We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College kids only”
Review of Hotel St. Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Pierre
Ranked #65 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed May 20, 2008

The good news is the hotel has a pool.....the bad news is the hotel management staff is so weak, the college kids are allowed to stumble home from Bourbon St and hang out by the pool until 1:30 am. The courtyard is small so most rooms are impacted by the noise. If you're looking for a decent nights sleep.....keep looking.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank TnSteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Pierre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2008

If you're looking for a generic high-rise hotel with a faceless staff and a dull but predictable experience that could occur in any city in the United States, Hotel St. Pierre is most definitely not for you! But if you want to indulge yourself in an authentic New Orleans/Old South experience in a small, quaint , French Quarter hotel complete with a cozy courtyard and unbelievably warm and generous staff, then quickly reserve your room here now!

Our connecting suites located upstairs above the pool were huge and comfortable and each featured refrigerators, (grab the most unbelievable New Orleans Po-Boy sandwiches and a cold beer at a little neighborhood grocery across the street!) large living rooms, and comfortable, well-appointed beds. The exposed brick walls lended an air of Old World charm and we appreciated the easy proximity to the charming courtyard where several groups of guests frequently gathered in the evening and swam in the small size pool. Free continental breakfasts each morning featured a wide array of pastries and New Orlean's own Community-brand coffee--and free wireless internet. Everything in the Quarter is within easy walking distance (try the wonderful corner restaurant "Eat" just a block away) and soak in the architecture, lush gardens, and pace of this charming area.

What made this experience immeasurably wonderful for us was the truly remarkable small team of hotel employees who genuinely cared about our comfort and entertainment. They seemed to truly enjoy providing outstanding service but rather than appearing "scripted" and "programmed", these local New Orleans folks allowed us to get to know them and it began to feel like we were staying in their home. Ask Coral about how life feels to her now that she, only just now, has finally moved back in her home after hurricane Katrina. She is a pure delight who clearly, like so many others there, prevailed against all odds and seem to celebrate life daily. Or ask Gary, the seasoned hotel manager about the best music clubs in town and the best restaurants for any occasion or taste--I doubt he gets paid extra to be the concierge! Believe me when I tell you that these people, along with Anthony, Gary, and Thomas, all have opinions about their beloved city and all are unbelievably great resources on what to do and where to go. Our satisfaction was their passion and we greatly appreciated the great amount of time each of them spent with us. Sit down at the internet computer in the charming and cozy lobby and just strike up a conversation with these folks--you will now begin to experience all the things that probably compelled you to visit New Orleans in the first place. Enjoy this surprising gem.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Giddygetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

It was my first time in N.O. and I l really enjoyed my stay at the St. Pierre. Nothing fancy, it's a place with old charm, though few amenities, yet it had everything I needed. Very clean room and nice staff. They set out a nice complimentary pastry tray and coffee in the morning. I enjoyed relaxing around the pool though I did not use the pool. I think they do everything they can to make you feel comfortable. My only complaint was the water pressure in the shower was low and the temperature luke warm. Otherwise, Burgundy Street is in a quiet area, out of the way, but not too far from Bourbon St. The only reason I may not stay there again is there are so many other choices, but for value, you can't beat it.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Nancyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Recently stayed at the St Pierre with a friend for a four night stay. Had in the past stayed at the W, the Royal Sonesta, and the Sheraton, and I can say that for the price, the St. Pierre is a great place if you are a traveler and not a tourist. If you are looking for something with a little charm, history, and basically a place to sleep out of the way, than the St. Pierre is perfect.
We had a room overlooking Burgundy St with a balcony accessed by the floor to ceiling window. Granted, the paint job in the room wasn't the greatest, and the window sill was weathered, but it was clean, the staff was more than friendly and helpful, and it was for the most part quiet. We did notice that the hallway noise was more noticeable than normal from inside the room, but it wasn't bad.
They are doing construction, so if you are staying during M-F, then be prepared for the possibility of hammering on the roof around eight a.m. We rose around that time anyway, so it didn't bother us.
All in all, we had no problems with the St. Pierre and would stay there again. If you are the type of person that needs every amenity under the sun, than head to the Holiday Inn. But if you want to experience a historical building and get a real feel for New Orleans, than the St. Pierre will do the trick.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NYJeepGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Wonderful time at the Hotel St. Pierre in the French Quarter, New Orleans. Charming and neat. We loved sitting in the courtyards and being right in the French Quarter. The clean, well kept rooms, in historic buildings, were very nice. Great value, perfect location in the French Quarter. We will be back for Satchmo Fest this Summer!
SJS in Dallas, TX

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sjsdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We were told the hotel had secured parking. A video camera is not my idea of secured. I wasn't about to leave my brand new Screamin Eagle Road King in a gravel parking lot with no fence or gate during Mardi Gras. Went to Bourbon St. and stayed at the Biene Hotel. Covered indoor parking and an award winning staff and only $109 a night. St. Pierre charged us $214. St. Pierre managerGary Morganstern was no help.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chromee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

I stay at the St. Pierre frequently. I love the location of the hotel and the quality of the rooms improve with every visit. I've watched the hotel transform itself from merely an adequate, clean place to crash after a night on Bourbon St. to a stylish, charming and comfortable historic property.

On my last visit, my room had just undergone a compete renovation, with new bedding, furniture, carpet, bathroom, complete paint job and new heat/ AC.

My only complaint was that I was in the main building across from the breakfast room, and there was a bit of noise in the morning. I didn't complain to the desk, and I'm sure if I had they would have asked the other guests to keep it down. But, to be fair it was after 8AM. So, I just strolled across the hall and loaded up on coffee and pastries and I was all set.

I've stayed in the large chain hotels and the historic hotels. I can tell you that no hotel is without some issue. The big hotels near Canal St. are noisy, the elevators are crowded, the walk back at night is scary and they lack charm. The St. Pierre on the other hand is in a quiet neighborhood and full of character.

You must decide what is important to you, but for my money I'll take quiet, safe, comfortable historical ambiance.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Atlguy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#57 of 165 in New Orleans
589 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#108 of 165 in New Orleans
861 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 165 in New Orleans
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 165 in New Orleans
2,284 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#42 of 165 in New Orleans
792 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#22 of 165 in New Orleans
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Pierre

Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#83 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $116 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $39.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing