We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the action is!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Patriot, Ohio
1 review
“Where the action is!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This makes the second time I've stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel and I love it!! Had a balcony room and loved to watch all the action going when I wasn't part of it! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone that didn't mind a little noise late at night and wanted to be "in the middle of it all".

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,802
    1,434
    317
    93
    52
See reviews for
1,161
2,439
177
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I just stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for my wedding reception in November 2012 and had roughly 10-15 rooms per night of my close family and friends. We are all in total agreement that the hotel was amazing. The accomodations were wonderful and every staff person couldn't have been nicer. The valet - superb. I don't think I ever opened the front door on my own - the doorman was always there and greeting me with a smile. Check in was easy and the sales staff that put the block together was always available via email the same day. I didn't dine in the hotel but many of my guests did and they loved it.

The haunted stories behind the hotel were facscinating and Joe the engineer even saw a ghost on my floor just moments before I was in that same elevator. Awesome!Thanks again for a great stay and an amazing location for our French Quarter Wedding weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromkc2fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We didn't have a lot of choices of where to stay because I waited too long to make reservations for Thanksgiving week, and I paid a little more than I planned. Very nice hotel with attractive, comfortable rooms, GREAT BEDS! Professional, friendly, helpful staff. Don't be afraid of the Bourbon Street address - the entrance is actually on Orleans Street: much quieter. I really liked the location. All of the French Quarter is within reasonable walking distance.
The hotel is a funny shape, so that from the elevator there is one short hallway and one a mile long! (Not really, but it seemed like it.) We were right by the elevator but the ice machine was a hike!
A few criticisms: (a) There was no Guest Services person on the Wednesday and Thursday of Thanksgiving Week, which I thought was a bit lame. They only have one GS person who works 8 to 4 and was taking some time off. The front-desk people and valet/doormen were helpful and fairly knowledgeable, but for a hotel like this not to have a Guest Services person or Concierge on property was surprising. (b) The bathroom had no tub, only a large shower, but it didn't close! No door, no curtain, just open. And they have the shower head fixed so it only moves side to side, not up and back, in order that the water doesn't flood the bathroom floor. But you have to get under the shower head against the wall to get wet, so the roomy stall is mostly wasted space. Strange design choice. (c) The TV had limited free TV but lots of pay-per-view movies in the $15 to $20 range. No Weather Channel or most of the "standard cable" stations you get in most hotels. Showtime but no HBO. ION. A Japanese news station. Only about 20 channels all together. (d) The air conditioner worked great, except it got cold the last day we were there, but nobody switched over to heat, so no matter how you set the thermostat, you got only cool air. (I asked about this when we checked out and this was the explanation I got from the front desk clerk.) Holiday weekend, I guess. I didn't mind too much, but my sister froze. (e) When the lobby restaurant was open (breakfast only, except they served Thanksgiving dinner), they had coffee set up right by the entrance. I wasn't dining, but I was passing through and thought, "oh, nice, coffee for the guests." Nope. Two bucks. At these prices, you'd think they'd comp the coffee. Oh, well.

Room Tip: The rooms are different sizes and shapes, so ask for what you want. The Reservations people at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeker277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice hotel, no card to request room make up for door handle, only a double sided privacy notice on all our groups doors, left at 10:30am and back at 03:30pm and room was was still not touched.

A little disappointed with This.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMitchell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. We had an outside room so it was louder than expected. It was fun to open the shutters and watch the numerous parades as they went down the street. The room was nice and large, and the bathroom was modern. The restaurant was good and served good Southern food. We visited the ballroom, which is supposed to be haunted. It was beautiful. The bell men were very friendly and helpful. It was a great location and accessible to most everything. I would absolutely stay here again, but next time I will request an interior room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicsoul818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were putting together a friends reunion trip to coincide with a conference prior, and our travel agent suggested Bourbon Orleans (a special rate was being offered) - he strongly recommended it, especially after all of the dead-ends I'd experienced trying to book a quality hotel near the French Quarter for our group of 16.
It turned out to be the best advise of the weekend - from the time the doorman greets you when you get out of the car to the time the smiling desk clerk gives your receipt on the way home it is a wonderful experience! The location is absolutely perfect for walking around the Quarter, down to the Market and over to Frenchman Street. The restored hotel is a wonderful property, with all the modern amenities you expect, and for a very reasonable price! Free drink tickets at the bar, great room service, a nice heated pool, comfortable lobby and an excellent on-property restaurant combine to make this a real deal right off Bourbon Street. Some of our group ended up in pretty small standard rooms, but the manager upgraded us to a two-floor suite with a huge balcony, so it worked out great as a gathering spot. If you're looking for a nice property with a very convenient location and a friendly, knowledgable staff, look no further.

Room Tip: Ask the manager Chris if there are any upgrades available - it stays pretty full but he was very acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice enough staff, enjoyed the drink coupons. It is located in a great place, so close to bourbon but very quiet. The only think that irked me was something that happened after we left. My fiancee was in charge of checking the room for any items left behind one last time before we checked out. Somehow he managed to leave his glasses in their case on the bathroom counter. We called from the airport to ask if the room had been cleaned and if they were found. The staff that answered the phone was very hard to understand. It was very frustrating to try and get through red tape to find them. After assuring me they would check and call/email me with the results of the search, they never did. I called back the next day and they had still not been found. Overall, it was not that big of a deal, but now my fiancee is wearing his old glasses, and he looks like Benjamin Franklin... We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were disappointing to be given a room on the 1st floor, thought it would be noisy... it was absol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyTexas85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,101 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,307 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing