We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A quaint and historic hotel that is not for everyone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Pierre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Pierre
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A quaint and historic hotel that is not for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While I prefer boutique hotels for both charm and usually value, the St. Pierre was a little too little for my taste. Our room and the bed were tiny. It was cold and they provided a space heater that was very helpful.

The location is where this hotel shines...great walk to the area attractions and free parking. It was quiet for those who want to rest and get away from the action on Bourbon Street. Would I stay there again? Maybe. The neighborhood was perfectly safe and pleasant. The staff very friendly and helpful. I was gladly provided a late check-out. Breakfast was adequate, donuts, bagels and cereal...yet I ate my share of the tasty donuts provided! Coffee was good and strong.

All in all, the St. Pierre is not suitable for disabled or high-demand travelers due to narrow rooms/hallways/doors and the lack of amenities. That said, this is what living in the French Quarter is like and has been like for probably 200 years so it is an authentic experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    328
    158
    76
    128
See reviews for
187
381
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wow! do not know how this hotel is on the Frenchinns.com site. It has a long way to go. staff was very nice. but the rooms suck. Yes we the reservations online it was last minute.
The room had a window unit , a 13 inch tv , 2 double beds.. when we got there the room was 85 plus degrees.. and we actually had to cut on the ac to get it to a decent temp in the room.
I am pretty sure that now the heater was on to try and dry the carpet . walking around our sock feet got filthy and icky damp. the bathroom sink was not attached securely to the wall. the bathroom shower /tub not the cleanest. the shower head was just a spicket ( translation no showerhead) .. there were no amenities at all. no fridge , iron or coffee maker and it is not because there is not room. parking is a joke. this was our 1st and last visit... good luck

Room Tip: don't know if there is one. ours was horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onecutewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Murphysboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the St. Pierre five times over the past few years. Most recently, we spent three nights here in the week before Christmas, 2012. As usual, we had a pleasant and comfortable stay. This is not a modern chain hotel (which seems to be what many of the negative reviewers wanted) but a quaint, quirky New Orleans hotel housed in several historic buildings. Yes, some of the rooms are a little shabby but they have loads of charm. During our most recent stay, renovations were in full swing, so the hotel is clearly updating some of its rooms. We have never had any problems with cockroaches or other bugs and the rooms have always been clean and professionally serviced daily. The swimming pools, located in picturesque courtyards, are clean and well-maintained and we have enjoyed a refreshing dip in them on previous stays. The staff are usually friendly and helpful and the breakfast is adequate (coffee, juices, pastries, bagels, biscuits). If you want a more substantial breakfast, the Clover Grill is only five minutes away and there are two excellent groceries nearby (Matassa's, corner of Dauphine & St. Phillip, has a kitchen offering tasty take-out food). Contrary to some reviews, the St. Pierre is located in a safe area of the French Quarter and is just a short walk from all of the sights and attractions. We recommend this hotel as an excellent base to explore New Orleans, one of the world's most interesting and vibrant cities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank diablodetasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I stayed here December 29/30 2012 before heading out on a cruise ship. The facility has lots of history (200+ years) , is IN the French QTR and is quaint ! If you are looking to stay in the French Quarter where you can walk a few blocks through history, this is the hotel. If you are looking for a Marriot / Hampton Inn experience then stay at one of those places. My family was looking for something nice yet historic and that is what you get here. Staff was friendly, neighborhood was interesting and the walk to local places of interest was short. We would stay here again. But be honest and don't rip these folks because they are not the Hilton, Like I said, if you want the mint on your pillow go somewhere else but if you want something interesting in the middle of the French Quarter then this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacherie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

First of all I am a local and I have a fishing camp that is nicer than this place! We had a suite with window units and one room had a heater..place was freezing! The sheets had hair on them ! We had to park 3 blocks down ! When I walk into a room of a hotel, I want the place to feel like home, or better than home. I couldn't imagine sleeping in the beds in this hotel. When we complained about how cold the rooms were, the front desk clerk asked if we wanted a "space heater" or more blankets!!!Really, we paid 276.00 plus tax and you wanted to give us a space heater???? Lets just say we checked out the same night we checked in and went to the Hilton for a cheaper price!!!! Never again Hotel St Pierre!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was a quaint hotel however the rooms are very small. We were there two days before Christmas and never got warm! The heater never slowed down attempting to heat the room and NEVER got the bathroom remotely warm. The tub was so cold I could not take a bath and the shower was so weak it hardly rinsed the soap off of me. The parking was terrible and the long walk to Burbon Street and other attractions was difficult for a "mature" couple. On a brighter note the front desk staff were very friendly. Maybe staying there in the Spring would be better?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 09wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here mid-week in mid-December to take advantage of Christmas festivities in the French Quarter. It was a reasonable price ($79+tax) for a nice sized room with a functional balcony with chairs overlooking Burgundy Street. As others have noted, it is not a fancy place but it is comfortable and does have that NOLA feel to it--complete with the brick mortar from the high ceilings falling onto the carpet in the middle of the night. Probably not for everyone, but fine for us and very convenient to all we wanted to see.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BunkieFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#98 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,087 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Pierre

Property: Hotel St. Pierre
Address: 911 Burgundy St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3003
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#83 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $32.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing