We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of the review or rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the review or rating”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is not worthy of a Luxury rated hotel. I have stayed in hostels in Europe that are nicer than this hotel. The facility is dated and shows a lot of wear. The walls are paper thin, we listened to the guests on each side of our room snoring, coughing and gagging. The first morning as we were getting ready for the day, we heard people arguing and having a very talkative conversation. It sounded as if it were the maid service outside our door only to find it was coming from a room across the hall and five doors down. We attempted to have lunch at around 12:20 one afternoon only to be turned away because the restaurant was reserved for a private party and offered no other food options. The Hotel lobby bar was never open the entire time we were staying at the hotel. The shower head sprays straight down 6 inches from the shower wall, is not adjustable and the soap basket mounted to the wall is right under the shower head making it impossible to get under the water and rinse. The hotel location is convenient to everything and the bellman was extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgable. The priced paid verses the value recieved were at opposite ends of the spectrum. For what is is worth I spend over 100 night a year traveling and in hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,570
    1,375
    306
    88
    49
See reviews for
1,071
2,320
159
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Room was small but comfortable. As the hotel is well located in the heart of the French Quarter and ½ block from “the party crowd” on Bourbon St, we were pleasantly surprised that the room was quiet. It certainly met our needs during a three day pleasure trip to New Orleans. We did not use any of the hotel amenities but did go to the adjacent (and connected?) bar. The front desk staff appeared to be earnest in their desire to provide assistance. Overall, we would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMF_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey Shore
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very helpful, courteous and friendly staff greet you at the door and throughout the hotel. We had a queen bed room overlooking the pool and the accommodations were very nice. The room was a bit small, but this did not cause any issues for my wife and me. We had breakfast in the hotel dining room which was very well prepared and presented, but a bit pricey. There is a $32/day parking charge so rent a car after your stay and/or use the local transportation. Overall no complaints and we will stay at the Bourbon Orleans on a return trip.

Room Tip: If you expect to have someone visit your room for drinks, etc. I’d opt for one of the larger rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixelMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Being a local New Orleanian, I chose the hotel for our group for it's beauty, perfect renovation to a historic building and the unbeatable location steps away from Pirates Alley & Jackson Square. I lucked out when I discovered that the Sales Mgr, Deepah, took my hostess-mission personally and made me & all of my colleagues booked at the hotel feel like we were royalty. SHe handled so many details for me that I was able to enjoy all my guests and the event. I stayed the 3 days with them there & I truly did not want to leave! My King room was quiet & lovely on the Orleans St side of the hotel. The bedding was high end- as were the soft generous towels. The rooms were fresh & spotless. Every staff member acted as if they were so happy to work there, they jumped when we needed anyting at all. The valet staff was quick to warn anyone of the time factors of parking their car- that it sometimes takes 1/2 hour to retrieve, but they somehow managed to remember names & car makes & models to keep track! I don't see why anyone would rent a car in this area (especially to park @$32 per night). The finest restaurants, shopping and things to do are in walking distance. Cab fares are cheap enough because nothing is really very far away and I think in this case would be a savings over the whole rental thing. It was sweet to have a few drink passes to their bar that opens onto Bourbon street, it's a great place to gather around the piano & watch Bourbon street pass you by. I love this hotel and it's attentive staff so much, we are going to be regulars for a mini vacation whenever we want to feel spoiled! You can't miss with this one!

Room Tip: My King rm on the Orleans Street side was quiet. ( the rms with 2 double beds are on the small side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is lovely. The staff is great. It has on site breakfast and an onsite bar. It is right in the heart of the French Quarter. You can walk everywhere or take the trolley. It has a nice pool / courtyard area. I only gave it four stars because of the noise factor. I could hear people arguing in the next room. I could hear everyone walk and talk as they were going down the hall. Some travelers would absolutely love the excitement of being right on Bourbon Street. You can go out on your balcony and watch it all. I will ask for an upper floor courtyard room next time. They seem to be the most quiet for the people that need some sleep. You will have a great experience staying at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snazz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the Bourbon Orleans from October 5 -8 and I had room 444.
I so wanted to give this hotel a glowing review for the following reasons. It’s beautiful. The lobby welcomes you with plush luxurious surrounding, antiques and a wonderful floral sent. It’s just far enough off of Bourbon street that you aren't part of the madness but only steps from the action. The room was very comfortable, attractive and immaculately clean. My bed was fluffy and I fell asleep instantly every time I got in it. The shower is a little strange because there is no door but you just need to put the floor mat down to catch the few drops of water. I greatly appreciated the wall mounted, lighted makeup/shaving swivel mirror! There is a coffee maker in the room. Room service was fast and made a fried shrimp platter just for me that was very good twice The nice lady on the phone was the same person who delivered my food and she was a professional and a pleasure to deal with.

When I was leaving the staff was very helpful and printed my boarding passes for me and the door man graciously offered to come find me when my airport shuttle arrived so I wouldn't have to stand outside.

I had a pool view which was lovely and I didn't have any noise at all. Much to my surprise there is as nightclub in this hotel that gets a lot of action. I think that some nights it’s a gay bar so unless you don’t care (I didn't) you may want to ask the door man before you go in. Don’t let that keep you from staying at the hotel because if you don’t go looking for it you won’t even know it’s there.

There was only one little thing that got on my last nerves……….the bathroom fan. The fan is on a motion sensor so ever time to walk in the bathroom it turns on, sounds like a good idea but it doesn't go off when you leave the bathroom and you have to manually turn it off easy enough but it comes right back on by its self even with no one in the room UGH!!! There is no way to unplug it, I tried. I also tried to just leave it on and ignore it but it’s very loud and you can’t hear the person in the other room talking. I figure ours was malfunctioning, I hope because that was so annoying! Because of this fan I got to mark you down Bourbon Orleans, please fix that and I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view...no Bourbon street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveledLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We won a stay at this hotel through an auction for a trip to New Orleans. It was our first trip to the city and we'll definitely be going back and staying here. The location is great because it is close enough to walk to all of the fun on Bourbon Street but you don't get any of the noise while you're in your room. Judy helped me secure our reservation and she was extremely helpful with suggestions for the rest of our trip as well. The entire staff (doormen, desk clerks, restaurant servers, housekeeping) were all very friendly and eager to serve. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are clean and inviting. The pool looked really nice but we just never had a chance to enjoy it; we were too busy walking around the city! The hotel bar is a fun late-night place if you're looking for something a little more low-key. We had a great time singing along with the piano players and the bartenders were a lot of fun. Definitely a great choice if you're planning on staying in the French Quarter. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The loft rooms are very spacious and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSP1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,117 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing