We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful with the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the place to stay in the French Quarter. The location is perfect. You can walk to everything in the area.
The hoteli s beautiful. The staff is courteous, helpful and friendly. The air conditioning in the hotel is great and believe me in August you need it!
The rooms are nice and clean.They have been updated very nicely. I do wish there was a little refrigerator in the room to keep some drinks cold or for left over food.
We are planning on return to New Orleans and this is the ONLY place we will stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fic1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,964)
There are newer reviews for Bourbon Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,655 - 5,661 of 5,964 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

When you are in NOLA there are MANY hotels to choose from. We went with this one because of location in the french quarter and the special they were running... "summer in the city" With this special we got free parking, bottled water in the room (it's very hot in August and the water was a nice treat) and 2 vouchers for breakfast at the hotel. A lot of the older hotel lack good A/C, our room was chilly, it was nice that we could cool off so fast! When I booked I requested a king bed with a view of the pool, unfortunately we got a queen bed with a view of the neighbor's roof. :( The room was small, but that didn't really bother us. The pool looked very inviting and the lighting was fun with all the white lights. We took the haunted tour that featured the ballroom where the quadroon balls were held in the hotel, very cool! The staff was fantastic, so helpful! The breakfast didn't go so well, but they really turned it around. I think they were understaffed that morning, there was only one server for the whole restaurant. The manager came in to help out, and the rest of the kitchen crew really pulled together to help out with the front of the house. It's nice to see that, so many places there are people who have the attitude, "its' not my job", but I felt they have a unity at this hotel. I had the creme bruelle french toast, it was super yummy. It was very sweet, it almost didn't need any syrup! My hubby ordered the special omelet and was very happy with his selection. The valet parking was quick and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cataws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Went to New Orleans in early August 2012 which is a slow time there due to the heat. The hotel was fantastic. The staff was great, the location could not have been better. It was 2 blocks to anything we wanted so walking was easy. The room was very nice and large by New Orleans standards. Great bathroom with walk in shower. Decor of the room was very nice and it was quiet. We were facing the courtyard and it was a quiet time in New Orleans so it might be louder at other times. Did not eat at the restaurant so can't comment there. The only complaint I would have is that the wireless internet did not work for Apple computers or anything else apple. The staff said it is a constant problem with apple machines, so since they know this, why not fix it? In conclusion, we will absolutely stay at this hotel again, the best we have stayed at in New Orleans. Fantastic staff, so friendly and helpful without exception.

Room Tip: Inside room is quiet. Ask for near the elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Booked this hotel after having an awful 2 nights elsewhere in New Orleans. Service was exceptional, staff were more than happy to help with all of your needs, and the room was gorgeous. We chose a room overlooking Bourbon street and can't say that the noise was bad at all...we didn't even notice it. The bathroom was luxurious and spotless and the coffe machine was much appreciate. Location is fantastic, walking distance to everything in the French quarter and close to the trolley line. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: A room overlooking Bourbon street is great to get the feel of the French Quarter
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was the first NOLA experience for my husband,daughter and I. We had the luxury of 2 rooms, one loft with a balcony facing St Ann and the other interior courtyard overlooking the pool.
Overall, a good stay right in the heart of the French Quarter. Couldn't have asked for a closer experience to Bourbon St. without being right on it.
The negatives however were the noise both outside and inside the hotel on the weekend.
The hallways are marble floored so EVERY sound is magnified. The doors are also very heavy so everyone slams going in and out which at 4 AM is aggravating. We were on the 3rd floor which could benefit from carpeting the hallways.
If you are looking for restful sleep this isn't recommended.
Also, no mini refrigs which you would think each room would have.
I would consider returning if the sound proofing could be improved. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The Bourbon Orleans definitely delivers on the old French Quarter feel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crisvabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are very clean and really just a great place to spend the weekend. The hotel is within easy walking distance to everything in the Quarter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nicely done property with Bourbon Street & French Quarter at your doorstep. Our Room was an interior one and never heard anything off Bourbon Street at all.

Didn't have as much time as we wanted to tour around New Orleans. But still had a great dinner and drinks in the evening, and of course, Cafe Du Monde on the way out early the next morning.

Bourbon Orleans staff was very professional and room was spotless. The pool was refreshing and clean after the walk around the French Quarter. Will certainly consider another stay when we have more time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flabeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,715 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,419 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 165 in New Orleans
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $169 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing