We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Check in was great- very friendly and welcoming staff. Had no problems leaving our car with Valet (they even looked after it the day we checked out while we went on a tour, and at no charge!). Our room was nice, big enough and the bed very comfortable. The pool and courtyard is very cute and a nice place to relax. Breakfast was fine, not a lot of variety but what was on offer was fresh and tasty. Good location- walking distance to Bourbon St and nightlife but far enough away so it's quiet and feels safer. Would stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Bienville House! We hope you will visit us again in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    447
    147
    74
    61
See reviews for
289
591
41
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely french quarter hotel on a quiet street in the french quarter. Small rooms, but they have character and charm. The pool and courtyard are small but inviting. The continental breakfast was not impressive and the coffee was awful. But, I would stay there again for the price, location and charm.

Note that they accept pets, which meant that there was a yappy dog next to us. Luckily it kept quiet while we slept.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank funfunfunfunfunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed many of our amenities. Your remarks regarding the coffee and breakfast have been brought to the management team for review. We do hope to see you in NOLA again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Reasons not to stay:

1.) Smelly old rooms

2.) Brkfst sucked- nothing but stale pastries

3.) Room was not ready at check in. After roaming the city for 6hrs we decided to return and check for the room since we never received a courtesy call like the clerk said she would. When we returned there was a different clerk at desk who said they were too busy to call! Talk about horrible customer service.

4.) Did I mention horrible customer service!!

5.) Did I also mention that it's dirty! Sticky stuff all over the remote. Granted, remotes are the filthiest items in hotels but c'mon, this was the nastiest I've seen!

6.) No extra bed sheet like requested at the time of reservation. Basically, don't make any requests cos it won't happen.

7.) Wifi connection WEAK!!! You'd be lucky if you got a room with decent connection.

Reasons to stay:

1.) Decent location

2.) Free cookies around 5p.m

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I regret to hear about the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans. I apologize that we failed in our responsibility to you as our guest. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our management for review.

I hope you will reconsider your impression of Bienville House and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambience, and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We made reservations months ago for a double room with a sun patio and arrived early on 10/26, completed early check in and went to a late lunch. We arrived back at 430pm only to be told a water leak caused ceiling damage and we would have to relocate to Monteleone due to them having no other rooms available, but we could come back to the hotel for the continental breakfast and we were given a lower nightly rate along with a upgrade. I was so upset because we planned this around the Krewe of Boo parade that was coming right by the hotel and I was so looking forward to some wine on the patio.. we drove our vehicle and checked in at Moneteleone where we were informed that we were being booked in to a double b/c Bienville had overbooked. I was so upset! Then we were told it was no upgrade, we were in a room similar to what we had at Bienville just no sun garden, but oh we had a view! No we did not, it was all of roof tops! Then we were told that we were booked for one day, I refused to go back to Bienville after one night so they did change it to two days. Monteleone was pretty but our room was ridiculous, the air was awful, but they fixed it, the refrigerator did not work properly, and worst of all we had to walk to catch the parade and get ready in one hour as opposed to two or three b/c of Bienville deciding to kick us to Moneteleone. I feel we were moved b/c we had a great rate due to advanced booking for two days months before we arrived. We will not choose to stay at Bienville House again! They had our phone number but did not call, they lied about the damage when in reality they just overbooked! We did a early check in but it was not worth the paper it was on. The only bright side was the Manager did take care of one night of valet but whatever...such a disappointment!

Room Tip: Don't rely on a early check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NOLARiverCItyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bienville House.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Bienville is a small hotel on Decatur. Top notch service in a quiet location. Excellent continental breakfast. Book a garden terrace room to get away from it all. We parked in the hotel lot which is safe and secure. We also had to wait for check-in which seems to be a common problem.

Room Tip: 4th floor is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the review! Your remarks about check-in have been brought to the management team for review. We hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a lovely and reasonably spacious room and shower. Nicely appointed and quite romantic. Really friendly and helpful staff, in every way. Great location within walking distance of most important things. As usual it was great not having a car there....crowded parking so we were glad to avoid that. I'd give it a 5 star rating, but you could hear everything in the room next to us and up and down the hallway. It's an old hotel that I think was once a house of ill repute, but it's otherwise just terrific. We didn't have a balcony, but that sort of thing isn't an issue for us, a nice court yard area was there, so could have used that. Cobra427sc

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobra427sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind review of Bienville House! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is a great location for NOLA. The rooms very comfortable, great bed, nice linens. We arrived on a weekend when there were 3 wedding parties staying at the hotel. We did not get into our room until 4:30 or so even though checkin is at 3:00 p.m. Staff was very apologetic. The hotel is very quaint and cozy. Not too large and impersonal. Continental breakfast is not anything special. We were in a room that faced the fire station and had a step down the minute you walked into the door of the room.. I nearly killed myself when I walked into the room even though there is a sign on the door that tells you to watch your step. The trash truck also comes along at the crack of dawn if you are in a room that faces Decator street. It was still a lovely place. There are rooms on the 4th floor that have small patio's with tables and that would be a nice place to stay if I were to return to stay there. The front desk staff recommended a great place for breakfast right around the corner and we surely thank her for that. It was the Fluer de Leis cafe. I hold back from 5 stars as I was a bit irritated that we left early in the morning to go on a tour and did not return until nearly 3 p.m and our room still had not been cleaned. The staff came about 4 p.m. and we were in the middle of getting ready for the wedding. However on the day we checked out of the hotel we were a little after noon returning from breakfast and the front desk person was quite curt about check out being at 12 noon and when we went up to get our luggage our room key had already been disabled. I was irritated that the two days prior there was no rush to get us checked in or clean our room but when it was time to leave it was a big rush to get us out to clean the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Bienville House.

I regret that you did receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and glad you enjoyed so many other aspects of our hotel. We hope to see you in NOLA again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,086 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,472 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing