We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in great location”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #55 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lisle, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in great location”
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at the Bienville House for one night prior to our cruise. The hotel is an old hotel, but it is in excellent shape. We had two rooms , one for our older kids and one for us. There room was about twice the size of ours even though the rate was the same. I enjoyed staying at this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mate0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    503
    180
    85
    71
See reviews for
329
701
47
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We chose the Bienville House because of its location. We attended the Royal Street Stroll - part of the New Orleans Wine and Food Experience. The hotel was just two blocks away from the start of the event. After the event, we had a comfortable sleep in a quiet room. In the morning, we had a light breakfast in pleasant surroundings. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Air conditioner didn't work right. It ran, but the room never got cold. The air conditioner worked great in the lobby though. Carpets were stained, looked terrible. The room had two chairs shoved up between the bed and the window. Could not use them to sit. Had trouble with the computer downstairs and the night clerk just walked out on us and went into the garage next door. Never offered to help.
The location was pretty good and some of the staff were very accomodating so it wasn't a total bust, but with all the nice hotels in New Orleans, I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loka1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We'd stayed here before and really liked the hotel. It is in the perfect location for Jazz Fest and really any trip to New Orleans. Our room this time was not quite as good as expected though. The carpet needed a good cleaning. We had a room with two double beds and the mattresses on both of them were way past their prime. Too soft. Also while the room itself was rather large the furniture set up was odd. There were two comfortable sitting chairs that you really couldn't use as they were almost tight up against one of the beds. We would stay here again but would hope for a better room, one like we had the first time we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

small hotel, most central but next to house of blues and fire station, so can have noise polution.
the swimming pool is a joke, ok to stay but not luxury

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yermanonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

The room was clean and suited our needs for this trip.

Beds/pillows were uncomfortable, floor was very squeaky, room, bathroom, and shower were small, room smelled stale, tv reception was snowy, it was loud from outside noise (ferry horns all day and night) and the "seating area" in the room was laughable - one of the beds was pressed up against the chairs so you couldn't even get to it. Also there is only one tiny elevator for the entire hotel.

It's probably an ok place if you want no frills, but we have stayed in MUCH nicer places in New Orleans for a better price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed at Bienville House March 16-18, and they were booked for the next few days so we actually switched hotels. I wish we didn't have to switch, I would have loved to stay another night or two.

I loved the room, we had one of the rooms with a patio and it was just beautiful and I loved having that big patio door open. It was romantic. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was great. I would definitely stay here again.

some more picky travelers may not like - the thin blanket, the room was a little bit stuffy so we kept the big patio door open at night, the tv was small.. that's all the "negatives" I could think of. Nothing major.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KHar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
1,274 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 163 in New Orleans
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing