We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at The Bourbon Orleans for only one night but enjoyed it. I would recommend this to anyone looking to be in the heart of the action. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We didn't have a car or use the pool area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,345
    1,309
    292
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,000
2,191
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

One of themost beautiful things about the stay was not the room (and it was LOVELY) it was the staff and how they greeted you to their home. Right from the front door to the pool yard and restaurant, everyone was happy to serve you as if you were the only guest. Even management would seat you, take your order and clear tables....a true testiment to hospitality.....

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the court yard/pool were relaxing and delightful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catldy_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Only stayed for one night, but it was great being 1/2 block from Bourbon Street and a short walk through Jackson Square to Cafe Du Monde.

The staff was professional and friendly and the room was very nice.

Parking was a challenge as I choose not to use the valet service, but with a little patience, a late arrival hour and probably some luck, I was able to find on the street parking within a block of the hotel.

I would definitely consider The Bourbon Orleans Hotel as a first choice when heading back to New Orleans because location, price, and upkeep of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank d2usher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnlanguab
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Doesnt feel like a 3 star, more like a 4. The hotel is in a great location between Bourbon Street and The French Quarter. Kaleb, in the lobby, is very helpful and courteous. Although we didn't get in, the pool area looks very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlanguab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Bourbon Orleans provided a beautiful room looking onto the courtyard and pool, a spacious and comfortable lobby and attrative dining area that served our needs wonderfully. I also loved the ceiling art in the bar. The staff were incredibly professional but still very friendly and extremely accommodating. The location was very close to a myriad of sightseeing destinations. Our stay was everything we could hope for. Would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I have visited New Orleans on many occasions but this was our first stay at the Bourbon Orleans. The location is excellent, just a couple blocks from Jackson Square and seconds from either Bourbon or Royal Streets. The hotel can easily be overlooked among the other larger "classic" accommodations in the area such as the Royal Sonesta, the Monteleone or the Omni Royal Orleans. This would be a pity.

The Bourbon Orleans is elegant and historic without being old-fashioned. The rooms are large and quiet -- even our room facing Bourbon Street was well insulated from the frenzy outside. The bathrooms are spacious and the shower excellent -- water controls at the back . . . how sensible! The staff were friendly and professional, looking out for the comfort of their guests. Our complaints were entirely minor--a wet bar but no mini-fridge, a couple stray clothing tags left in a drawer when we checked in, a particularly harried morning in the breakfast restaurant--and in no way detracted from our visit.

When visiting New Orleans it is always great to find a hotel that, even inside, lets you know you are in New Orleans. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotchNSoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at The Bourbon Orleans Hotel this past weekend. We LOVED it! We travel a lot and have stayed at a variety of properties and the service here is exceptional. The front doors of the hotel were always opened for us any time of the day or night...they were always staffed. Check-in was both quick, professional and friendly. Our room was very nice and large for a historic hotel. The bed was also extremely comfortable! Our room faced the pool and was very quiet. We also loved the location of the hotel. It is right behind Jackson Square. Easy walk to Frenchmen's Street for great jazz (and a more low key experience than the French Quarter). Cafe Du Monde is also very close by for the required beignets (a must when you visit). The Bourbon Orleans Hotel will definitely be our hotel of choice when visiting New Orleans. They also have a special for stays Sunday - Thursday - Use Promo Code "barcoup" for $25 off per night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruising28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,826 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing