We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value historic hotel in great location.”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #54 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas 2012. This is a great value hotel located in the French Quarter and also an easy walk to Canal Street and the Warehouse & Arts District. Smallish but well furnished comfortable rooms, small modern bathrooms, large plasma tvs, continental breakfast snack bar with fresh croissant and bread, bar and pleasant restaurant (popular but as yet unrated), very helpful and friendly reception, own large garage for parking. There is also a patio with dip pool and some rooms have decks.

The location is quiet, not far from the river walk and trams, Jackson Square and Canal St, and we appreciated its closeness to all the shops, bars, restaurants and music venues since it was easy to walk back safely to recharge batteries!

Room Tip: Some rooms have decks for sitting out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buenvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We appreciate you taking time to share your experience of your recent stay at Bienville House. We are so happy to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bienville when we went to NOLA for a wedding. While the location was excellent, the hotel needs a LOT of work. The building smells musty. The rooms are in dire need of an update and a good cleaning. The worst part of it was we didn't have hot water for two days - showering in the already small and not great or well lit shower really sucked with freezing water.

If you're choosing a hotel solely based on location, this one is great. But, know what you're getting into.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Condolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. There is no excuse for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service we are committed to providing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed at many different FQ hotels and this one is a find. What we liked best:
Well-priced
Perfectly located
Friendly staff
Amazing heated, saltwater pool
Comfortable, clean, quiet room

We will return!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank lsquaredbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We are so happy to hear you have had such wonderful experiences at Bienville House Hotel. Thank you for taking time out to review your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed with a few friends over Christmas, 2012. Hotel was walkable from most attractions in the French quarter.. They also have a convenient parking lot for your car.

Room opens up to this lovely patio with a table and four chairs.. Given the weather, was nice to hang there while waiting for friends or just sipping on some coffee and browsing the net.

A more comfortable bed would have been welcome since my back didn't quite agree with the slightly saggy ones they had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and had a chance to relax on the tranquil patio between adventures exploring the French Quarter. Your remarks about your bed have been noted and have been brought to the attention of our management team. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at the Bienville House for a wedding this fall. It was nice enough. For the price, I thought the rooms were small and the bathrooms even smaller. While this is to be expected for a historic hotel like this, I would have liked more space and a more comfortable bed. The hotel is in an excellent location - walking distance to nearly everything you could want to do. The lobby and bar area were very nice and the staff was accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to New Orleans. We do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a wonderful space to stay while visiting New Orleans. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and do hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Bienville House was great!! Cynthia at the front desk was so nice and accomodating. When the heat couldn't be fixed in my in-laws' room, she upgraded them to the "penthouse suite". The rooms were so charming and clean. The location is great for walking everywhere and the breakfast was a nice way to start the day. Can't wait to go back when it warms up and really enjoy the courtyard and pool with all the beautiful plants and flowers. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melwilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be nice and helpful. We're happy Cynthia was able to accommodate your needs during your stay. We would love to see you again when New Orleans warms up so you can enjoy the pool and courtyard area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had a wonderful staybat this historic hotel. The service was fantastic and the rooms were beautiful. Beds very comfortable. If I had to say anything negative it would be that the bathroom is a little small. I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank sarita888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We're so glad to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your accommodations and our hotel service to be exceptional. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us here, and hope to see you again on your next New Orleans visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,341 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
2,730 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#63 of 166 in New Orleans
1,030 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#37 of 166 in New Orleans
610 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $171 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment. It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing