We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years and Anniversary Bliss!”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #54 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
1 review
“New Years and Anniversary Bliss!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Unfortunately we could only stay one night but it was pure bliss! Everything was just perfect for our first anniversary get-away. Truly fabulous room, awesome patio, Fireworks over the Mississippi River, lots of champagne, a nice dinner a few steps down Decatur Street (made earlier reservations not realizing there is a restaurant at the hotel). Everyone at the hotel was so amazingly nice, something so rare these days, but they definitely have the art of hospitality down pat. This was New Years Eve, a terribly hectic time in the city, but they made sure we were treated like royalty. Thanks Bienville House for making our brief stay so wonderful! We will definitely be back (and now we know where to recommend when asked)!!!

Room Tip: 3 very important notes: 1) For fireworks (NYE & 4th of July) reserve early and request the 4t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVS_RUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bienville House and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect anniversary celebration! Please return soon to Bienville House for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    503
    180
    85
    71
See reviews for
329
701
47
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Bienville House is very conveniently located within walking distance of the things we wanted to see and do in New Orleans. Our room was large and comfortable. All the employees were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have a nice, large patio to enjoy if the weather is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseTuscaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at Bienville House! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel while attending a wedding in New Orleans. We enjoyed a sundeck king room on the fourth floor which I would recommend. The staff was very accommodating and helped to make our stay very pleasant. In the past we have stayed at their sister property the Monteleone and will consider this property on any future visits.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank smeadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in December. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at Bienville House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was reasonably satisfied with my stay until I reviewed my credit card statement. A charge of $25 was added for possible damages. This would not have been an issue if I would have been informed of this practice. When I called to inquire, I was told it was standard practice. I've stayed in hotels all over the world and many in N.O. & have never been charged a damage fee. Although I was told the fee would be credited back upon assessment of the room, I wonder since the charge wasn't disclosed until I inquired. I'm left with the task of checking my credit card statement to ensure credit is issued.

Another issue -- I booked through Booking.com, when I called the hotel to confirm my room, they could not find my reservation. It was only after Booking.com called them that the reservation was found.


I was considering making this hotel my go to while in "The Big Easy" but doing business with them is not so easy. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your time joining us. Your remarks have been brought to the management team for review. We do hope to see you again in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here 12/26 - 12/30/2013 for my birthday. In the first room, the tub didn't drain and then black stuff began oozing out of the stopper into the tub of water. It was pretty disgusting. They gave us a new room that did not have a window or ANY HEAT! There are no maintenance people at work on the weekends, so we were given a space heater for a poor substitute. There was no follow up by hotel employees/management. Everyone was "sorry" when we reported issues, but that really seemed like lip service. Customer service and room maintenance really needs work. The hotel bar closes early. The free breakfast tasted awful. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuhljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced.

Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management for review.
I hope you will reconsider your impression of Bienville House and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvell
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I have visited New Orleans and the Bienville House many times and always enjoy and cherish my stay. Always I look forward to my next stay. I' m called by name and my needs and desires are anticipated and met. I always want to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at Bienville House! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great service and location. Upon check-in staff offered an upgrade. Has a very nice continental breakfast off lobby (that can be taken back to your room). Also, this is a historic landmark hotel. Rooms are luxurious. This hotel and the sister hotel, The Monteleone are my favorite hotels in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the elevator are handy yet quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are so pleased that you found Bienville House to be so comfortable! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,280 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
616 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,211 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#35 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing