We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has great potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Pierre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Pierre
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
san diego
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This hotel has great potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The number one reason why anyone who visits NOLA should consider staying here is that the property is designated as an historical site. Louis Armstrong and Tennessee Williams visited here, and I believe the hotel is close to 180 years old. The problem is this property has not been appropriately maintained over the years- the rooms are small, shabby, and have no amenities whatsoever. The furniture is cheap, sparse, and worn. Thus, if you are a Hyatt or Marriott type of person, this is absolutely not the place for you. The property has recently been bought by new owners, and they are in the early stages of re-doing the entire hotel to make it more of an upscale, boutique hotel. I saw the plans, and it's going to be beautiful when it's done. The walls are paper thin, and believe me when I say that you can hear absolutely EVERYTHING (clear as a bell) going on in adjacent rooms, including (illegal) activities from very sketchy and unsavory characters. The best part about the hotel (besides the history and close proximity to everything in the French Quarter) are the amazing courtyards and hidden alleys. The new owners did an great job creating beautiful, relaxing outdoor sitting areas filled with gorgeous plants, trees, and flowers. I had an opportunity to meet the owner, who is very pleasant and professional. The rest of the staff was an interesting mix of people- some genuinely kind and friendly (security guard, night time front desk worker) while others were simply indifferent. The entire property is gated, and in a quiet area of the Quarter. Overall, I think I would consider staying here again once all the upgrades are complete, and only if part of those upgrades include better soundproofing between rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeylvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    328
    158
    76
    128
See reviews for
187
381
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

1. The location is great, you can walk to just about everywhere.
2. Staff is so-so.
3. Lobby is nice.
4. Courtyards are nice.
5. Not all the rooms are the same/equal. Some are extremely plain. Some because of their location are extremely loud. If you don't like your room ask at the desk to change to another room (I know many people were doing that - including our son).
6. Breakfast area just OK. Breakfast selections were limited but the bagels and doughnuts were very good. Coffee strength was very weak. Stocking of items seem to be haphazard and one day the pastry supply ran out before the breakfast hours were up.
7. Definitely look at booking on Hotels.com (it was cheaper than booking directly with the hotel).
8. The hotel is scheduled for remodeling in the summer of 2013. It looks like the "common" areas will get a major up-grade (architect drawings look very nice). I don't think the staff will be up to the task of higher expectations that will accompany the remodeling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was here April 5-6 for a bachelorette party. I was not the planner but along for the ride. It was a cute hotel and great for our purposes. The staff was very helpful as I was the first of the party to arrive and the reservation was not in my name. They helped check us in early so I could rest and decorate our suites before the rest of the party showed up. Beware of the price of parking and that it can take 30 minutes to get your car back if you want to go exploring farther away than the quarter. The breakfast is below average and they were out of some items.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

St. Pierre wasn't bad, tiny room could barely walk around the bed. There wasn't anywhere in the bathroom to put toiletries.

We rented it off Hotel.com and for the money it was in a great location.

Going back in May not staying there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 43dll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Found this place on trip advisor. It seemed to have the authentic French Quarter feel I was looking for in a hotel.

Pros: The location was great. We could walk everywhere. It had the French Quarter look with a little quad in the back.

Cons: The staff was NOT friendly or helpful. There was one woman at the front desk that was very rude. If you stay you will have a chance to meet her because the place is very small. Brace yourself.

It was dirty.

I chose this hotel because it had breakfast included and parking (on a first come first serve basis). The parking does not exist. THEY NO LONGER HAVE SELF SERVE PARKING, it is 36 dollars a day.

Breakfast was cherrios with milk and donuts. They would run out quick, so get up early, and don't expect much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 902natalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Patrick was GREAT! The staff member Patrick was very helpful and friendly. He was like our very own travel advisor. He sent us to the best restaurants and bars and we never had a want in the hotel that wasn't fulfilled. This hotel is very clean and romantic! I love the ambiance and overall feel of the rooms and walkways. We had a fountain outside our room and it was very peaceful to open our French doors and listen to the water or to sit outside at a table. We will always stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: Our room with a fountain outside was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CareySteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#99 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,087 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Pierre

Property: Hotel St. Pierre
Address: 911 Burgundy St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3003
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#83 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $32.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Groupon, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing