We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star service, at 4 star location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel has made improvements over the year which are appreciated yet still misses the nuances.
Was very frustrated from a practacality standpoint. I called for my car 45 minutes in advance, (10 minutes more than the required 35). Ii checked to see where it was 50 minutes later and learned the message to get the car had not been delivered to the valet. I missed my flight becasue of this.

While waiting for my car I attenpted to get my breakfast whicdh was included in my package along with my car. There was a line of 10 people, no hostess, no managers and two waiters serving the entire dining room and trying to host. People were getting wrong orders, serving themselves their own coffee and frustrated. I finally was seated and waited 15 minutes to be waited on after I got my own menu. The food too too long as well.
As I say, they are trying and if you get a good rate it may be worth it, but until things improve you can get much better service close by for a full rate. With a good rate just know to expect 2 star service as in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,965)
There are newer reviews for Bourbon Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,588 - 5,594 of 5,965 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

YOu cannot have a best location for your staying in New Orleans. It is one block from Bourbon street where all the action night life happens. And you would sleep well whitout any noise.
Nice rooms and beds (I stayed in a king bed superior room) with a good size bathroom.
Salted pool very convenient after a long day. The only down side in the pool area was the noise from the AC equipment (?) that runs 24/7, it seems. Parking very expensive; we payed US40/day for the valet even so we had a small SUV Kia "soul" model. It was considered not a compact car. Satff very nice and happy. Every dolar spent in New Orleans worth to help this amazing people to rebuild and keep this gem that suffers so much with Katrina.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liacapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

After a crazy 4 days of final wedding preps for my nephew and his future, now new bride in Baton Rouge my husband and I drove down to New Orleans for a day and night before flying back home to Tucson. We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel which I had stayed at before for a wedding over 15 years ago. It was charming and lovely back then and I was not disappointed. It was still as lovely and charming as ever with attentive staff and wonderful accommodations. The hotel is actually at the corner of Orleans and Bourbon Street but the rooms are mostly on Orleans. You can have a balcony on the street site or quieter rooms that face the pool; which we had. We never heard any of the street noise in our room and wished we had a few more days to just enjoy this lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this charming historical hotel for four nights. Our room on the fifth floor faced the pool so we took the "service elevator" to get to our room. The staff, from the room attendants to the electricians were welcoming and often funny. The door staff raced to open the door for us with a "welcome back" greeting. Complimentary ice tea and water beverages were offered every day, Community coffee served every morning and cookies at check in. Our room was very quite, comfy bed and pillows. The only minor flaw was the ceiling in the bathroom needed to be replastered and the couches in the lobby need to be reupholstered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artistNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is lovely and well-kept and maintained. The beds were extremely comfortable after a long day of sight-seeing. I would stay again, but request a room on the inner courtyard. Our room baloney was on a side street (not Bourbon or Orleans) and it brought in the noise from partiers at all hours. We expected some revelry but not all night and not hotel garbage service below us at 4 a.m. each day. I don't think the reservations folks warn you about that. Also, we checked in on a Friday afternoon and our room wasn't ready until 4:30. Make sure you let them know if you want "early" check-in and maybe it will be on time. Otherwise, the location can't be beat and the doormen helped us get cabs to the airport. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Do not get Room 351 (2 double beds and a balconey); it was extremely noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the French Quarter, right on the corner of Bourbon and Orleans. Staff are courteous and helpful, and they work hard to keep the hotel clean and comfortable. The lobby is gorgeous and a great place for meeting fellow travelers; coffee is supplied in the morning, and iced tea and lemon/lime water in the afternoon. The courtyard, with its beautiful salt water pool is another great place to have a drink in the afternoon or evening before heading out to dinner or for a night of revelry. Beds were comfortable, although pillows were oddly thick and bouncy. Bathrooms were large, with walk-in showers and plenty of counter space. There is a lack of drawer space, though, and the rooms have only one chair, so when we were back at the hotel, we spent most of our time in the lobby or courtyard. There is a bar in the hotel, but it allows smoking and service was slow and sometimes downright hostile (a female bartender who apparently does not want tips.) However, the hotel suffers from a major drawback and that is noise. The marble tiled hallways outside the rooms enhance every noise your fellow guests make, and a large space between the bottom of the room doors and the hall floor allows that noise to enter your room all the time. We had a group of people staying at the hotel, and the only one not bothered by the noise was a person who removed his hearing aids at night. In addition, there was a mechanical problem with either the elevators or the air handling system (we got mixed stories from staff) that cause a very loud, persistent humming or squealing noise that could be heard in the courtyard and many of the rooms. Because of the noise, I cannot recommend this hotel unless you wear hearing aids that can be removed. It's too bad, really, because otherwise, this is a wonderful hotel. I do not recommend the restaurant - it was expensive, service moved at a snail's pace even with an almost-empty dining room, and the food was just mediocre.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor facing the courtyard for a quieter experience.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPepoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went to New Orleans for a wedding and were suppose to stay in another hotel, but were moved due to Hurricane Isaac. According to the 1st hotel we were suppose to get the same accommodations for the same price.
We when arrived we were told that the hotel didn't have the king room with a balcony that we were suppose to have for us available, but would give us another room. When we got to our room we walked into a closet. The room was a queen and a small queen at that! No more than 2 feet on either side of the bed, and no more than 5 feet at the end of the bed...with a very small bathroom.When we asked for another room we were told they were totally booked for the weekend unless we wanted a suite...which we didn't.
The next morning my husband went down to the desk and talked to a wonderful woman (Kishanna) who found us a king room, but didn't have one with a balcony. It was a relief to change rooms, and we found out that all of us who had come for the wedding were given small rooms to start with, and then had to find the rooms we were suppose to get.
The larger room was nice, but the rooms in general very extremely noisy. For 2 nights I got no sleep and for one night I got very little sleep.
If you stay here, you'll find this hotel to be near many of things you want to see and do in New Orleans, but be alert to the fact that it is very loud and you hear everything from the halls and from the adjoining rooms.
Kudos to the ladies at the front desk on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday who helped us out as much as the could!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebitinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,715 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 165 in New Orleans
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $170 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing