We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel, very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Vaale
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a pleasant stay in New Orleans. he hotel was located very near the center of the town, and it was in addition quite peaceful.. There will always be some noice from the streets but it was not disturbing us.
The rooms was spacious and very nuce, we got a location against the pool area, wich was nice. The frontdesk was very helpful with all requests we had.
There was a small breakfast at the hotel with only a few tables inside, but if there is good weather then the tables outside by the pool was very nice.
The Pool itself was not that inviting, at first sight it seemed a bit dirty, but it wasnt, it was only a colour that made us think so, so when you where at the pool you could see that it was ok, but still, we did not try it out.
We went right out into a busy street, a lot of eating places and squares right nearby, so location was very good.
Sp this was a hotel that can be recommended..

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool area for quiet positioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteinMobalpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location and found our staff helpful. We hope you'll be back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    448
    147
    75
    61
See reviews for
289
595
41
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Clean, comfortable & close to everything. We had a garden view room with a small terrace. The décor is beautiful. We ate at the bar downstairs and it was very good. This is one of the few places in the French Quarter that will let you book for one night. We loved the B&B feel of the establishment. Its a nice break from the chain hotels we normally stay in. The front desk & concierge were very helpful with any questions we had. It was also nice to have a place to park our car as driving/parking in the area is not ideal. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance from the hotel. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/pool view as the street view can be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank your for taking time to review our hotel! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your terrace, as well as our convenient location. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a late arrival, but had not problem finding or checking into the hotel. The front desk staff was so helpful, even telling us the best places to eat late night. We were pedestrian and the hotel was convenient to multiple eating establishments. The room faced a "back street" but it was clean and confortable. We ultimately were happy that we did not have one on the front because it was quiet at night. We asked questions at the desk every morning on directions and attractions and every one was spot on. The staff was friendly and efficient, and they made really helped us have a great taste of NOLA. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Internationalgagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank your for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the recommendations of our staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back to enjoy our hotel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved our stay at the Bienville House. We had a 4th floor, patio room. The patio was cool, with lots of lush plants and a small table. The room was comfortable and as expected for NOLA not large. The 3 of us had plenty of room. The staff was a bit of a mixed bag but overall nice. The front desk staff were super helpful and very sweet, the valet was great and the departing bell hop as well. The bell hop on arrival seemed pretty stressed. He was the only one working and it was a busy time when we arrived. Also, the lady at the continental breakfast was a bit off putting. You could tell she didn't like the fact I like to fix my own coffee. :) The pool is a great little pool in a nice courtyard. Bienville House is located in a great New Orleans locations. It is an easy walk to Jackson Square, Bourbon Street or Riverwalk. I'll be back! Oh, the lady in the next room seemed alarmed when there was loud music playing upon arrival. One should not expect silence anywhere in the French Quarter. It was simply a Riverboat playing load must and passed withing 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed your room accommodations. We will be sure to pass along your comments about our staff and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the near future. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Quaint European style hotel. Lots of history and lovely furnishings. However, we were given small corner room with king bed-- had to turn sideways to walk around bed. Bath door opened onto toilet. Paid $169/night but got smallest room.. Much lower rates with larger rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are very sincerely sorry you felt your room was too small and uncomfortable. We have made a note of it and will look to improve this aspect of our hotel in the future. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay at the Bienville House! From the very first warm welcome, staff went out of their way to make sure our first trip to New Orleans was special. The location on Decatur made walking through the French Quarter easy, our room was lovely and elegant, and our grandson really enjoyed the courtyard pool. Our local AAA office recommended the Bienville as THE place to stay...and we agree!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate it and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location and that your grandson enjoyed our courtyard pool. We hope you will all be back soon to enjoy our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We checked in on a Wednesday for one night stay. The front desk was professional and called us on my cell phone when the room was ready. My niece and I stayed in a room with two double beds. I paid $159 for a two-double bed room. the room is nice, and traditional to the area.
We stayed in 401 and they had pretty patio areas that were so open and looked lovely with the flora!
The room also had an ice machine and elevator right across from us, (kitty corner) but either no one filled up ice, or it was pretty quiet. We slept just fine in the very comfortable beds.
The breakfast was toast, bagels, muffins, and sweet rolls. They had cereal, milk, juice, coffee (out all the time?) and butter, jam-cream cheese.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your room accommodations, as well as our breakfast spread. We hope you'll be back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,240 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,484 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing