We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bienville House to your Saves list
Bienville House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel was everything I was looking for during our stay in New Orleans. The hotel is located near the end of Decatur Street closer to the financial district/downtown so it's a bit recessed from the hubbub of the heart of French Quarter but a VERY short walk to hubbub if that's what you want. I wanted a little bit of quiet at night to sleep so I was fine with not being in the middle of the ruckus. Decatur Street also happens to have lots of great bars, shops and restaurants all along it, and if you're a relatively fast walker, you can get to almost anywhere in the French Quarter walking within 20-30 minutes. Our room was very quiet and I was never woken up once, even though we were right across the street from a fire station and our window faced it. I wasn't even sure the firemen ever went out! A handful of amazing restaurants are right around the corner from the hotel, including Antoine's (highly recommended, as a side note), which is one of the oldest restaurants in New Orleans and home of the original Oysters Rockefeller. I would absolutely come back for another stay at this affordable French Quarter hotel.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel so not every room comes with a window. Make sure you choose a Deluxe room if wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    433
    146
    71
    59
See reviews for
274
566
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

In an excellent location in the French Quarter to explore everything the area has to offer on foot including the terminal for river cruises on the famous steamboat 'Nachez' and Bourbon Street which comes alive at night.

The hotel has maintained its character during a recent refurbishment and offers quality, clean accomodation at affordable prices. The small outside pool and patio an added bonus though NOLA was very cold when we were there on the run up to Mardi Gras.

The only downside is the breakfast area and what is on offer. Machine ( though acceptable) coffee, cereals, pastries and toast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jubits8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

New Orleans is loaded with hotel options. This one will not disappoint if you you want convenient charm. Lovely courtyard and pool, breakfast (albeit limited) and excellent location is all you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stay at the Bienville House whenever I go to New Orleans. The hotel and rooms are always clean. The staff is wonderful and knowledgeable. The location is perfect. This is the Hotel I recommend to friends visiting The Big Easy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a great place to stay during Mardi Gras. It's far enough away from the noise Bourbon Street, but close enough to all the action so you can get there when you feel the need. It's in the French Quarter and central to all the restaurants and shopping. The staff are wonderful and know the area if you need any guidance.

We stayed in a room with a small balcony which overlooked the beautiful courtyard and swimming pool. By the way, I swam in the pool most every morning. Very refreshing.

Angela booked our stay and I can't say enough about her. She went out of her way to ensure our group had a great experience and is very knowledgeable about Mardi Gras and what to see & do while there. This made our stay even more enjoyable.

They offer a continental breakfast in the lobby every morning. Very good, and the lady attending it is friendly and attentive.

The Iris restaurant is just off the lobby and although we were too busy to try the food (next time!), I did stop in for cocktail (or two) and found the mixologist, Sharon, to be one of the best I've had the pleasure of meeting. She can mix all the classics, but if you are adventurous she can make you one of her specialties which are amazing.

All in all, this is a fun place to stay. No hotel can be perfect, but it's really the staff who make or break a hotel. And this place has that covered.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay and found this hotel to be excellent in all respects, and the location is fabulous. We stayed in a Sun Deck room on the 4th floor, facing the back, which was very quiet and spacious for a boutique hotel. Staff was excellent, everything was clean and well cared for, continental breakfast was fresh and adequate. This hotel is central to the
French Quarter, to the Riverfront area and also to get to the St Charles streetcar line to travel out to places like the WW II museum, and the Garden section. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Sun Deck room are a nice size and no one above you. We did not use the patio area outside but that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PittsburghTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Bienville House was recommended to us by people that lived in New Orleans. The hotel is quaint and the location is perfect. We were close enough to Bourbon Street to walk but not so close that we felt that we could never sleep! I ran every morning along the river front which as easy to get to from this hotel. We opted for a room without a balcony or view but our room was much more spacious than our friend's room with the balcony/view. We highly recommend taking the Katrina tour which was actually more of a NOLA history tour.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coloradobumpskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,675 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing