We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We like it; not for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We like it; not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We like this hotel; stayed there several times over the years and will continue to do so. However, this hotel will not be perfect for everyone. We like price, value, location and the service. The rooms are small, bathrooms are small with limited counter space, and the shower is very small. No room service, valet parking is very expensive (use taxi). With that said, the beds are super comfortable, the A/C is super cold, the property is well maintained, the staff is friendly and efficient. Nice small pool on main level, two nice patio areas on the fourth floor (we always stay on the fourth floor, highly recommended). So there you have it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for all of your feedback. We appreciate all comments from our guests and we are so glad you choose to stay with us during your visits to New Orleans! Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    433
    146
    71
    59
See reviews for
274
567
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Arrived into Bienville House quite late and was greeted kindly by reception. We were immediately impressed with the interior of the hotel from reception through to our room. Our room itself is best summed up by 'old-school class'. Wonderfully decorated, spotlessly clean and furnished beautifully with solid-wood classical furniture that has been well looked after. The A/C was quiet and quite effective given the searing heat outside in the July sun.

The bathroom was spotless and spacious. The shower pressure was excellent (important given how many showers you'll want when the humidity climbs high).

The continental breakfast supplied was perfectly fine with good coffee and selection of pastries, bagels and muffins along with yoghurts, juices and cereals. The staff helping out in the morning were pleasant and genuine.

The location is pretty perfect. On the edge of the French Quarter but yet far enough away from the notorious hotspots to avoid any night-time noise or disruption. It's also directly opposite a fire-station which might be reassuring to some people. I know my wife enjoyed the reassuring 'safety' of being in close proximity to some firemen.

Overall I would stay at Bienville House again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting NOLA.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are so glad you had such a great experience with us at Bienville House. Thank you for all of your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores AL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was our first trip back to NO since a month before Hurricane Katrina in 2005. Nothing has changed much except the decorating!! We were still treated like family, our room was clean and neat, and we had everything that we needed!! It was extremely hot outside (98 degrees), but our room was nice and chilly! Our room faced Decatur and the Fire Station...pretty noisy outside the window, but it is a busy city and it is to be expected. The hotel is in a great location. It is not too far to walk to get to anything in the French Quarter. And I have to mention Ms. Cynthia, as many other people have! She is a bright and shining light!!! Thank you, ma'am, for making us feel so welcome, as well as everyone else that works there. The housekeeping staff does a great job and were very friendly also. We didn't get much sleep the two nights that we were there, but we didn't go to NO to sleep. We had a wonderful two-day get-away in a great city that has great people, and stayed in a wonderful hotel!!! We hope to see you all again.....when the weather is a little COOLER!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, an interior room with no windows would be your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyAbbyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are so thrilled you had such an amazing trip. We love hearing great things about our staff! See you again soon when the weather is cooler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

The blanket on our bed was filled with holes. Looks like rats had been gnawing on it. There were also hairs stuck too some sort of stinky goo on the hair dryer. Elevator was sooooo hot. Needs to TLC. Staff was a amazingly nice, however.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House.

There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management for review.

I hope you will reconsider your impression of Bienville House and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great hotel to stay in because of its location. It is within walking distance to major areas of the French Quarter such as Bourbon street, Royal street, and the Upper French Quarter areas such as Jackson Square and St. Louis Cathedral area.
The atmosphere of the Bienville house was calming and relaxing. It has a beautiful courtyard where there is an outdoor pool. It was wonderful for swimming with the family on hot humid days in New Orleans.
The front desk area was welcoming and clean. When walking in the front doors you could feel the cool breeze of the air conditioner. The staff throughout the hotel treated us very well. At the front desk, especially Tiara, was polite and helpful. We drove in a van for our trip, so we parked in the parking area with Valet assistance. The valet that held on to our keys and parked our van (I think) named Kanye was helpful and accommodating. We also had some issue with our door to our room not opening, and he assisted us in opening it.
We also had many mornings of eating the breakfast provided at the hotel. The food was coffee, cereal, milk, juice and yogurt. They also served muffins and bread items. During our breakfasts at the hotel, where there were two staff members named Robert and Anh who greeted us kindly and assisted us with getting meals for our children.
Also, during our stay we decided to book a ghost tour through the hotel. Thomas was the staff member who helped us get a reservation for the tour. We described the type of tour we were looking for, and he helped us decide on the tour that worked for us. He also gave us a discount on the tour which was great!
The rooms were decorated with the French quarter style in mind which was a nice touch. It was especially neat with the balcony overlooking the courtyard area. Unfortunately, the room air conditioner was inadequately cooling our room, which made us uncomfortable. We also noticed that our room bathroom could use a renovation. Other than that, our family enjoyed our stay at the Bienville House. If we are ever in New Orleans again, we would definitely come back to this hotel. We highly recommend this hotel to all traveling to New Orleans!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony for sure. Preferably without an adjoining room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
It sounds like you and your family had an amazing trip! Thank you for all of your feedback and we hope to see you again soon for another stay at Bienville House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be a decent place to stay. I thought our room was a bit small-ish and awkward... there were 2 chairs by the window that were perfectly useless because the bed was only about 4 inches from them. The courtyard is small but very pretty - a nice place for coffee in the morning. The staff was friendly, especially the young woman from Australia that we chatted with one evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for all of your feedback regarding your stay in New Orleans. The Bienville House is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. We really appreciate your comments and we hope you stay with us once more during your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

It’s always a pleasure tob e there.
The staff let’s you feel like being a part of their family.
We first came as Guest and now return as friends.
This year been my 5th time there during Mardi Gras and it’s still amazing.
When we arrive Miss Cynthia always welcomes us with a big hug coming straight from her heart.
She always introduces us to new staff members and tell them to take care for us (during Mardi Gras some members of our group sometimes need this Care Package *lol*).
What else to say to the Hotel….great place…perfect located to visit both, French Quarte ras well as Warehouse district.
Close to Canal, to the River, to Bourbon-Street and far enough not to have the trouble oft he really crowded places.
Hope I can return there many more times.
Greets from Switzerland

PS: If I rate "How clean is the Hotel" only with a 4 it's 'cause during Mardi-Gras everything is other than the rest of the year in NOLA...so pretty sure it's worthy a 5 when not MG-Time ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan4051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us in New Orleans. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,677 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing