We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Couples Retreat”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #55 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This boutique hotel felt like a dream in the heart of the French Quarter. Great walking distance (only 3 blocks!) from Canal St and Bourbon St. The hotel felt friendly and was very lovely! The staff was equally as charming as the cozy (and petite) rooms.

The pool was a bit small, but still very refreshing for hot Nawlins days in the summer. My only complaint (and this is really splitting hairs) is that the towels and sheets were changed only every 3 days, unless otherwise requested, due to the drought.

A big concern of mine was that one evening my boyfriend and I returned to our room very late and the door was ajar. Not simply unlocked... OPEN. I was scared for several reason, however nothing seemed to be missing or damaged. Upon checkout the following morning we notified the staff and they assured us that if any items were later report missing by us they would make every effort to correct things.

Overall, a dream vacation!

Room Tip: Bottom floor does not have real windows, make sure to get one that does!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us at Bienville House Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful visit and enjoyed our location and the ability to easily walk to the attractions in the New Orleans French Quarter. We're glad you were able to relax by the pool for a refreshing reprieve from exploring the city. We're glad to know that our staff was able to help you with the incident with the door and it caused you no inconvenience. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

we read the reviews and thought we knew what to expect.. its a hotel in the French quarter- great location for seeing the French Quarter/Jackson square and all the tourist stuff we wanted. Yes, its a bit tatty, and could do with renovation- but its clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff- well some were really nice and helpful and others were rude and not helpful. Our room was large with a nice bathroom. good double glazing- didn't hear the Jazz club on Friday night! would like to have been able to open a window. the room wasn't cold but agree difficult to get the temperature right. Breakfast was great fun- we think the lady who guards the coffee has the cost of breakfast deducted from her salary! she is funny. she clears up early- one morning she was clearing up 30mins early and got rid of the milk.. then told people there was no milk to go with their cereal! another morning she said there was no cereal- we knew she has a cupboard full! she also has a really annoying habit of checking how well done your toast is all the time and toaster is rubbish! we didn't tip her though perhaps we should have for entertainment value alone!
we had tea and coffee in our room- would have been nice to have had more tea bags- only 2 left and pots of milk rather than the powdered creamer. little niggles really.
I would stay there again despite the faults. the room was comfortable and it met our requirements.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience at Bienville House Hotel. Your remarks regarding breakfast service are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and your visit to New Orleans. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently. The hotel is located at the edge of the French Quarter and is near the river.

This is one of these hotels where there is no atmosphere or vibe. It lacks a warmt which is an essential part of a hotel. The staff are attentive enough but have a tendency to huddle together and discuss important things such as work Rotas and shifts. Something that should be done in front of paying customers.

As mentioned by earlier reviewers there is a problem with a centrally controlled air conditioning system. This meant that when we stayed the rooms were so cold it was practically unbearable. How can it be in 2012 that a hotel in this star range does not have in room controlled air con.

A continental breakfast is included which is basic, certainly no fresh baguettes or croissants! The lady who serves the breakfast is nice, helpful and courteous. Very professional.

The hotel decor is very outdated with the over use of pink stone wash - my guess is to cover up a multitude of sins. The bathroom did not have a bath plug and the clothes closet smelled like someone had mistaken it for the bathroom and had been sick in there.

This hotel needs renovation and TLC.

There are some nice guest house two miles from the centre which I would recommend over staying in the overpriced French Quarter.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Bienville House Hotel.We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on service. Your comments are well taken and have been brought to our management team for review. We do hope that you will allow us the future opportunity to display to you the level of service and hospitality upon which our reputation is based.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Bring your furs and sled dogs and be prepared to spend a frigid night. The AC has one setting: on. The staff could care less but will offer to move you to another meat locker where you and your family can warm your hands by the glow of the coffee maker.

Room Tip: Find a hotel with independent AC controls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent visit to New Orleans and stay at Bienville House. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on service and hospitality. Your comments are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our Management. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that we sincerely apologize. We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visited New Orleans mid-September. We had a double bed room overlooking the inner courtyard on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Clean room. Nicely decorated. Beautiful courtyard. We spent our afternoons sitting in the courtyard by the pool. Not a huge pool, but wonderful for taking a relaxing dip. Good drinks at the bar. Walked to everywhere from our hotel or cabbed it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiaLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your recent visit to New Orleans and stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your accommodations, our courtyard and pool and our location in the New Orleans French Quarter. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a great place to stay as home base for a weekend (or longer) of exploring the French Quarter and beyond. Only a few blocks from Jackson Square, Harrah's Casino, the river front, art shops of Royal Street, this hotel is just far enough from Bourbon St. to get away from the noise and chaos.

The hotel is beautifully decorated. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. We had a standard interior king room (no windows), and it was not at all claustrophobic. The mattress and pillows were comfy. The bath amenities were nice, and the complimentary bottled water was a great addition to the tea and coffee maker in the room. The hotel has free wi-fi in the room and common areas, but the signal strength was sketchy. There is also a PC for guest use in the lobby.

The staff were some of the warmest I've met. The folks at the front desk greeted us with a warm smile and asked about our adventures of the day, each time we walked into the hotel. The couple who look after the continental breakfast are so sweet, always ready to toast a bagel, or pour a coffee for the guests.

The hotel was very quiet. Even with a large wedding party in the hotel we didn't hear anything in our room. The courtyard and its heated pool are stunning - an amazingly tranquil place to enjoy a coffee or a cocktail.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel. We had dinner there on the last trip but it was number of years ago so I don't want to comment.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Save a few $$ and take a standard interior room. It's very quiet, and you'll hardly notice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebSchwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We are so glad to hear you have had such wonderful experiences with us at Bienville House Hotel. We're so glad to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations, pool area and location. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Bienville House is strange. It is a number of old buildings morphed into one crazy hotel. Our room was third floor, down a ramp, turn right, pick the right hallway and turn left, another left, bingo. The room was small but very clean. I think the rooms are very different from each other because of the way the place has morphed. The last reviewer said he had no windows, we had three, in a very small room. There is no reason to not stay here.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank ksmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We appreciate you taking time to share your review of your recent stay at Bienville House Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will join us again on your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#58 of 166 in New Orleans
1,662 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,313 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#41 of 166 in New Orleans
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,703 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,878 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $171 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment. It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing