We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

right in the French Quarter - very nice accomodations
convenienent
friendly staff
very comfortable beds

Room Tip: be sure to choose if you want to be near the noise from Bourbon street or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDF2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,575
    1,380
    306
    88
    49
See reviews for
1,075
2,323
160
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel to stay in when coming to New Orleans. Did not like that they decided to tear the entire carpet out of the 6th floor at 7 in the morning. I got no sleep due to the hammering right outside our door and nearly pierced my foot with all the loose nails. Put a damper on our last day!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharrison33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Fl
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The location makes visiting NOLA easy. The French Quarter is all in walking distance. All 3 trolley stops are in walking distance so seeing all of N.O. is easy. We had a 1st floor room facing the courtyard pool. This was perfect. After a night of frolicking on Bourbon you could finish your last drink at a table next to the pool before hitting the pillow. The courtyard rooms are quiet and completely void of the Bourbon St. noise. The rooms were clean, well decorated and good sized for 3 adults. We had 2 double beds. The beds and bedding was nice! The bathroom is large and the black marble and granite feels and looks good.Our room did not get made up one morning but a quick comment to the front desk on our way out for lunch corrected this immediately. ( we usually had do not disturb signs on the door until 11am everyday).
The front desk was always accommodating and the Concierge was a great asset. His recommendations on directions, food and tours was spot on every time. The Doormen and Bellhops were very good and made check in, checkout and bag storage on our last day easy.
We have no complaints about our stay at the Bourbon Orleans and will stay again. The location, accommodations and and friendliness of the staff make it worth the price.

Room Tip: Get a Courtyard room facing the pool to avoid the Bourbon St. noise. The 1st floor is great because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miknkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Bourbon Orleans is right in the heart of the French Quarter. The balcony of room 311 looks out over, not Bourbon Street, but a side street so close to Bourbon Street that you can see the action on Bourbon Street.

If you are looking for a quiet hotel, this probably isn't the hotel for you. The hallways and some of the suites/rooms are tile and partiers are coming and going all night. However, if you get a room far from the elevator (and some are quite far - like #336 or higher) facing the inner courtyard, not the street, you'll have more quiet. Not complete quiet, but more quiet.

The pool area in the inner courtyard is fabulous.

The location can't be beat.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the street are going to be noisier than rooms looking over the pool courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naniboujou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel on May 8-9-10, 2012. From the time we pulled up in front we were treated by everyone with great service. Was able to check in and go right up to our room. The room was very clean and quiet. Loved the bathroom and the oversize shower. It is in a great location in the french quarter. Enjoyed the morning complimentary coffee and the beautiful lobby area. We stayed here with 4 other couples and they all enjoyed everything about this hotel. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay there again.
Darrell/Salt Lake City

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Super friendly people at the Bourbon Orleans, from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the valet! The location is killer, right on the corner of Bourbon Street, however if you want to get any sleep, ask to get a room that does not face Bourbon.

My recommendation would be to check out their website for a package that includes parking and breakfast. We got a package had all that, plus free drinks on arrival and two tickets to Mardi Gras World! Totally fun!

Rooms are medium sized, no fridge, but ours had a coffee maker and a great shower with no tub. We asked for a safe, which they currently do not have available. Front desk told me they would be getting them soon in each room, but there was a safe deposit box available in the meantime.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room not facing Bourbon Street if you want to get any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SirNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I almost didn't want to write a review and waited a few months because I wanted to keep this hotel to myself. This is really a lovely hotel right now and the tripadvisor ratings don't accurately reflect that. There is a very good reason though. This place was a horrible dump just a few years ago. I found that out when I stayed at the hotel at the same time the Bourbon Orleans' new general manager was beginning his job.

The new general manager, Mark Wilson, told me to come back some day and I would see a big difference. Since the location was superb and I knew renovations were about to happen, I decided to take a chance. Well, Mark Wilson was a miracle worker!

The place has been tastefully renovated. Even the small gym is up to date in this beautifully restored historic hotel.

However, more importantly, the staff now is amazing. I was treated like a princess. The manager at night was also incredibly attentive and personally wanted to do anything he could to improve my stay.

The restaurant had great food, a wonderful wait staff, and the restaurant manager could not have been more charming or efficient.

The housekeeping staff kept my room spotless. The head of housekeeping found a Tiffany ring that I had left in the room and was frantic about and had it waiting for me by my bed with a personal note. Amazing!

My family owns some hotels in South Beach. I tried to tempt the Bourbon Orleans general manager to come and do his magic for us in Florida. However, Mark Wilson is incredibly loyal to the Bourbon Orleans and still is striving to make the hotel even better.

I'm already planning to stay at the Bourbon Orleans next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,008 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing