We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing hotel in the heart of the French Quarter”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #55 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing hotel in the heart of the French Quarter”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

First of all up, this was a slightly more expensive hotel then we were hoping to book, but our hand was forced by availability given this was Wrestlemania week which is why we were here! However, for the price we paid there were absolutely no complaints with the quality on offer. Firstly the location is terrific, on Decatur Street which is in the heart of the French Quarter. It is walking distance from Bourbon Street, but not too close meaning you can still have some peace and quiet away from all the partying! Canal Street, one of the main streets in New Orleans is also just a few minutes away, as is the river front and river walk.

The room was a very good size with comfortable beds, comfy chairs, a desk, TV and a safe. Although there wasn’t a window in the room, there was plenty of lighting in the room from all the lamps and shades. You get a complimentary bottle of water on arrival, but only on your first day!

The bathroom is what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre, it was very clean and has everything you need.

The hotel offers a light complimentary breakfast of tea / coffee and a selection of muffins and cakes which were absolutely delicious. Similarly there was a selection of cookies and a lemon drink in the afternoon which also was very refreshing.

The main negative for the hotel is the single elevator, which you can end up waiting a while for and is also very small. However, there are no stairs for the guests, so even though we were only on the 3rd floor we had to wait for the elevator each time.

Overall I would strongly recommend Beinville House as an excellent place to stay in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of the amazing complimentary muffins at breakfast and cookies in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttentiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in April. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    503
    180
    85
    71
See reviews for
329
702
47
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile


I wasn't expecting too much as we were due to arrive during Jazz Fest, and there weren't many hotels available, so I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into Bienville House. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, our room was nicely furnished, clean and of a comfortable size. A continental breakfast was also included in the room price.

Located only a couple of blocks from Bourbon street, we had a variety of dining, bar and shopping choices, however, once in our room, we did not hear a sound from the street.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, clean and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel situated in a quite but convent spot in the French quarter. There is a lovely courtyard where you can eat breakfast and they also have a small bar. The decor is quite traditional but the rooms are comfortable and the beg was huge!! We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisathenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bienville House and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon to the Bienville House for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and every night was very noisy. You can hear everything from outside the street and there's plenty of partying and yelling. Breakfast was poor. All frozen and packaged. Not a nice place to sit down at. Room was nice and clean. Friendly at reception but I would not go back because its not the best price for what you get.

Room Tip: Don't get room facing Decatur St. Or get a higher than second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noemir493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I took my girlfriend on her first tour of New Orleans this past week. We only had one night and day, so I wanted to find a nice little hotel to give her a taste of the city. I've stayed in the typical chain hotels in the city, but I had yet to stay at the Bienville House. I really wish I had discovered this place sooner. The entire place was gorgeous and in the perfect location. Conveniently located just across the street from Landry's Seafood (another place I recommend), you can park your vehicle for the duration of your stay in the hotel's private parking garage and walk the French Quarter.

The decor was perfect for the area. We stayed in a deluxe king room, which was beautiful. Since it is a historic hotel, it does come with the eccentricities of any old home/hotel. In my opinion, that just adds to the charm. I loved everything about the room. The pool was incredible, as well. Very small, but very private and relaxing. There are towels out by the pool for guests, along with tables and lounge chairs. There's even an ATM at the pool. Very convenient so you don't have to find one out on the town.

I only have two very small complaints, and they both revolve around a couple of staff members. The morning we were leaving, there was a knock around 10 am for housekeeping. I politely said no thank you, but she didn't hear me and knocked again. So I basically yelled it but still politely to make sure she would hear. My girlfriend and I were not appropriately dressed at the moment, so I didn't want to go to the door. She apparently did not hear me say no thank you the second time, and she opened the door. While we were not naked, we weren't fully dressed. Instead of being professional and quickly apologizing before backing out of the room, she just yelled "Oh Lord!" and immediately started talking to a coworker outside in the hall about the incident. We could hear her through the door. That showed a complete lack of professionalism on her part.
The other complain came just at noon, which is the checkout time. My girlfriend was running just a few minutes behind on packing her things, so I called down to the front desk and said that I was very sorry but we were running just a few minutes late with checking out. While I understand the checkout time is in place for a reason, I also know that the cleaning staff can't be in every single room at noon to clean for the next guests and there must also be a little bit of flexibility. The lady I spoke with at the front desk said "Um, it's already 12:03." I apologized again, because I did like the other staff and loved the hotel. However, I could have done without the attitude.

Aside from those two small incidents, the stay was perfect. I will come back to stay again. I just hope the professionalism I experienced with the majority of the staff can spread to those two individuals who apparently don't understand that aspect of customer service.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bath tubs. Some have walk-in showers. Be sure to state your preference when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prkr485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in April.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope to see you back at the Bienville House soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We got married in early March and stayed at the Bienville House with most of my family and some friends, and it was perfect. The Sales people we worked with (Isabelle and Maggie) were very helpful and responsive. And the hotel employees were top notch; Miss Beverly and Miss Cynthia were amazing, they were so nice and helpful to my friends and family and they really made our wedding weekend a truly special experience. The location is perfect, very close to everything and the hotel has a lot of character with many unique rooms with patios and the pool/courtyard area is all about New Orleans charm. We couldn't have had a better time!!

Room Tip: The hotel website photos need improvements, they don't have enough to show the differences betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, MI
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We made a reservation really early through this hotels booking site since Easter time is so popular. I wanted a room with a balcony. We got it but the bed size was double (2 doubles), which seemed to be the only room type I could get with a balcony. Given this was a romantic, birthday gift trip for my husband he was not overjoyed. But the room was spacious and bathroom excellent. Maid service was not all that great--missed items on the refills even though we had tipped. Breakfast was no more than muffins/bagels/coffee. Apples were only fresh fruit option and the skins were tough. Server hovering over the coffee urns was very sweet and nice--definitely worth a tip. The staff at consierge and front desk were nice but did not offer many dinner options or literature for us tourists new to NOLA. They kept pushing one or two places and because I have a shellfish allergy, I needed more expert advice than what they knew I guess. I had to wing it with choosing a place to eat. Our first room (#208) was weird. As soon as we settled in, unpacked for the 5 nights and returned from our lunch, the ventilation system for the restaurant kicked in and our room vibrated dramatically all night. The staff said we were above the hotel restaurant venting system and did not offer immediately to help us out. The next morning early I insisted they find a room without that problem. So eventually they called back and found a similar room across courtyard from 208---222. No upgrade for our trouble and the internet in our room never worked properly in that new room. Internet was dodgy anyway I think because so many people were on at same time. We complained and all the desk clerk offered was that the service was functioning properly and so it might be our devices. I think not. I think they have a limited system. We avoided the hotel restaurant because the menu was way too high price and options for me (allergy) were very limited. Only one small elevator at the back of the tiny lobby so it was occupied quite alot. It did work and almost too fast with the doors closing on people. The hotel location is great, and right next to a great handmade candy shop! The Fire House across the street was NOT a problem at all. I had worried when I saw that. I think they must have an agreement with the hotels nearby to keep off the sirens. The pool was icy cold--not heated as promised so I only put my feet in at the edge. The courtyard is tiny and a bit disheveled all the time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 208 and any room above restaurant. Chose room with doors opening to courtyard, no balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreams_of_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 165 in New Orleans
1,309 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 165 in New Orleans
2,275 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#60 of 165 in New Orleans
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,369 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,311 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing