We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, really NOISY and terrible shower/bathroom” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, really NOISY and terrible shower/bathroom”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter. It is clean, has a nice bar, lobby and pool. The bathroom/shower in the room was awful. Water leaked all over from the shower. It was impossible not to get a giant pool of water. I would not go go back. Housekeeping also did not come until after 4:00. They never did clean the room although I did get extra towells after cleaning up the giant pool of water myself. Some of the rooms are really NOISY

Room Tip: The rooms that look out at the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,345
    1,309
    292
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,000
2,191
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
169 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Bourbon Orleans Hotel is a very nice and comfortable hotel with a lot of history and class. we stayed there for for 4 nights and found it very close to whatever you want to see and do in New Orleans. the only probabli is the price. a little spendy and they like most take advantage of festivals and happenings going on in town by raising prices for the occasion. if we were to go back, i would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: anything above the 5th floor, thats where its supposed to be haunted
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent three nights at the Bourbon Orleans for vacation recently. I can not rave about this hotel enough. It is beautiful, comfortable and clean. Everyone is friendly and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for the CTIA Wireless Convention May 5-11.
We were in room 324 the entire time.
We arrived the last day of Jazz Fest and due to the lack of hallway carpeting it sounded like the other guests had removed our door way and put on tap dancing shoes....and everyones voice carried....we could not sleep that first night.

Called for Room service for 2, they arrived with awesome food but no place to eat it.
There was an office desk but only one chair (in the entire room).
I asked for an extra chair...it only arrived after contacting the hotel manager.

The hotel is waiting on the carpet and due to the renovations they were missing some furniture (hence the missing chair)
After my email to the General Manager (Mark Wilson) everything was taken care of...except for the carpet in the hallway of course.



What was really missing was consistancy within the housekeeping staff.

They failed in being able to setup a room the same way twice in the entire 7 day stay.
All silly things, different number of towels, sometimes no hair conditioner, sometimes only 1 soap bar...we had no more than 3 (shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer...one day we had 5 little bottles (2 we had never been introduced to during the week).
The ice bucket never had a plastic bag in it (except for the day I emailed the manager) That was just gross and the ice bucket inside plastic was separated from the outside casing.

Every morning the housekeeping staff would be the source of all the noises in the hallway, having great conversations in the hallway and allowing the doors to be closed on their own instead of holding them to close quietly.(remember, no carpet).

For the travelling business man
The office desk had no outlets and the LAN cable was at the bedside not the office desk.
The outlets that were along the wall were so used that my chargers kept falling out of the sockets.
(I mentioned these observations while I was there).

For people using a CPAP, no extra outlets by the bed (not many hotels consider this need so nothing against Bourbon Orleans in that regard)

I hope this review is a snap shot of time...never to be taken again and that they get their consistancy together.
The staff (Bellman/vallet) were awesome! Everyone was really nice, the manager did all the right things to apologize for my poor experience but we may have stayed elsewhere if we were made aware of the "lack of carpet".


The hotel is beautiful inside and out, and due to renovations and missing furniture and hallway carpets be careful of where you are placed.

Room Tip: Make sure that the floor you are on has the carpet in the hallway. Rooms facing Bourbon Street are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Bourbon Orleans' location is quite possibly the best in the Quarter. And the hotel itself is beautiful, with a haunted history and lovely pool. However, our room left a lot to be desired. My husband and I booked a "French Queen" on bookit.com for a fantastic rate, much lower than any other site, which made me a little wary. The room had a comfortable queen bed; unfortunately, the big bed/small room issue allowed little space for walking, sitting, or unpacking. Beware the corner of the large desk shoved against one side of the bed, as it is perfectly level with your head when rolling over (ouch). And our view from the 2nd floor consisted solely of a large concrete wall. The Bourbon Orleans is an older hotel (lots of character, little insulation) and very noisy. I believe we had a courtyard room (not sure because of the aforementioned wall) so thankfully no outside noise from Bourbon, although there was some type of generator/machine outside that ran throughout the night. The walls are incredibly thin so we heard anyone's conversation in the hallway or adjoining rooms, including housekeeping at 9 in the morning. Our room was also very far from the elevator/stairs (4 turns and hallways away). Overall, we had a wonderful trip with a few inconveniences. I would probably stay at the Bourbon Orleans again, in a bigger room, since I now know what to expect (and request from the hotel).

Tips for NOLA-Buy a trolley pass since it's really fun and convenient to ride the trolleys to the Garden District and Civil War/World War II Museums. Jacque Imo's and Commander's Palace are fantastic; if you eventually tire of seafood, Mona Lisa's serves delicious pizza a few blocks away and is definitely off the tourists' radar. Steer clear of the hurricanes at Pat O's-they are not as delicious as remembered from college days. Court of Two Sisters is absolutely charming for brunch but aim to arrive around ten or so to avoid the crush of people at the hot bar. Felix's and Drago's have fantastic chargrilled oysters-you must try them!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator on a higher floor, with a view of something besides a concrete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthernBelleAtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Great location but could be cleaner and service much improved.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nkoseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have been staying exclusively at the Bourbon Orleans in the French Quarter for the past 7 years. We go to NOLA 3-4 every year to enjoy the the food, culture and people. This hotel is located a few minutes walk from the Cafe du Monde, Jackson Square, Preservation Hall, the French Market and Rouses (the only grocery store of any size in the Quarter). We don't have to worry about our car as Louis and his staff are very efficient. As an added bonus the Bourbon Orleans is haunted! The prices are moderate and the staff is very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stone1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,826 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing