We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Three day trip of New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Three day trip of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay immensely . Great location for French Quarter .Staff was very accommodating. Only downside no in house restaurant at the time of visit. Plenty restaurants in easy walking distance. Even some that deliver if needed. The room we had was kind of small. But it was open to a rooftop terrace that was beautiful and cozy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Milton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are so glad you had a great stay with us at Bienville House! We hope to see you again soon for another great trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    449
    147
    75
    61
See reviews for
289
596
41
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a nice stay here. It is a pretty little hotel in a wonderful location. We were able to walk to every attraction/restaurant we wanted to see. Decatur is exactly where you want to be! The staff was friendly and the bed was very comfortable. The room was clean and charming. My only true complaint is that although the small pool area is very picturesque, there was a ladder leaning against the wall behind a set of pool chairs, and a construction cart (for lack of a better explanation) hanging from the second floor! It definitely took away from the ambiance. I'll definitely give this hotel another try, though! We were pleased.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a balcony or window if that's important to you. We didn't have those, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimco71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so glad you had such a great experience with us at Bienville House!! We hope to see you again soon for another great trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is a boutique hotel so don't expect it to be like one of the big hotel chains. Everything is smaller...the lobby, the elevator, and even some rooms. The older lady at the front desk during the day was nice. They say they have a restaurant but we were told to go to their sister hotel across the street. Overall, I think for my taste I'll stick to one of the bigger chains. Oh the location was great close to lots of smaller bars and restaurants and a 5 minute walk to bourbon street

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houston333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank for you feedback on Bienville House! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I are just finishing up a two night stay at this boutique hotel. Upon arrival we missed the vehicle entrance for valet service due to scaffolding on the sidewalk on either side. . The lobby area is beautiful and small as one would expect in these type hotels. Check in was quick and easy and the lady at front desk and valet were very personable and professional. Our room is beautifully decorated and has French doors opening up to a small balcony overlooking the courtyard below wihich has a small pool.....charming. Bed was comfy and only outside noise noticed were a couple of trains passing through the area. A continental breakfast is served 7-10am which had the typical fare of fruit, yogurt, cereal and pastries. The hotel is in the midst of renovation we were told, but other than some scaffolding hanging down the wall across from our balcony and that at car valet entrance, you wouldn't know it but that may be because ours was a weekend stay. A couple of small negatives were no washcloths in our room when we returned from a day spent in the NOKA humidity and we were told by housekeeping that the linen truck didn't come today and they were out. Would we stay here again? Most definitely!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Showme52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Bienville House and will be staying with us again soon! It sounds like you had a fantastic trip. We hope to see you soon for another great stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We, my daugther, son-in-law and myself, stayed at the Bienville for a December wedding. We had a room with 2 double beds. First we had ants in the beds and bathroom. My daughter and I are very allergic to insect bites of all kinds. Told the front desk and they said that they would take care of it, never did. We were told to call for our car 30 minutes before we need it. We had the bride with us to go to her Bridal Luncheon and we called 30 minutes before and when we arrived to get our car was not there. End up taking a taxi to the luncheon, we were late. Next day, the wedding day, called an hour before, car was there but was blocked in. Almost late to wedding at the church. Got back to the hotel to change for the riverboat wedding and the lock on the door would not work, finally got in. This had been an ongoing problem since we checked in. They repeatly told us that it was the way we were using the keycard but they would have guy fix it. We walked to the boat due to car issues. When we got back to our room, door would not open again we were told it was the way we did the key but non of the staff could it it open. They finally had to break the window to get us in around midnight then they told us that they did not have another room due to 3 other wedding parties there. I had to demand to talk to the manager or his superior before they finally gave us 2 rooms. The only staff that was helpful was the bellperson. We were compensated some on the bill but I will never stay there again. Our friend, the bride, was so disappoint as were the families.

Room Tip: Do not go if there is a holiday, game in town or bridal parties. Plan to walk if it crowded and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us at Bienville House.

We are truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. There is no excuse for your room not being cleaned properly each day of your visit and the issues with your door.Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the service of our staff have been brought to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper and our management team for review.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that we sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Bienville House when we traveled to New Orleans for a summer wedding. Our room was small but lovely with a beautiful four-poster bed. The pool area was secluded and well-kept. This hotel is within walking distance of Bourban Street and many other attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdabhaynes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are so glad you had such a lovely stay with us! We would love to see you again soon for another great stay at Bienville House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Bienville House was a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. My husband and I stayed here one weekend in June while attending a wedding at Jax Brewery. We were on foot and found the location prime for biped exploration. We even walked to/ from the wedding (with me in 4 inch heels mind you!).

The breakfast was typical continental fare -- cereal, sugary yogurts, breads, bagels, scones, milk, juice, and some limited fruit (we only saw apples). The coffee was good. Yes, there is an attendant and she does pour the coffee for you. In the afternoon, we did partake in the cookies and lemonade. Meh... a cute amenity.

The pool barely gets any sun during the day and there are only 2 loungers. When I asked about the pool sun exposure, we were told we could use the rooftop pool at the Monteleone. We gathered our pool bag, walked to the Monteleone, made it to the pool, and could not find an open lounger, chair, or space in the pool. It looked like people stew. That is just not our scene, so we settled for a shady soak at Bienville House.

Our room was large and we were very impressed by the HIGH ceilings. The space was clean and the room was quiet (we faced Peters St.).

The only "problem" we had was with the housekeeping -- our trash was taken out and dirty towels picked up, but the bed was not made and new towels were not dropped off. We saw housekeeping in the halls as we left for the afternoon/ evening and assumed they would get to servicing our room, but they did not. In retrospect, we should have stopped at the front desk to request service.

All in all, would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShuggieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on Bienville House. All of your feedback is much appreciated and we are thrilled you had a great stay with us! We hope to see you again soon for another visit to NOLA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,485 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing