We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“déjà vu -in the best possible way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
102 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“déjà vu -in the best possible way”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Although I've visited NOLA many times & stayed at various hotels, the Bourbon Orleans was my very first hotel -& the one I stayed in last. 10 years have pasted by, with several renovations & changes in management at the property, but I fortunately found the Bourbon Orleans atmosphere as I remembered it & the "MAGIC" still there. Upon check in, I was upgraded to a 2-story townhouse suite for the price of a room -the same great VIP hospitality I previously experienced years before! Located in the epicenter, this place epitomizes what a French Quarter hotel should be: casual elegance yet funky, a bygone era yet contemporary, romantic yet mysterious, tolerant yet responsible. No immaculate or pretentious Ritz Carlton here! Property features include a wonderfully grand columned lobby & a beautiful tropically landscaped courtyard sporting a large heated saltwater swimming pool. This place will ALWAYS have a special place in my heart -& hopefully yours too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NewYorkCity_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here in New Orleans and with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel! We are very excited to hear you found your trip as magical as the first. We hope to welcome you back time and time again and continue to create magical memories for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,569
    1,375
    306
    88
    49
See reviews for
1,071
2,320
159
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My entire family went down to New Orleans last weekend and stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel right in the middle of the French Quarter. This hotel was GREAT. The staff was so helpful with anything we needed or asked about, they were on it. We occupied a King Room and a Double Room and both were spacious, clean and inviting. The beds were great and so comfortable. This is the only place we will ever stay when we travel to New Orleans!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future. I will share your wonderful comments with our staff. Thank you for selecting the Bourbon Orleans Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Em4112
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for a bachelorette party with a small group of girls (we were all in our late 20s or early 30s). We were in one of the two-story suites with a queen bed upstairs and a pull out sofa on the first floor. We also requested a roll away bed in our reservation.

The location for this hotel is fantastic and is its biggest benefit. The pool and the lobby are also very nice. The queen bed was fine, but the pull out bed was falling apart. At the bottom of the bed, the frame did not support the mattress so the mattress drooped to the ground. They did not bring us the roll away bed the first night we were there and did not seem to care that they were not accommodating this request.

I would only consider staying here again because of the location. It would have to be a great deal though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Em4112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
First I would like to say thank you for selecting the Bourbon Orleans for such a wonderful occasion. We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and truly apologize for the condition of the pull out bed in your suite. Thanks to your feedback we have addressed the condition of the furniture in that particular suite, so that it will not be a problem again. It is of our utmost priority that we make every experience a wonderful memory of your time in New Orleans. I hope you will consider the Bourbon Orleans for your next stay and we can show you all aspects of the hotel are wonderful. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Bourbon Orleans is in a great location in the French Quarter. Staff and service was very good and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalemariemanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BourbonOrleansHotel, Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here in New Orleans and with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back next January for Pardi Gras 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

this hotel is in a great spot,anything off of Bourbon is gonna be a little noisy so if anyone tells you different,think again.The staff was very accomodating from the front desk to room service.Had pleasant stay and would stay there again.Didnt use much of the amenities,so cant really give any feedback as to the pool or any restaurants.There was a show of a manager at least once walking through the floor which was a pleasant suprise.Great view of the ST Louis Cathedral at night and pretty close to anything you want to try,restaurants,bars,cafe's

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl1231c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend, there was major construction going on from 8am to 6pm. The room we pre-booked was not available at check-in and had to be changed the following day after lunch. The hotel must get heavy use it needed a lot of refurbishment - would we go back? NO

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surfersimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Bourbon Orleans Hotel is about 100 yards from Bourbon Street and right slap bang in the middle of the French Quarter. As regards location, it simply doesn't get any better than this!

From the moment you step up to the hotel, there is a group of concierge staff who open the doors for you leading you into a grandiose dining hall and reception area. It has a very European feel to it and is a warm welcoming lobby.

I found the reception staff to be very helpful and they let me check in earlier than the advertised time which was incredibly useful for me. They were keen to give me advice on the local area although this was not my first trip to the area so I didn't feel I needed it. Very helpful though.

The room was 'conservative' in size but was absolutely amazing. It felt like there was no expense spared on the decor, which continued the theme of the lobby. There was a huge flatscreen TV and the bathroom was very clean and easy to use.

You do pay a premium to stay in this hotel but you get what you pay for. If you are looking to spend time with your partner in New Orleans then this is worth shelling out for. Alternatively if you are with a travel companion and are happy to pay a little extra between you for the amazing location then do also consider it.

The only negative is really a difficult one. There was a lot of rennovation going on when I was there and this rendered the gym out of action. I say this is difficult because if a hotel doesn't look to improve itself, it draws criticism. If it improves itself, it draws criticism whilst improving. So a tough one to call.

One final compliment. As close as this hotel is to the rowdy Bourbon Street, i heard absolutely nothing when I was going to sleep. Amazing.

Would easily stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms I would believe are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheBDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing