on my debit card which I wasn't aware of. I left a message with one of the managers, Scott Campbell, and he promply returned my call and informed me this was standard procedure when booking through another company such as Expedia. I wll most definitely stay here again, and I will recommend the Bourbon Orleans Hotel to my friends!

Room Tip: Bourbon Street balconies are on the farther end of Bourbon, so not too crowded and noisey down below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,431
    1,008
    225
    54
    33
See reviews for
692
1,637
104
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location is perfect, staff was friendly and helpful, and the room quality was amazing! Worth the splurge if you're looking for a nice time in downtown New Orleans. The shower was huge and open, which was interesting and different.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdr5448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We get to NOLA a few times a year and have stayed in lots of different places. The Bourbon Orleans was one of the better places. It's right off bourbon street but quiet. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean. Only down side was it appears to be the spot for wedding receptions and our room was near the ballroom. Lots of clanging and talking during the cleanup late at night then again early the next morning for Santa brunch. All in all, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikebuilt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it! Perfect location, very clean and they had an awesome front desk/doormen! The only reason I didn't give the hotel an "excellent" rating was because of the shower. The shower area is pretty open and the water just got all over the bathroom. Weird quirk, I know.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The traditional queen room is kind of small, perfect for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Perfect location. Courteous staff. Very clean. Surprised rooms didn't have refrigerators or microwaves. Bed was not comfortable to me, but I'm picky. And I think my room was on a side where there was early morning trash pickup. But I don't really feel I can book a room that deep in the Quarter and complain about a little noise. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want to be in the middle of all activity in the French Quarter, this is the place to stay! You will be within walking distance of all of the important, don't miss attractions and have plenty of help from the staff getting you to other areas of interest as well. The bell staff is outstanding, friendly, fun and helpful. Unfortunately, the breakfast buffet is slightly overpriced and the Eggs Benedict toast was hard and inedible. I will say that the table service is impeccable though and we might give it another chance. Be sure to ask for courtyard room unless you want to sleep with earplugs but if you want to see Bourbon Street in full swing, go for the balcony room! Everyone should try it once and we did!!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter I understand. Go for the balcony for a party time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiGalveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is an exceptional hotel in an exceptional location, and an exceptional value. Large, comfortable rooms, well maintained, and architecturally authentic to the New Orleans heritage. Located in the center of the French Quarter, ALL points of interest in the Quarter are within walking distance. Now, our hotel of choice when vacationing in The Big Easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHARLES G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,674 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,051 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,368 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,418 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing