We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here along with 2 other couples and enjoyed it immensely. The hotel is in a perfect location and within walking distance to everything there is to see/do in the French Quarter. We each had a king suite room overlooking the courtyard and pool. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms only had a shower (no bathtub) but they're beautiful and have an ample amount of space in them. We did have breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was delicious. I would stay here again while visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmhaugland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,245
    1,266
    278
    76
    42
See reviews for
960
2,133
141
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in March and it was great. My only complaint was my room was 302 on the 3rd floor and there is no carpeting in these halls as they access one of the ball rooms, so you heard every footstep and conversation. Plus our room was across from the elevator and we head the dings of the arriving cars and noise from that. The room was extremely comfortable and clean, all new bathroom and decor. I highly recommend this hotel, just ask for a room away from the elevator and not on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikesim711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Rock
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

First off, you can't beat the hotel's location in the heart of the French Quarter. On Orleans street between Bourbon and Royal, you can hit the craziness of Bourbon Street from one end of the hotel or stroll down to the art galleries and shops on Royal Street from the other end.
The hotel itself is quite nice, with a very helpful and friendly staff. Pretty courtyard and pool area as well. We had breakfast included with our package and the food and service were both exceptional. Although on the small side (quite common for this type of hotel) the rooms were very nice, with coffee maker and hair dryer icluded. It was a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to book a room close to the elevator since they are located on one end of a very long hallway. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRoachBlackRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was our third visit to the Bourbon, and the second visit that we have bought friends and family along to share in the experience of this wonderful hotel. We have stayed here before, during, and after renovations to the hotel and have taken the good with the not so good. However, one thing has always remained constant about this beautiful and historic hotel, and that is the wonderful staff and their commitment to the overall experience of you stay.
We had friends from Chicago join us on this trip, and they truly had a wonderful time. They constantly commented on the beauty of the lobby, the comfort of the beds, and the location of the hotel that is central to everything in the French Quarter.
Upon arriving at the Hotel, we were greeted by Caleb who is the doorman. He remembered our names from our previous stays and we were welcomed accordingly. The staff also remembered us, and by this time, we were feeling amazed that so many people come and go on a regular basis but we were remembered made us feel very welcomed. This only reflects the level of service and dedication of the staff.
During this stay, we booked a package through the hotel and upon check in experienced a slight bump due to some confusion with the package, but it was quickly resolved without issue. The room we had was comfortable and accommodating. We had a much smaller room on a previous stay, but that was during renovations and many of the rooms were not available due to this. The renovations were very well done, but not over the top. The bed as always was very comfortable and the room quiet.
After all is considered, the Bourbon Orleans will be our hotel for every trip to the French Quarter. On June the first, we will be returning to the Bourbon for our 4th stay to celebrate our birthdays. It will be exactly 1 year to the day from our first stay and we are looking forward to once again returning to what in our opinion is the best hotel in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Every time I stay at the Bourbon Orleans, it's like checking into my home away from home! The staff are warm, friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. The room renovations are amazing, especially the new bathrooms. I stay here for both business and personal get-aways, and would highly recommend it for both. Best location in the city - centrally located for business, food, music, and shopping. The courtyard pool is a peaceful oasis, the beautiful French Quarter views and ambiance is an added plus.

Room Tip: The interior courtyard rooms are quieter than the ones street-side. Rooms facing Orleans Ave. have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cltalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

What a beautiful, friendly place to stay. Doorman welcomes you every time in and out. Prices are reasonable. Clean rooms right in the heart of New Orleans french Quarter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your time here in New Orleans and with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel and appreciate you sharing your experience. We hope you will be planning another visit to New Orelans and the Bourbon Oreleans in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I would highly recommend staying at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel the next time you travel to New Orleans. The rooms have been recently renovated and are relatively inexpensive compared to other hotels down in the French Quarter. The location is PERFECT--one block behind St. Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square, plus it covers the block between Bourbon St. and Royale St. The restaurant is great for breakfast and the staff is wonderful and the pool area is beautiful. We have stayed in many different hotels in New Orleans and this is the one we keep coming back to time after time. After Hurricane Katrina, the Bourbon Orleans housed law enforcement and firefighters as they helped the city cope with the devastation.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies on the west side are great with a limited view of Bourbon St. without the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHR300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,123 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,792 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,775 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing