We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a wonderful stay.”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #53 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houma, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a wonderful stay.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel was clean and beautiful and the location was great. The staff was very pleasant and helpful from housekeeping to the front desk to the valet. The room was very nice and the price was excellent as well. Without question, my wife and I will stay at the Bienville House again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    502
    179
    85
    71
See reviews for
329
698
47
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This boutique hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were large, beautifully decorated and the location was perfect in the heart of the French Quarter. Our room featured a large balcony which was a nice addition. The price of the room was a steal and staff were attentive and friendly. The hotel is located about a half block from the House of Blues. Continental breakfast was included too!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atraveler246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice central location close to many restaurants and shops in the French Quarter.
Valet parking was convenient, there was nowhere else to park and priced as expected for a central location.
Very ornate and beautiful boutique hotel, the room was very spacious with a good bed and a good shower in an en suite.
Breakfast was continental and a good choice of products available. There were complimentary drinks and cookies available in the afternoon in the breakfast area.
Concierge and the reception staff were quite helpful when needed even when asked for obscure directions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmaond va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great boutique hotel to stay in French Quarters. Since it is a smaller hotel we got to interact with staff. Front desk would always address us by name. Our room was nice sized, clean and set in New Orleans decor.. Had french doors leading to patio that overlooked pool, river and street so we were able to watch horse and buggies go by.. Had continental breakfast every morning and fresh lemonade and cookies were put out for guests every afternoon. Got to mingle with other guests which made it feel more like a family atmosphere. Had a fire station across the street so we felt safe coming in late at night. Our hotel area was not noisy at night and we were in walking distance to all of the great restaurants and attractions..This was our second time staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balacony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymac221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

What a beautiful place on a perfect location! But....not well kept, everything needs to be cleaned up properly. hallway and room really dusty and dirty! bathroom not clean at all, stains on de towels! Breakfast... a disaster: 3 tables inside for the whole hotel, as it was raining and nobody could sit outside imagine the chaos!!
Absolutely not a 4 star hotel on the inside

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House Hotel. We regret that during your stay you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I recently had a two week class in New Orleans. I originally booked The Holiday Inn, on Royal. I checked into The Holiday Inn and immediately checked out. It was so nasty. Thankfully The Bienville House accommodated me for my stay. Thank you again! I will never stray from The Bienville House again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,Tx
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Me and my family went to New Orleans for a 2 day trip and decided to stay at this Hotel. It was an amazing stay for the location and the price. My room was very clean with french doors opening to a balcony of my own. The staff was friendly and the location was wonderful at the French Quarter. This was my first time staying at this hotel and I was very impressed and satisfied. They have valet parking and a breakfast/lunch buffet. The House of Blues is one block right across the street and Bourbon St. is three blocks up...with the Audubon Aquiarium just 2 blocks down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewAustin_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing