We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHARMING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel St. Pierre
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CHARMING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

First time staying here and loved the location and our room! The hotel is a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street (walked to Bourbon every night and felt very safe walking to and from). Hotel is on a quiet street and perfect for a stroll to busy Bourbon Street- takes 5 minutes or less. The streets are narrow and the blocks are short. Going towards Bourbon Street, just a block or two is a small diner on the corner with a good breakfast (under $17 for 2 people) and they have good hamburgers too.
The most convenient part is the free parking. The lot is very small (just across the street), and it is first come, first serve. We were lucky to get a spot every night except one and we had to park several blocks away, but the walk wasn't bad and paid $3/day. Lot was fenced in with an all-night attendant. Parking is very expensive, stayed at another hotel the first night before changing over and the parking was $28/day! This hotel was worth the price in free parking.
Our room was small, but quaint. Nothing fancy, but enjoyed the change from all the common hotel rooms. It poured down raining one night and I enjoyed opening up the french doors to listen to the rain. Bathroom was large, had just been remodeled with tile, new cabinets, etc. Only thing to remember: NO HAIR DRYER. Make sure you bring one! All room doors are outside, but hotel perimeters are closed in and gated. At night have to go past front desk to go to your room when gate is locked. Everyone was very friendly definitely would stay there again.
One restaurant you have to go to is Drago's Restaurant (check out their website on the internet for menu) in the Hilton Hotel New Orleans Riverside on 2 Poydras Street. I'm not a fan of Hotel restaurants, but it is unbelieveably fantastic! The restaurant is huge, and obviously a hometown favorite because it is packed with people every night. Just on the backside of Harrah's casino near Bourbon Street. You get large portions of food and the desserts are awesome-the brownie dessert feeds 4 people. I don't like oysters on the half shell, but these were the best I have ever had. They put them on an open grill with butter and garlic and cook them and serve them with fresh bread - never had anything better.

  • Liked — Clean, near Bourbon Street, parking free
  • Disliked — Small Parking area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shackry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    441
    195
    92
    142
See reviews for
254
537
63
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

The hotel was charming and (for the most part) the staff were very friendly and accomodating.

We were there for 11 days and our maid knew us by name and was very conciderate about waiting for us to leave for the day before cleaning our room, to spite her busy schedule.

The price (at the time) was very reasonable for such a great location and the room was nice. It was on the small side, the window Air Conditioning unit was "ify" at best and the bathroom was not in the best of shape, but it was clean.

Having lived in New Orleans for several years, I knew what to expect. I can see how someone who was familiar with staying at generic homogonized chain hotels might be "put off" by the state of most of the older hotels and B&B's in New Orleans. Even the "nicer" ones seem to be in a slight state of decay.

But for those who can appreciate the charm of a historic and well worn building you won't be disapointed. If you are not THAT person...you might want to avoid New Orleans entirely.

We looked into staying there again recently and were a little shocked by how much the rates had gone up.

  • Liked — You Can Not Beat The Location!
  • Disliked — They could make some updates to the rooms and still retain the historic charm of the buildings.
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RCC_LBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

We had an unfortunate situation in which we had something stolen from our room. In addition, our room was in a noisy location. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank TrustedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

This was our first visit to the Hotel St. Pierre and it will not be our last. At every turn we met with friendly and helpful staff and a sense of old world charm that was relaxing and welcoming.

Upon arrival we were met by a friendly employee behind the desk though we were somewhat uncomfortable with the fact the 'secured' parking was a small narrow lot across the street with cameras surveying it. A small barrier is dragged into the middle of the entrance when the lot is full. They were honest and upfront enough with us to recommend we leave our car there if we didn't need to use it to get around the French Quarter because they could not recommend a parking space would be available once the lot filled up. All other hotels we checked that had parking areas charged at least $20. This cost nothing and we never needed our car.

The hotel is in a residential section of the French Quarter. Most sites of interest are within an easy walk and there are several trolleys as well as numerous cabs that can get you around town with ease.

Our room turned out to be a very comfortable and clean though the bathroom is in need of an update (no stopper in sink and flaking paint on tiles above the bathtub). Are we complaining? Absolutely not! The entire property is filled with charm and friendly staff.

Take time to wander around and find out about this property. The house we stayed in was over 250 years old and in very good repair.

As always, this is in the French Quarter and while the area is comfortable and relatively safe for the pedestrian, we do not recommend travelling off the grounds after the late, late hours of the night.

  • Liked — Historic charm
  • Disliked — Bath needing update
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopazMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights over the Memorial Day weekend and had a wonderful time. Hotel is right in the heart of the Quarter so you can walk to everthing, but far enough off the beaten track (read Bourbon St) that it was quiet and secluded.

We stayed in the building across the street from the office, pool, etc. Our rooms (one upstairs, one down) were gathered around a beautiful courtyard of plants and fountain. The rooms themselves were up to date and nicely appointed. In fact while the outside of the hotel seemed a bit faded (as much of the Quarter does), we were happy to find the rooms to be so nice!

Rooms come with a continental style breakfast which wasn't that good to be honest, but it hardly matters since one misses the whole point of New Orleans by eating at their hotel...

All in all great rooms in a great location at a great price. We will stay at the St Pierre any time we want to stay in the Quarter!

  • Liked — Quiet atmosphere and location
  • Disliked — Again the breakfast, but we didn't really want to eat there anyway...
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NateJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sletton4587
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel St. Pierre. Neat, clean rooms and friendly staff. From the fresh flowers in the lobby to the great location in the French Quarter...we will be back soon!

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — internet conections
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sjetton4587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

This hotel does have some nice points - very good location within walking distance to everything, the staff couldn't be nicer, and the courtyards are really beautiful - very nice oasis from the bustle of the French Quarter. However, the hotel has definitely seen better days. When we checked in, we were given a room with a balcony, which we thought would be great...until we tried to open the door and it literally fell right off the hinges! The bathroom also had some issues, including a non-draining shower/bathtub, and white(?) window blinds that were so dirty they were nearly black. Maybe it was just a fluke that we got the one bad room - the hotel seemed otherwise clean, and other photos posted here show rooms that definitely look better than ours did. We probably would not choose to stay here again though based on our experience, but for the price and excellent location, you could probably do a lot worse.

  • Liked — beautiful courtyard
  • Disliked — needed some repairs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank airplaneruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#119 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Pierre

Property: Hotel St. Pierre
Address: 911 Burgundy St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#83 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $32.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing