We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don"t let the bed bugs bite...”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #56 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bienville House and got eaten alive by bedbugs. Discusting!!! The staff were very friendly and helpful while we were there but when I called them to report the bed bug situation the lady just said sorry and brushed it off . On a happier note this hotel is in a great location and is walking distance from Bourbon and Frenchman Street. Would we stay there again probably not......

Room Tip: Inspect your room and mattress first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSales, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Tania K,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House.

We regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at the Bienville House in New Orleans over Christmas 2011. The stay was wonderful! We were able to switch rooms to one with a view of the Mississippi and to be able to see the ships and even the Natchez cruise by our window was great. The only concern was the street noise at night but it was the holidays and the French Quarter was full of visitors so it was sort of expected. This boutique hotel was decorated very nicely, the king 4 poster beds were exceptional and even the continental breakfast served from 7:00 - 10:00 am was pretty good. I would definately stay here on a future stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the river are nicest. The other side of the building faces a fire hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crdonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSales, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear crdonahue,

Thank you for choosing the Bienville House on your recent trip to New Orleans. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I travel frequently to New Orleans and this trip stayed at the Bienville House. It has a great location a few blocks from Jackson Square and a few blocks from Bourbon Street. Check in was a breeze and our room was quite large, at least by New Orleans standards, with a King size four post bed and good amount of room. The room was very clean and maid service was good. There was a continental breakfast daily in the lobby included in the room price. There is a very small pool in the courtyard. There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel, but we didn't go to either of them. Considering the price ($90 a night) and the location, I would definitely stay at the Bienville House again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wordman113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSales, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Wordman113,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in New Orleans and at the Bienville House. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We LOVED our Christmas stay at the Bienville House! As others have mentioned, it's ideally located -- within easy walking distance of so much, yet at the same time pretty quiet. We didn't avail ourselves of the free continental breakfast except for coffee (the beignet siren call was too hard to resist) but it looked fine. There are also complimentary afternoon snacks. The staff was genuinely friendly. Our rate was fantastic, and this inn oozes New Orleans charm compared to the newer chain hotels. It's old, yes, but not in the least run down like some other properties we've visited. Our family party of four all agree it will be our number-one choice for future Nola visits.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a non-interior room. The balconies/patios are great. We were on the fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegeen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Steps from everywhere you want to go...in the French Quarter, a couple blocks from Jackson Square and Cafe Du Monde, an easy walk to Canal Place and the St. Charles streetcar line...it could not have been more perfect. Guest room was spacious, high ceilinged and lovely, with a chandelier, beautiful designer linens and an iron balcony overlooking their totally enclosed courtyard and pool. Breakfast was terrific (if you like carbs!) and the coffee was stellar. The public areas were elegant. Modern convenience was given a nod with a convenient I-pod/phone/pad charging station and a computer in the lobby for printing boarding passes and such. I did not use the parking facility but it was adjacent (probably quite pricey, too) and very convenient. Walked everywhere except the Garden District and took the streetcar for that. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uptowngirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Bought this deal thru travelzoo and got complimentary continental breakfast daily and a double double bed room? Beware of the $30.00 small SUV parking fee daily! They were immediately responsive with a requested fridge - no charge, either - first rate service there. They were pleasant on greeting us in and out of the hotel at each exit and entry.

Depending on how important housekeeping is to you, the following may make a big difference...the room gets no vacuuming, barely a tub rinse is completed and no sheet changes. I quit tipping after day two because although they got most of the VERY LARGE COCKROACH I killed on day two, they left a few of the leg and parts on the carpet. Powdered sugar was still lying there on the floor on day four from some of the wonderful beignets we ate on our first evening. Housekeeping basically changes towels and halfway straightens your bed but doesn't make it up. Aside fom this, everything else went fairly well and I adored their courtyards outside our door.

Also, of import is this: hotel bienville is across from the French Quarter fire station and several bars! This place is NOT quiet so bring earplugs and you will be fine unless you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is top floor and suites and all rooms share a courtyard between five rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FancyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is a great little hotel in the French Quarter. We have stayed there many times, and entire staff: Adreince, Justin, Lusicous, Beverly, Brittney, Cynthia, Dwain, Alice , and Ahn always treat my wife land I ike family. All of them have been there for years, which is a rare think in the hotel business. The Continental Brekfast, serving by Ahn, always has fresh pastries, and strong New Orleans coffee. There recommendations for things to do, see, and eat are always "spot on."

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#61 of 167 in New Orleans
1,014 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,353 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 167 in New Orleans
2,298 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#57 of 167 in New Orleans
1,649 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $173 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing