We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but service was not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice and was close to shopping, restaurants, etc., however, there were a few things that bothered us. One is that our maid didn't clean our room very well,in fact, she didn't clean our shower the whole time we were there (5 nights). She didn't leave more coffee and didn't pick up the trash from using the coffee maker the one time. Another thing was we were on the breakfast plan and the selection was the same everyday! I was tired of eggs, meat, etc., by the end of the visit. On several of those days they were out of things like potatoes (who runs out of potatoes?!), bread products, etc, and the bill came to around $45 each day for two people! Luckily we were on the meal plan because those prices are ridiculous for what they offered. I'm not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,221 - 6,227 of 6,631 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our first post-Katrina trip to New Orleans and the Bourbon Orleans made it so special. From the time I picked up the phone to book our trip to the farewells from the bellboys when we departed, it could not have been any better. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. We had a lovely, spacious room overlooking the pool and courtyard with a very comfortable bed. The location of the hotel was ideal--everything we wanted to do was easy walking distance. Breakfast was included with our stay. It was delicious and plenty of real breakfast food! We are already missing the Bourbon Orleans and looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor in a corner room and it was very quiet and spacious and near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Loved the hotel, staff was friendly and helpful. Location is perfect near the better atractions of French quarter. Is a very charming and elegant hotel and at the same time cozy and easy going.
Is the place that I'll chose in my next stay in New Orleans, loved the city and intend to come back many times again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As a first time traveler to New Orleans, We were hesitant as to where to stay at and chose the Bourbon Orleans Hotel and what a "Smart" decision.. The rooms were nice and roomy,great beds,nicely laid out bathroom..The Staff was very friendly and attenative to any needs we had,ie: extra towels,T.V. questions,directions and suggestions of recommended places to eat and see and of course the close proximity of Bourbon Street was a MAJOR bonus..Far enough to not be bothered by the noise and traffic but close enough to stumble right in to the crowd and festivities..Stayed 5 nights and never needed our vehicle...Thats awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great location and friendly staff - rooms are massive. Only downfall was we were staying on the 3rd floor and the walls are really thin - not only can u hear if anyone is walking down the corridor or in the room next door - housekeeping knocking on the doors from about 7.30 means it's impossible to sleep in! Beautiful old hotel tho in a wonderful location - maybe I shouldn't be so lazy and get out of bed earlier!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location, wonderful staff, delicious breakfast buffet. Nice welcoming cocktail although the bar doesn't open till 5:00. You are on Bourbon Street when you walk out the hotel bar door! Room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool but unfortunately, right by the elevator. We were woken up all through the night with the loud noises of people returning to their rooms. We couldn't get the air conditioner to cool the room down and had to call for engineering. "She" came immediately to remedy our problem and was very pleasant. The fix didn't last long and we had to put the thermostat down to 55 to cool the room in order to sleep. The toilet seat needs to be replaced as it flopped and twisted around when we sat on it. Nice to have coffee maker/coffee in room but you had to squeeze in between the bed and the wall to get to the space where it was. We moved it into the bathroom. Toiletries were minimal. Shampoo/conditioner/soap only. No body lotion or shower cap. I called desk to ask where soda machine was and was told one was on the second floor in fitness room and other down by pool. Decided to go to closest one in fitness center since I was in my P.J.s. Only fitness drinks and water in the machine. No soda. Desk could have told me that!

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the elevators!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30thanniversary81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a wonderful trip to New Orleans while staying at the Bourbon New Orleans. We stayed there for my sons' wedding and could not be happier with the accommodations and hotel staff. We were upgraded to a suite with a balcony, very roomy and comfortable with a large balcony overlooking St. Ann Street. The only downside would be the street noise which due to the location would be hard to avoid. Family that stayed on the "inside" facing the pool did not have a problem at all, of course they didn't have the great balcony either! The staff was very friendly attending to every need, with a hearty welcome from the doormen every time we entered the hotel. They also stopped my very quick 4 yr. old grandson from running out of the hotel before we could catch him! Coffee is complimentary in the lobby everyday and iced water and iced tea is complimentary during the day every day. Parking is expensive, $40 a day. Our vehicle was brought to the hotel on time every time we asked. Location couldn't be better with everything in the French Quarter within walking distance. The bed was very comfortable, our room was cleaned everyday and towels exchange twice a day. We would be very happy to stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,719 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,393 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $169 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing